We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Royal Inn

750 South 10th St., Mount Vernon, IL 62864
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Royal Inn
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

11 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 11: English reviews
Danville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2016

Hands down, the Royal Inn in Mount Vernon is the nastiest, unsafe hotel that I have ever stayed in. Ever. My business partner and I decided to stop in Mount Vernon for the night during a recent trip. Since it was late, we opted to stay in a "cheap" hotel for 4-5 hours of sleep. The Royal Inn advertised rooms... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2015

Stayed here thinking we weren't in need of anything fancy and all we really wanted was a clean bed, a clean shower, and a good nights sleep to make the 13 hour drive to Denver from there. For $50 we got non of those things. The room was dirty, stains on the carpet, dirty curtains, and a strange smell throughout... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Florian S

Travelers are raving about these Mount Vernon hotels

Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015 via mobile

My family and I were on our way to Nevada and this was scheduled to be our first stop. We wanted a cheap place to stay literally for 4 or 5 hours so we could get down the road early and not only did we have the dirtiest skankiest and loudest females occupying the room next to us. The room... More 

Helpful?
Thank jmahaffey1984
stailor847, Owner at Royal Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We are really appreciate your comments. If the next door guest was loud, you should've dial 0 and let front desk clerk know so we could take care of the problem or change the room and about room being hot, all... More 

Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

One of the worst places I've ever stayed in, and I've stayed in some doozies-- old and rundown I can accept. Old and rundown and filthy, well, that can be not so bad, depending. But this has become a long-term residence, catering to folks that live there by the week and month-- I mean, even the staff look homeless. People... More 

Helpful?
Thank neal f
stailor847, General Manager at Royal Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Mr. Neal for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments. This is not long-term residence motel we don't rent by the month here I really don't understand what the problem is people Traveling with there Bicycle or Front desk clerk being old man instead... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

If all you need is a bed, a bathroom, and a roof over your head, this place isn't too bad. The price of our room was under $50. The paint on the door to our room was peeling. The carpet in the hallway is dirty like it hasn't be vacuumed in a while. The room had sort of a coffee-cigarette... More 

Helpful?
Thank colbyRachmaninoff
stailor847, Manager at Royal Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments. thank you for undersranding you can't buy Luxury under $50 if people want laxury room they should accept to pay more luxury but under $50 we have basic room which include T.V, Cable, wireless internet ,... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

This is an older motel just south of downtown. We needed to stay cheap. The room was small and clean. It came with microwave, fridge, coffee maker and hair dryer. New light fixtures. I have stayed in major economy chain properties that were much poorer condition and paid a lot more.

Helpful?
1 Thank Phil J
United states
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014 via mobile

The room was small and clean. It is an older building and it shows. The bed was reminiscent of something that you would have in a college apartment. The shower had lots of hot water with good pressure. Good value for $40 if all you want to do is sleep. Not the ritz by any stretch. We will stay there... More 

Helpful?
Thank notsopicky_42
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

My husband and I are on a road trip and needed a bed to sleep in and didn't want to pay much. This place was pretty cheap so that was nice. We also didn't see any bugs except the dead flies in the cobwebs on the window sill. Overall, it was pretty gross. I kept my shoes on until I... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank TravelinPeads
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I was in town for a week and just needed a place to sleep, wasn't looking for anything fancy and I wasn't expecting much from this place. But even for the cheap rate I felt like I was way overpaying. It is definitely not taken care of whatsoever. There was some kind of gooey substance all stuck on the walls,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Xdanielle
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

I was traveling through and got a room for the night. The room had not been cleaned. A prior guest spilled some sort of sticky liquid on the bureau, and it had not been cleaned up. The floor was dirty and gritty. The towels, blanket, and bedspread were old and threadbare. The bed did not have a matress cover, and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank wseaguy74
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Vernon
2.5 mi away
Super 8 Mount Vernon
Super 8 Mount Vernon
#5 of 14 in Mount Vernon
3.5 of 5 stars 413 reviews
2.3 mi away
Motel 6 Mount Vernon
Motel 6 Mount Vernon
#9 of 14 in Mount Vernon
3.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
2.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
#1 of 14 in Mount Vernon
5.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Mount Vernon
Days Inn Mount Vernon
#7 of 14 in Mount Vernon
3.0 of 5 stars 298 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Mount Vernon
Comfort Suites Mount Vernon
#3 of 14 in Mount Vernon
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon
#6 of 14 in Mount Vernon
3.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Royal Inn

Address: 750 South 10th St., Mount Vernon, IL 62864
Location: United States > Illinois > Mount Vernon
Price Range: $49 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Royal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay