We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Guest House Salem

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Guest House Salem
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

15 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 15: English reviews
KINGWOOD
Reviewed June 22, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is a prior holiday in its adiquit, it needs some sprucing up. But not a bad value and I would recommend staying there. Just don't expect a new up to date room. The hotel is clean and the staff is friendly. There is a bar there that had a nice crowd with friendly patrons. There is also a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GLENN F
Reviewed October 27, 2015

O K, but reviews are not good since our stay. Decided against next stay there. Talk of bugs, which I am very careful of this since I work in Healthcare daily. I understand they spray every so often, but are they treating for the correct infestation. Heat is the only cure for some infestations.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
Reviewed October 23, 2015

This place is okay. They use bed bug mattress protesters which is good. The room was pretty clean. However there were some cigarette burns in the blankets. The shower need to be remodeled fast it looked very old very used I chose not to use it but that was just my preference. If your just on the road and need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fred w
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed August 30, 2015

I just needed a room for the night as I was traveling from New Orleans to Chicago. I usually stay at Super 8's but the one in Salem had just run out 20 minutes prior to my arrival and this one was a little pricier than what I'm used to ($80). The front desk clerk recommended either the Comfort Inn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bthor76
Clinton, Wisconsin
Reviewed July 29, 2015 via mobile

We were on our way to FL and needed a place to stop and sleep. We tried several hotels over the previous 3 towns and none had availability. This was the first hotel with availability. The front desk lady was very nice- it was about 2:30am and she gave us a room for $65. We got to the room with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey4585
Pat E, General Manager at Guest House Salem, responded to this review

First I would like to Apologize for your stay. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. Reviews are one way we can find out here is a problem and then correct the problem. I would like to track down the right person who cleaned room 203 that you stayed in only the last day I had that room rented...

Reviewed July 21, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for work, not by choice. Wear shoes in the room, carpets are stained. Refrigerators and microwaves in some rooms, not in the one I was in. Pool is dirty. New tile around sink and bathroom, great water pressure and lady at front desk is extremely helpful and nice. Only 10 channels on TV.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donald C
Pat E, General Manager at Guest House Salem, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are an older property that is starting to update, so far we now have microwaves and refrigerators in rooms along with 40" HD TV's. We are in the process of getting a new Cable provider with more channels. Unfortunately this all wasn't during your stay. We would like you to come and stay with...

Reviewed February 4, 2015 via mobile

We were on our way to Arkansas from Michigan and we called the hotel and they had a room for 4 adults and 2 dogs. The room was clean and a great price for the area. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who needs a clean place to lay your head for the night. The attached dennys and bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bertking
Pat E, Manager at Guest House Salem, responded to this review

We are so happy you choose to stay with us. Please keep us in mind if your travel plans ever bring you back this way. Thank you for your review.

Reviewed November 20, 2014

Our family just needed a place to spend the night, and GuestHouse Inn was perfect. Floors, bathroom and linens were clean; beds were comfortable; the television works. The area feels safe & it's convenient to have the Denny's right next door. It was snowing, and we could walk from our room to the restaurant under awnings, keeping our baby dry....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
Pat E, General Manager at Guest House Salem, responded to this review

We are so delighted that you choose to stay with us and would love for you to come see us again. Have a great day and Wonderful Holidays.

Austin, Texas
Reviewed August 28, 2014

I was skeptical of this motel after reading the two reviews that mention bedbugs, but decided to stop by anyway as the price was much lower than the two major chain motels nearby. We asked if we could see the room before staying there. We checked it out and it was VERY clean, but not modern or stylish at all....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank janaejean
Pat E, General Manager at Guest House Salem, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. If you ever travel this way again we hope you choose to stay with us.

Southaven, Mississippi
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I was a little hesitant about booking a room at this motel because of the "bed bug" review but decided not to let one bad review sway me. The room was not only affordable but also very clean. If you are looking for a motel with the latest decor, you might want to skip this motel. As the other reviewer...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Kim S
Pat E, General Manager at Guest House Salem, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we're happy you enjoyed your stay. If your travel plans bring you this way again we hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.1 mi away
Salem Inn And Suites
Salem Inn And Suites
#3 of 4 in Salem
97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salem
21.7 mi away
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
#5 of 14 in Mount Vernon
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
#1 of 14 in Mount Vernon
383 reviews
21.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Mt Vernon
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Salem
Super 8 Salem
#2 of 4 in Salem
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Guest House Salem

Address: 1812 W Main St, Salem, IL 62881-5838 (Formerly GuestHouse Inn)
Location: United States > Illinois > Salem
Price Range: $69 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Guest House Salem 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Guest House Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Guest House Salem staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We chose a room on the first floor, inside near the pool. While it was nice to be close to the pool, it also tended to be a little noisy when people were coming and going in the evening hours.”
 of 5 bubbles K5348AIkims, Jul 1, 2014 | Read review
“The super 8 we stayed at last time was a million times nicer”
 of 5 bubbles AprilK778, Sep 10, 2012 | Read review
“Look at the room before you sign for it.”
 of 5 bubbles Granny1Birmingham_al, Oct 25, 2011 | Read review
3 of 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay