We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

333 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 333: English reviews
Moline, Illinois
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This "hotel" is more of a flop house for transients, not worth the $80 a night. You would be further ahead to sleep in your car in the parking lot. Dirty, outdated rooms, staff who didnt seem to know how to do their jobs. Dont waste your time here, plenty of other hotels in Rockford

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank E9023QDthomass
Rockford
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Today I was charged $200. We went for a weekend staycation and since it is now under new management we thought that we would try it out since they are making it better. The phones didn't work, the hallways weren't heated the front desk lady had a space heater on her, our keys stopped working half way through our stay,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hyserfam
LCB20176, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

We apologize you did not enjoy your stay. The pool is heated as long as all doors are closed the pool remains heated anywhere from 85 degrees to 90 degrees. Your key cards will stop working if you put them near your phone. The sheets we have pictures of and both sets were stained with something brown. The General Manager...

Pekin, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago

An embarrassment to the Wyndham name. Most of the staff was rude. Stains in bottom of dresser drawers. Carpet stained. No heat in hallways. No juice at breakfast. Lobby was very dirty.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kellywA4776WD
LCB20176, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

I do apologize you did not enjoy your stay. I am not sure when you stayed at the hotel since we have not ran out of juice since our new management took over. The hotel is still in the renovation process and we are continuing to make improvements and update the property.

Stoughton, Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a 7 AM flight out of Rockford airport, so we stayed at the Howard Johnson's for one night. For us it was adequate. We did not take advantage of the pool, or the breakfast, so I can't speak to those. The place does need a make-over, and it is dated, BUT the room was clean and the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank viddsk
LCB20176, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

We are glad your stay was comfortable. Please if you are in town again join us for swimming and breakfast.

Saint Olaf, Iowa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanya K
LCB20176, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

Mound
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
LCB20176, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

Rockford, Illinois
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It needs a makeover desperately. Very few electrical outlets for electronic devices. Faulty wiring on blow dryer and microwave. The hallway freezing with no heat. Luckily the heater work good in the room. Swimming pool was freezing hot tub was out of order. Leaky toilet. Bathtubwas really nasty was stained which was really. They only provide you with two thin...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank J1954ZEerict
LCB20176, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we do apologize your stay wasn't more comfortable. We are under new management now and getting a "makeover"

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Room was supposed to have been remodeled but was poorly done if so. Very hot and couldn't get heat turned down. No comforter/spread on bed

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank E9305ZQmarkw
LCB20176, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we do apologize your stay wasn't more comfortable. We are under new management now and improvements are being made.

Penacook, New Hampshire
Reviewed January 7, 2017

We cannot find a single positive comment on our stay here. From the opening door, when we found extremely soiled carpets in the entryway and lobby, to the continental breakfast which had an empty coffee urn, no milk for the cereal, no juice and stale bread and bagels, the place should be an embarrassment for Howard Johnsons and Wyndham. The...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank J7695OUjackl
LCB20176, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we do apologize your stay wasn't more comfortable. We are under new management now and improvements are being made.

Exeland
Reviewed January 5, 2017

Should have known better when the insisted they must make a photo copy of my drivers license and credit card!! They assured me I would have the copy when I checked out. Well it was nowhere to be found the next morning!! I told them to call or e-mail when they found and destroyed it. I never heard from them.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank John K
LCB20176, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we do apologize your stay wasn't more comfortable. We are under new management now and improvements are being made.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockford hotels
6.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Rockford
Red Roof Inn Rockford
#6 of 25 in Rockford
319 reviews
7.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rockford
7.0 mi away
Days Inn Rockford
Days Inn Rockford
#15 of 25 in Rockford
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Rockford
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Rockford
Hampton Inn Rockford
#2 of 25 in Rockford
605 reviews
4.2 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#13 of 25 in Rockford
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Now under new management! Our hotel includes Complimentary in-room WIFI, large heated resort style indoor pool, dry rock sauna, fitness center, Guest Laundry & 24-hour game room with pool table. Smoking rooms are no longer available. We have free, fresh healthy continental breakfast. This Howard Johnson is conveniently located one mile from Rockford Airport and right off Highways 20 and 251. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL

Address: 3909 Eleventh Street, Rockford, IL 61109
Location: United States > Illinois > Rockford
Price Range: $48 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Rockford Hotel Rockford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“the second floor rooms have balconies with nice patio furniture”
 of 5 bubbles lys2016607, Oct 30, 2016 | Read review
“Upper rooms seem better as lower floor rooms have sliding doors that seem to need repair.”
 of 5 bubbles SenseIntoDollars, Jun 10, 2016 | Read review
“Be sure you have a room fairly close to the office.”
 of 5 bubbles jarncePortage, Jan 29, 2016 | Read review
“Choose one in a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles kellyj434, Jun 1, 2015 | Read review
“I asked for a non smoking room and just stepped outside. My last stay in a smoking room even choked me out. Don't forget to put the security bar back in place on the sliding door.”
 of 5 bubbles reallyitsjohn, Jan 5, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question