We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Woodruff Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nauvoo
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Woodruff Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 108: English reviews
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was part of what made our trip to Nauvoo so wonderful. The town of Nauvoo is historic and there are many things to do. Best of all they're all FREE. Our hotel was perfectly located which made the stay that much better. Our room was very clean, and felt like a home with all the nice furniture. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
MKManager, Manager at The Woodruff Hotel, responded to this review

THANK YOU - This morning we shared your review with our staff. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We would be very happy to serve you again if you find yourself back in Nauvoo. As you may know we have a very big tourist summer season in Nauvoo. When we are in full gear it is very busy... More 

Olive Branch, Mississippi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is in the heart of Nauvoo and the Brigham Young Suite we booked was spacious but it wasn't the cleanest hotel and it's a bit worn out. The leather sofa was really worn out. The glass has fingerprints and smudges on it. There were spiders in out bed (yuck). The bathroom has some black mold and peeling paint.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Deontas
MKManager, Manager at The Woodruff Hotel, responded to this review

THANK YOU VERY MUCH - As soon as we saw your review we went up to the two-bedroom Brigham Young suite and looked at the leather couch. We are happy to tell you that a new beautiful couch has been ordered and should be here next week. It actually was looking a little worn and it has found a great... More 

Elgin, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in room 301 and had a view of the temple from our room! We walked everywhere. It was a beautiful hotel and loved the ambiance of staying in a historical building. We'll stay in this hotel every time we visit Nauvoo! There isn't an elevator. It's a small hotel so It's not busy, it was perfect!

Helpful?
Thank Momof5cutekids
MKManager, Manager at The Woodruff Hotel, responded to this review

THANK YOU !! Thank you so much for staying with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we really hope you'll return to Nauvoo again. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016

We stayed in the room on the top floor that faces the street. From there you can look out the window and see the temple across the street. Did not notice any ants on our visit. The rooms were clean and the beds were nice. We had a small fridge in the room. This was my kids favorite hotel we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lora4Light
MKManager, Manager at The Woodruff Hotel, responded to this review

THANK YOU - for staying with us in Nauvoo. We work hard to have a clean and comfortable room waiting for your guests. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we would be thrilled to have yo stay with us again. Thank you again for staying with us. More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

The hotel has been remodeled and the room was very comfortable. No chair in the room. We booked the suite for two people. The room was very spacious. Plenty of electric outlets. View of the Temple. The stairs were difficult since the depth of the tread was shallow. This is a great place to see Nauvoo from. Parking is a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
MKManager, Manager at The Woodruff Hotel, responded to this review

THANK YOU - We are very happy you stayed with us and we hope you'll come to nauvoo again. Our hotel has unique rooms and not one is like the other. It makes it a fun place to stay and explore. Thank you very much for sharing your comments. Thank you again, More 

Upper Sackville, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2016

When my family and I have traveled in the past we've always been a little skeptical about staying in historic buildings because you never really know what that could mean, but the Woodruff hotel was beyond comfortable and we had a really lovely stay. They had pretty much every comfort something like a new Courtyard Marriot would but the buildings... More 

Helpful?
Thank LindsyGreggory
MKManager, Manager at The Woodruff Hotel, responded to this review

THANK YOU - we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel staff works hard to provide clean rooms and comfortable furnishings and we really like it when we get reviews like yours. We hope you'll come to Nauvoo again - and we would lobe to serve you again. Thank you again very very much More 

Napa, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016

When we arrived, there was no clear check in place. We called the number where we got the reservation and were eventually directed into a shop that was obviously closed for the evening. There we found an envelope with our name on it and a key inside. Unfortunately, the building we would be staying in was down the street and... More 

Helpful?
Thank byublueeyes
MKManager, Manager at The Woodruff Hotel, responded to this review

THANK YOU SO MUCH - This new 4 bedroom 2 bath suite was completed just prior to your arrival. We can see clearly that we needed a better description of the room location and how we could have better helped you with your stay. The internet was confusing and eventually got fixed really well. The few other things that we... More 

Orem, Utah
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016

I booked a specific room based on TripAdvisor reviews and our family's needs and had a confirmed reservation for room 208. When we arrived at the hotel after hours (10:05 p.m.), the key were we left was for the wrong room. And it was pretty wrong . . . in the older part of the hotel. When I contacted the... More 

Helpful?
Thank rebeccclarke
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016 via mobile

This historic hotel is gorgeous. It's got central air and the bed is coooomfy. It is close to everything you need. I'm so excited to have a beautiful place to stay in this historic, holy city. Each window has a great view. We had dinner at the hotel nauvoo and we were very satisfied. I'd stay here, or recommend this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachael D
Salt Lake City
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2016

be very careful in booking with them!!!! I booked a room for 3 nights and they charge you half of it upfront, which I guess is ok, but then when I needed to cancel (we had to change our dates) they said, "we do not refund the cards, we mail out a check" well that was ok, but it's been... More 

Helpful?
Thank itsgr82smile
MKManager, Manager at The Woodruff Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - We are happy that we finally got this resolved for you. Although we didn't charge you a cancellation fee - we are so sorry that we require such a strict deposit / refund policy. As you may know Nauvoo has a small window of tourism season and so our policy helps deal with that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (31)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nauvoo
5.2 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Fort Madison
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Keokuk
Hampton Inn Keokuk
#1 of 6 in Keokuk
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Fort Madison
3.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Super 8 Keokuk
Super 8 Keokuk
#2 of 6 in Keokuk
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
9.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Keokuk North
10.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Keokuk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Woodruff Hotel is located right across the street from the Nauvoo Temple. We offer beautiful hotel rooms with walk-out balconies overlooking the Nauvoo Temple. Walk to the Nauvoo pageant and the historic sites. The Woodruff Hotel was VOTED BEST HOTEL in Nauvoo by LDS Living magazine and BEST OF the MIDWEST in midwest living magazine. NOTE: We are not a B&B When choosing among hotels in Nauvoo please consider staying at the Woodruff Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Woodruff Hotel

Address: 1200 Mulholland St, Nauvoo, IL 62354-1012
Location: United States > Illinois > Nauvoo
Price Range: $109 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing