We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center

Save
Share
Traveler (197)
Room & Suite (40)
Dining (15)
Overview
Hotel website
2688 E 873rd Road, Oglesby, IL 61348-9518 See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Family Rooms
3 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (415)
Filter reviews
410 results
Traveler rating
154
167
50
24
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
154
167
50
24
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining room starved rock lodge great room hotel wing illinois river state park huge fireplace pot roast from chicago pioneer cabins gift shop hiking trails hot tub visitor center newer part outdoor patio fried chicken
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 410 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We drove down without planning and booked a room as a walk in. They had a king sized bed in one of the cabins. It was air conditioned, very rustic in appearance, but clean and comfortable. Wifi in all cabins too. The walls were thin...More

2  Thank gayle p
Response from Amy T, Owner at Starved Rock Lodge & Conference CenterResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to make a comment, glad you enjoyed your visit. Yes the cabins are a bit noisy, since they are on the Register of Historic Places we are not allowed to change the structure in any way,(hence the ear plugs). Next...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We spent my daughter's 39th birthday weekend at the lodge in a spacious family log cabin containing 2 bedrooms with 2 bathrooms. Beds were comfortable kings. Ceiling fans in each bedroom. Separate entrances and connecting inner door. Everything clean and fresh. Quiet even with outdoor...More

2  Thank doglover253
Response from Amy T, Owner at Starved Rock Lodge & Conference CenterResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks so much for your review, looks like you had an amazing visit. Unfortunately the drum circle is not a regular thing, just luck of the draw but we do have it a few times per year. It should be posted on our web-site if...More

Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

I absolutely adore Starved Rock Park. Gorgeous part of Illinois and not terribly far for us to travel to. There is nothing overly fancy about Starved Rock (except the giant area with the fireplace by the restaurant) but it is a comfortable place to stay...More

2  Thank Danielle S
Response from Amy T, Owner at Starved Rock Lodge & Conference CenterResponded 2 weeks ago

Danielle, Would love to know what room you were in so we can investigate the noise and also look into moving the coffee maker. Unfortunately due to the age of our property some of the rooms just don't have the space and or the electrical...More

Reviewed August 22, 2018

We booked almost last minute, stumbled upon this gem when looking for somewhere to go away for a few nights for my birthday. We stayed in 1 of the Sunset cabins with a king size bed and fireplace, wood was left outside our door-we had...More

1  Thank GmaDK
Reviewed August 5, 2018 via mobile

Old lodge with paperthin walls. You can hear everything through those walls, and I mean everything! The pool water was so cloudy that my kids didn’t even want to go in it. One of the entry doors from the outside that are supposed to be...More

3  Thank Magytrac
View more reviews
About
Description

Historic Lodge, built by the Civilian Conservation Corps. Features 69 guest rooms and 21 cabin rooms, majestic Great Hall with 2-sided fireplace, on-site restaurant and bar, outdoor dining, indoor pool, weddings and meetings.

Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Air Conditioning
Banquet Room
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Beachfront
Room Service
Spa
Breakfast included
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
 
Hotel class
HOTEL STYLE
Great View, Business
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
94
PRICE RANGE
$174 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
starved rock uticastarved rock hotel utica il
Location
United StatesIllinoisOglesby
Photos
Traveler (197)
Room & Suite (40)
Dining (15)
Pool & Beach (4)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Business Center & Event Rooms (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 nearby hotels
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
1,842 reviews
.93 miles away
The Willows
27 reviews
1.58 miles away
Days Inn by Wyndham Oglesby/ Starved Rock
446 reviews
4.59 miles away
Best Western Oglesby Inn
390 reviews
4.73 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 13 nearby restaurants
Nonie's Bakery & Cafe
192 reviews
1.49 miles away
Cajun Connection
272 reviews
2.89 miles away
MJ's Walnut St Pub & Grill
56 reviews
3.78 miles away
Skoog's Pub & Grill
151 reviews
1.73 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 3 nearby attractions
Illinois Waterway Visitor Center
77 reviews
.59 miles away
Matthiessen State Park
439 reviews
2.11 miles away
MJ's Pub & Grill
6 reviews
3.77 miles away
August Hill Winery & Illinois Sparkling Co. Tasting Room
159 reviews
1.70 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sarah B
July 30, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Sptaz33 | Reviewed this property |
Not sure about where to stay but all dogs are welcome on the trails regardless of size.
0
Votes
DanMeg1
February 6, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Amy T | Property representative |
Yes, we do have food to go in our main dining room as well as our cafe. You may call in an order or stop at the hostess stand.
1
Vote
DanMeg1
January 25, 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Jacqueline I | Reviewed this property |
No there isn't any room service. But the restaurant is excellent , and the main lodge is beautiful to stroll through .
2
Votes
Room Tips
"There is a hotel wing and and a lodge wing.has knotty pine walls and a bit more rustic both are very nice.."
barbarao539
Jun 22, 2018
Read review
"Always get a room away from ice machine or elevator."
craigcC870EC
Apr 18, 2018
Read review
"I was at the far end of the main building and it was very quiet. Just the usual sound one hears in a hotel..."
Ramblingreverie
Apr 6, 2018
Read review
"The whole place is nice."
MarilynM893
Oct 11, 2017
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing