We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Hotel Baker

100 West Main Street, Saint Charles, IL 60174
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Hotel Baker
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hotel Baker
See the most recent reviews
Showing 133: English reviews
Saint John, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016 via mobile

I usually do due diligence and read reviews before booking a hotel. My husband booked Hotel Baker for an anniversary overnight. Highly disappointed!! What could of been a beautiful romantic overnight ended up being a nightmare. Rude staff, dumpy room and neighbors who kept their TV on all night for us to enjoy! So much potential but very overpriced thank... More 

Helpful?
Thank HawkeyMommy
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Dear HawkeyMommy, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay. We apologize for your poor experience. We hope that you will give Hotel Baker another try in the future. As we have many challenges, we always try to make sure we can accommodate your needs as best as we can. The information you have provided is helpful in... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2016 via mobile

Absolutely the worst customer service I've ever experienced. Front desk was awful. Front desk managers even worse! This was the most unprofessional and horrible group of customer service employees ever dealt with. Have stayed in many hotels and totally disappointed at lack of professionalism from this hotel. Will never stay here again. Rooms were smelly, people were rude, terrible experience.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lillie l
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Dear Alex M, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your experience. We constantly review our guests' feedback in order to improve the services we offer at our small abode. Should you have detailed information of scenarios where you believe the response was not appropriate from staff, please forward any information to rsalas@hotelbaker.com. With respect, we thank... More 

Travelers are raving about these Saint Charles hotels

Fortaleza, CE
Level Contributor
123 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2016

Have been to Hotel Baker various times in the past years and it is always good to be back. I usually stay here for business so the review is written out of this perspective. The hotel is centrally situated in Saint Charles next to the river. It is a really nice location and with good weather you can take a... More 

Helpful?
Thank AvdV80
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2016

I must say I was disappointed. We booked a room for a weekend getaway for my husband's birthday. The room was not impressive at all. The carpet and furnishings were worn and drabby, plus the room was a very awkward shape. The bathroom was small and not impressive. When I checked out I asked the desk clerk if it was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen V
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for my birthday with my husband. Room was nice and big. Bathroom very clean. Seemed a bit old though. Colors drab and carpet could use updating. Noisy hallway - can hear a lot. They are renovating the restaurant so it was not open but good recommendation for across the street. Hotel is in a good location. Free breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Imaprize
Joliet
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2016

We had a very nice river view king suite. Old historic building in very good shape. Chose the bed and breakfast option and had eggs benedict delivered to the room. The food was very good as well. Below zero weather but the room and building was well heated.

Helpful?
Thank foodcritic1690
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015 via mobile

Choose Hotel Baker based on its location near the Arcada theatre. Had a corner king room with a view of the river that was clean & comfortable. The historic nature of the hotel and its uniqueness are a welcome change from generic chain hotels. Front desk staff and doorman were friendly and welcoming. Should consider a valet parking option.

Helpful?
Thank Rooney610
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

I have stayed here several times. This is an historic property so it does come with a few quirks. Most notable is the noisy hallways. But the very comfortable bed makes up for this if you leave the HVAC fan running to help block out the noise. My second stay was much quieter than my first so that was welcoming.... More 

Helpful?
Thank welltraveledOkie
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

The Hotel Baker was built in 1927. It retains old world elegance yet offers all the modern conveniences we have come to expect. The "Rainbow Room" ballroom with the colored light floor and spectacular Mezzanine is a sight to behold. The rooms are large and the bathrooms are modern. We even had a Jacuzzi tub! Free Breakfast in the "Rox"... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leighton R
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015

Historic and beautiful-next to the river. Very nice! Have been to many events there and have never been disappointed! It would be nice to be there on the 4th of July for the fireworks! Nice town with many lovely restaurants.

Helpful?
Thank bernerscotty
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Charles
2.0 mi away
The Herrington Inn & Spa
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Saint Charles
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
#2 of 11 in Saint Charles
4.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
#5 of 11 in Saint Charles
4.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Baker offers the epitome in all things luxurious -- elegant guest rooms and suites, state of the art amenities, exceptional dining and lounge venues, and a scenic riverside setting that's second to none. Anywhere. If you're planning a wedding, party, banquet, conference or other event, we invite you to talk with our sales and catering professionals who are available to assist you. Our incomparable meeting and banquet facilities can accommodate groups from 10-300 in an atmosphere of sophisticated elegance and grace. And in season, Hotel Baker's charming rose garden and outdoor patio dining create a lovely, memorable setting. You can be confident that everything will be done according to the highest level of service and careful attention to detail. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Baker

Address: 100 West Main Street, Saint Charles, IL 60174
Location: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Price Range: $198 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baker 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Baker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker Hotel Saint Charles
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay