We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
14455 S La Grange Rd, Orland Park, IL 60462-2505
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (41)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (1)

About

#2 of 3 hotels in Orland Park
Location
3.9
Cleanliness
3.3
Service
3.8
Value
3.3
Welcome to The Essence Suites...Your premier Chicagoland location for both romance and relaxation. We offer a variety of intimate suites designed to provide a passionate environment for you and your special someone.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Hot tub
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
146Reviews5Q+A15Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 73
  • 16
  • 8
  • 11
  • 38
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Angela B wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
First of all this will be my first and last time at the Essence suite they have very bad communication skills . I was also emailed false advertisement from this company something I supposed to receive complementary I had to pay for out of pocket. The toilet in my room was also leaking all night. I also had a balloon package that I pay for that should have been in my room upon arrival which was not there after all of these mistakes the only thing they could offer me was a EARLY admission or a late check out not a satisfied customer at all and for this to be a birthday experience you guys really made it sour
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Shon7 wrote a review Aug 2022
Fort Worth, Texas22 contributions6 helpful votes
The room we booked was ok until I opened the refrigerator and saw how filthy it was and a huge ice berg(block) in the freezer! Gross!! I immediately called the office and he apologized and switched us to another room. This room was way better, it had a whirlpool AND it was clean! Oh I almost forgot there was a burn hole in the cover but it was SUPPOSED to be a non smoking room! I took a picture and discussed it with the manager!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Denise K wrote a review Feb 2022
Crete, Illinois1 contribution
My husband and I have stayed at the Essence Suites a few times in the past, but that has been at least 10 years ago. We made the mistake of booking a whirlpool suite for our anniversary night. It was horrible! The room reeked of cigarette smoke and both my husband and I have allergies, the room was not clean, there was dust everywhere and the floor was dirty, I took a towel and checked to make sure, also the whirlpool was half clean and the faucets were jacked up. I was ready to leave instantly but my husband talked me into staying because it was too late to find another place and he didn't feel like arguing to try to a refund. I always bring my own cleaning supplies to hotels (since COVID) I cleaned up a bit and made the best of the situation since it was our anniversary. We both left with a headache and congestion from the stinky smoke. We will definitely NEVER even attempt to stay there again and would not recommend it to anyone. We complained at check out and was given a half apology and told that he would talk to the housekeeper...yeah right, this is obviously not a new issue with this hotel. This was once a nice getaway and now it's trash!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Yazeed A wrote a review Nov 2021
Aqaba, Jordan1 contribution
I booked it for my first wedding anniversary and I’m so upset because the room’s so dirty and nasty and the smell is so bad, it’s the worst place I ever visited.. I stayed for one hour in the room and I went outside to get food and came back to check out. The entire room had chips and broken ceiling and the whirlpool had a crack. Very upset with my visit.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Dalisa A wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
the housekeeper stole 400 from my bf and they told us to call back Monday and we left Saturday called Monday they gave us the run around about the mangers and told us the manger won’t be in til Tuesday and we called them they told us she running late call back in a hour and ten mins later the manger called my bf phone back and said he sign a wavier saying if something come up stole or missing that they are not responsible for it so I called back to ask the lady to explain how could your employee steal 400 and y’all not Responsible for it and she said the matter is not between me and you it’s between your boyfriend and us that has nothing to do with you and I said I was staying in a row with him I know where our money was and she hung up on me rude I would never recommend this place to anyone ever
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jay P, General Manager at Essence Suites
Responded Aug 5, 2021
Hello Dalisa, We assure you that we take accusations like this very seriously. Please reach out to us at romance@essencesuites.com so we can discuss this issue directly. Thank you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Latrisha S wrote a review Jul 2021
11 contributions1 helpful vote
It’s me and my husbands one year wedding anniversary we booked a whirlpool suite it was nasty, the fireplace didn’t work, the smoke alarm was on the sink where you wash your hands, all the covers on the remotes was gone and batteries for the remotes was everywhere. Call front desk which wasn’t any help. Me and husband left after 39 minutes in the nasty room and I want a refund. Will never stay at this or any essence suits again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jay P, General Manager at Essence Suites
Responded Jul 15, 2021
We're sorry to hear that you didn't have a great experience. Please call us at (708) 403-3300 to let us know more.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
k. Nicole wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
Nasty room smells like smoke, dirty all over, and glass on the floor cut our feet and we took pictures to show management and they claimed we were lying bc they didn’t see glass. Martha from Orland is the worst - don’t stay here !
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jeanetta wrote a review Mar 2021
Chicago, Illinois1 contribution
I stayed here Thursday night and it was the worst experience. The Front desk Clerks were all great- let me make sure to say how great they are from the lady who checked me in to the lady and man at the desk during check out . I thank them all for being so kind to me but housekeeping is another story. Housekeeping needs to be re trained at this place. I was so uncomfortable in this unclean room the entire night. I did not sleep. It was hairs left in tub and not just one hair it was plenty that the front desk lady had to come to room and clean out the tub that i never used because i was disgusted. Looking more into the room I realized it was hairs behind bathroom door also which makes me think housekeeping cut every corner they could and did not properly clean. The room was just raggedy The towels were dingy and the towel rack was coming off wall near the vanity. When you turn on the fire place there is some red residue on it so i stepped in huge hot tub (which by the way the front desk lady wiped that out to ) and the fire place had some left over wine or juice from who knows how many previous guest all on the outside of the glass as if the bottle exploded on it. Now why didn’t the housekeeper see that if I saw it. Next the steam room wasn’t as bad as the bathroom but also hairs on floor. I paid $254.00 to stay in this nasty room and all the Manager gave us back was $25.00 which is not good. I understand he couldn’t give me back a full refund but he should of atleast did a half refund 50% refund. He told me he couldn’t give me nothing back but i told him no i want that membership fee i paid back because we will never come back there again. He did offer a free room on our next stay but I did decline because it will never be a next stay and I told him that very respectfully and I asked for some of my money back and still nothing but the $25.00 membership fee and I only got that because after he claimed he couldn’t give me some of a refund I suggested that fee back since I won’t be using it. We used to go here a few years ago and stopped because the last few visit the rooms were not that clean. We started going to sybaris more and serenity springs and even champagne lodge. Sometimes you have to drive a lil further and get out the hood to get better results but i expected way more from Essence Suites and was disappointed. The worst part is I called the day before and spoke to the General Manager and explained to him about our past experiences there and my Man wanted to give them another try and he 200% guaranteed me the room will be clean and he failed to make sure the room was clean and for him not to give me some of my money back is wrong. He guaranteed me a clean room and a nice stay but he failed as a manager and did not take ownership of his mess up and I’m not happy about it. He blamed his housekeeping staff which is part of their fought but its 200% Jay the General Manager fought. I work in the same field and if my housekeeping did a horrible cleaning job that guest would of left happy and not feeling bad as I did. Rm 134 is raggedy and it needs some TLC. I was so angry the MR. didn’t want to drive all the way back home because we both went straight there to relax after long shifts at work that day and got a nasty product that was expensive because I wanted to leave and go home. I’m not a happy customer and I will definitely post my review on other sites . Essence Suites Front desk is amazing but you all need to step up Housekeeping especially with this pandemic going on. Give your guest a clean room and when you fail at that give these people they money back. Money not growing on trees people work hard for their money. Oh I forgot to mention the hot tub was huge but would of been nice if we could have used it.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jay P, General Manager at Essence Suites
Responded Mar 10, 2021
We want to sincerely apologize for your negative experience with us, however, we'd like to learn more about the situation. We want to make things right. Please contact us at (708) 403-3300 and we will get back to you promptly. Thank you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sonia wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
We've been there 2 times now. we went when we first got married and got the simple suite and loved it. we just went again for our 1 year and went all out and got the deluxe suite. Honestly it was almost the same, the hot tub was bigger and they provided a small pizza. Its a small room but comfy for a couple. Bring your own stuff though like, wine and such there expensive at the front.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jay P, General Manager at Essence Suites
Responded Mar 10, 2021
Thank you for your review and feedback on Essence Suites! We look forward to you staying with us again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennifer F wrote a review Dec 2020
Dyer, Indiana1 contribution1 helpful vote
Horrible !!! Terrible experience both times we went ... Had gone 1st time room was very ran down so much so my boyfriend cut his foot on broken tile in the room . Floor felt like it was falling in . Padding around bed burnt and pilling off everywhere door didn't close all the way from rain shower to top it all off room wasn't clean to satisfactions didn't receive rose petals but was several let over around in corners of room . 2nd visit called 4 times to make sure discount would be applied but went to check in clerk had no idea what I was talking about ! Got charged twice ! And 100 to much and told I have to wait 3-5 days to get it back ! Got in room again not clean ! Blue tooth didn't work so called front desk took 1.5 HR to show up to tell me we could change room . So we did but other room was worse ! Ask if we could take blue tooth speaker from that room and go back to first room so 3 room changes ! We did get a late check out as we should have we lost 3.5 hrs in changing rooms ! Following day realized I was over charged !!! Really never again ! We will go else where
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
essence suites orland park, essence hotel orland park
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisOrland Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ESSENCE SUITES - Updated 2022 Prices & Hotel Reviews (Orland Park, IL)

Frequently Asked Questions about Essence Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Essence Suites?
Nearby attractions include Centennial water park (0.4 miles), Orland Square (0.6 miles), and Union General Store & Antiques (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Essence Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a hot tub.
Is parking available at Essence Suites?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Essence Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Orland Park Bakery, Papa Joe's Italian Restaurant, and P.F. Chang's.
Is Essence Suites located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Orland Park.
Are there any historical sites close to Essence Suites?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Mount Olivet Cemetery (9.4 miles).
Is Essence Suites accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.