We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

318 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 318: English reviews
Rockford, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 514carab
LCB20176, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

Corona, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff did not know of any restaurants in the area, and the room was dirty, the toilet was loose and ran all night. Room smelled like smoke. Was not aware of breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 947jaredd
LCB20176, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

I apologize, if there was a problem with your room you should have notified us so we could switch your room. we are working on upgrading and as far as breakfast, I do know that all of our front desk employees inform everyone at check in that we offer continental breakfast.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

No comforter for bed, some light switches didn't work...I was on the ground floor and it wasn't until morning that I realized the large glass patio door was not even locked overnight. I paid in advance, but the girl at the front desk couldn't find my information, but she didn't let me know that when I checked in at 3:00,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ranae C
LCB20176, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

I apologize but we do not have comforters in any of our room, as most hotels do not. all of our patio doors, have a bar on them and I personally walk through each and every room daily to make sure the bars are up and doors will not open. depending on how you made your reservation it does not...

missouri
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Can't even begin the air-conditioner/ heater had so much black type dust. from the road the place almost looked not open. you could tell they were trying to update, but doing a bad job. There was new door knobs, but a hole still in the door. the safe wasn't attached to anything. Some of the light switches didn't work. My...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sassyhavingfun
LCB20176, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

You were offered a new room, as well as other accommodations that you denied, we attempted to make things better for you and you denied every attempt we made. thank you for staying with us, and taking the time to write a review.

Rockford, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was nice to have a location near home that will let us spend time with the kids in the pool! It was nice and clean and the pool was big and kid friendly starting at 2ft -5ft for the little ones.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeanettesQ324AT
LCB20176, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We really do work our hardest to make sure our guests enjoy their stay!!! We hope to see you again soon!!

Largo, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank denisehJ9026AV
LCB20176, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

Bridgeview
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If I could give a negative number I would found someone else's dirty clothes in our room nail clippings. Mold on the shower 1 wash cloth dirt and dust all over the room very unhappy

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teeters71
LCB20176, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

I apologize, I actually have received your complaint. Our staff called your room after check in and you informed them that everything was fine, I also can tell you that every room in this hotel has been checked and cleaned. if there was an issue with the room you could have informed us at the time of our call to...

Holland, Michigan
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gloria B
LCB20176, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

Rockford, Illinois
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresa N
LCB20176, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

Puerto Rico
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Good - the hotel is close to the airport and has a retro HoJo couch in the lobby The Bad - the hotel does not always provide the airport shuttle that is listed in their description. We called when we arrived at the Rockford airport and the woman said that she was the only one on the property and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Animaliaone
LCB20176, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

I apologize about the shuttle service, we do not have 24 hour shuttles. we should have been able to make some accommodation, I will be addressing that. I am aware of who you spoke with about your reservation refund, that person is not management and had no authority to offer you a refund and is no longer with us. I...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockford hotels
6.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Rockford
Red Roof Inn Rockford
#6 of 25 in Rockford
312 reviews
7.0 mi away
Days Inn Rockford
Days Inn Rockford
#15 of 25 in Rockford
330 reviews
4.2 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#13 of 25 in Rockford
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rockford
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Rockford
Hampton Inn Rockford
#1 of 25 in Rockford
584 reviews
6.9 mi away
Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Now under new management! Our hotel includes Complimentary in-room WIFI, large heated resort style indoor pool, dry rock sauna, fitness center, Guest Laundry & 24-hour game room with pool table. Smoking rooms are no longer available. We have free, fresh healthy continental breakfast. This Howard Johnson is conveniently located one mile from Rockford Airport and right off Highways 20 and 251. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL

Address: 3909 11th St, Rockford, IL 61109-3022
Location: United States > Illinois > Rockford
Price Range: $48 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Rockford Hotel Rockford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“the second floor rooms have balconies with nice patio furniture”
 of 5 bubbles lys2016607, Oct 30, 2016 | Read review
“Upper rooms seem better as lower floor rooms have sliding doors that seem to need repair.”
 of 5 bubbles SenseIntoDollars, Jun 10, 2016 | Read review
“Be sure you have a room fairly close to the office.”
 of 5 bubbles jarncePortage, Jan 29, 2016 | Read review
“Choose one in a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles kellyj434, Jun 1, 2015 | Read review
“I asked for a non smoking room and just stepped outside. My last stay in a smoking room even choked me out. Don't forget to put the security bar back in place on the sliding door.”
 of 5 bubbles reallyitsjohn, Jan 5, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay