We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hotel Baker

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Hotel Baker
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 136: English reviews
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms are old and stuffy. If you have sensitivities or allergies I would recommend elsewhere. Like previously mentioned there is no parking on site, you need to use the free public parking 1-2 blocks away. Personally I would not stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Megan W
Aurora, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel itself is magnificent. My husband and I stayed there for a quick getaway. The staff were very friendly, professional and accommodating. Our room had the perfect view. valet parking. had dinner at the hotels restaurant (Rox City Grill) which btw the fillet mignon skewer was delicious! overall stay was worth the money. plan on staying there again. little... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank sheinaRN1
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is a classic St Charles fixture. It has fantastic ambience and old world charm. However, that's where the positives end. The room was small, and it had a murphey bed. The tv was tiny and the windows were filthy with dead bugs on the sill. Our desk chair was broken and extremely uncomfortable. We will not be staying... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank jano1974
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Dear jano1974, You sent a message to Hotel Baker at 4:17 pm on Friday, July 29th with your complaint. A response was immediately sent to you apologizing for your displeasure. With your displeasure, we were quick to respond to your needs. We attempted to call you immediately regarding a transfer into a different room. After connecting with you, we were... More 

Travelers are raving about these Saint Charles hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms were spacious and clean, just not new. Bed was comfortable. Bar was good and a retro atmosphere, breakfast was fantastic with good eggs and options. There was always fresh fruit flavored water at the front desk. The staff was very friendly!

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer H, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We truly appreciate your kind words. At this time, we are finishing the new carpet in the guest hallways and other spaces, along with new window treatments for the windows in the corridors on the 3rd through the 5th floors. Within the next few weeks, the top... More 

Morris County, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016

At first glance the appearance of the outside of the hotel is nice. Location is great. However, we had called to reserve a king room which we booked and then when we get there we were shown to a double queen because there was no king room available anymore. Odd and annoying but manageable. Next, the toilet doesn't work and... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Christine E
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Dear Christine E, My sincerest of apologies for your poor experience. Your feedback is essential and has been noted. If you would be so kind, please contact the General Manager's Assistant at 630.584.2100 and provide some detailed information. I look forward to you contacting the hotel as soon as you are able. Stay well and enjoy the rest of your... More 

Region of Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
205 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2016

You CANNOT get better views and experience the warmth and charm that The Baker Hotel has to offer, if you stay at any of the other St. Charles hotels ranked in TA. I see why this great, historic hotel in picturesque downtown St. Charles right on the Fox River doesn't get a fair shake when compared to newer, cookie-cutter hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank SWONTraveller
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Dear SWONTraveller, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your thoughts about Hotel Baker. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we have noted some remarks in order to improve on some areas. Hospitality is a challenging industry, though has been an enjoyable journey for the team at Hotel Baker since it reopened in 2003. We look forward... More 

Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016

First, the (somewhat) positive. Food: The Rox restaurant was divine. We both ordered steak, which was cooked to perfection. Good cocktails and wine and attentive staff. However, the restaurant staff was a bit too attentive; wait staff came back literally every 5 or so minutes to check on us. While I truly appreciate good service, to be interrupted in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sjmegy
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Dear sjmegy, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay. We apologize for the negatives you experienced. We hope that you will give Hotel Baker another try in the future. As we have many challenges, we always try to make sure we can accommodate your needs as best as we can. The information you have provided is helpful... More 

Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

Yes it is a historic hotel -- but I think they are at the point where that is used as an excuse to keep things old. Drapery, carpet, etc could use some love for sure. There is not even a place to plug in a phone charger by the bed? Wifi is awful. Two weddings Saturday night. Hall reeked of... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank jonathanlipsitz
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Dear jonathanlipsitz, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay. We apologize for your poor experience. We hope that you will give Hotel Baker another try in the future. As we have many challenges, we always try to make sure we can accommodate your needs as best as we can. The information you have provided is helpful in... More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016 via mobile

We were visiting out of town for a friends wedding which was held at the Hotel Baker. It is a beautiful facility. Tons of history. The staff were friendly and extremely accommodating. The hotel was extremely clean. Would love to know more history behind the hotel other than built in 1928.

Helpful?
1 Thank ecseger
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. Please email jborsellino@hotelbaker.com. Provide your name and mailing address so we can forward a historical booklet to you. We look forward to seeing you again! More 

Wheeling, Illinois
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016

Stayed in a king room on a Saturday night. $230. Staff was friendly, hotel is old style, all the decor is a history of the hotel. Room was in good shape -- newer carpet, paint, etc. Right on Main St of the city. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Restaurant in hotel is $$$. Didn't eat there. No parking on... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrBill923
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Dear MrBill923, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Your thoughts are greatly appreciated. We hope that you will give us a try at ROX City Grill - we would love for you to come and dine with us. We look forward to having you come and visit us real soon! WIth much respect, Team HB More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

92 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Charles
2.0 mi away
The Herrington Inn & Spa
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Saint Charles
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
#2 of 11 in Saint Charles
4.5 of 5 stars 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
No photo provided
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
#5 of 11 in Saint Charles
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Baker offers the epitome in all things luxurious -- elegant guest rooms and suites, state of the art amenities, exceptional dining and lounge venues, and a scenic riverside setting that's second to none. Anywhere. If you're planning a wedding, party, banquet, conference or other event, we invite you to talk with our sales and catering professionals who are available to assist you. Our incomparable meeting and banquet facilities can accommodate groups from 10-300 in an atmosphere of sophisticated elegance and grace. And in season, Hotel Baker's charming rose garden and outdoor patio dining create a lovely, memorable setting. You can be confident that everything will be done according to the highest level of service and careful attention to detail. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Baker

Address: 100 W Main St, Saint Charles, IL 60174-1810
Location: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Price Range: $198 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baker 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Baker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker Hotel Saint Charles
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay