We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Royal Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Royal Inn
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

11 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 11: English reviews
Danville, Kentucky
Reviewed February 1, 2016

Hands down, the Royal Inn in Mount Vernon is the nastiest, unsafe hotel that I have ever stayed in. Ever. My business partner and I decided to stop in Mount Vernon for the night during a recent trip. Since it was late, we opted to stay in a "cheap" hotel for 4-5 hours of sleep. The Royal Inn advertised rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Anthony W
Reviewed November 4, 2015

Stayed here thinking we weren't in need of anything fancy and all we really wanted was a clean bed, a clean shower, and a good nights sleep to make the 13 hour drive to Denver from there. For $50 we got non of those things. The room was dirty, stains on the carpet, dirty curtains, and a strange smell throughout...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Florian S
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Reviewed August 16, 2015 via mobile

My family and I were on our way to Nevada and this was scheduled to be our first stop. We wanted a cheap place to stay literally for 4 or 5 hours so we could get down the road early and not only did we have the dirtiest skankiest and loudest females occupying the room next to us. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jmahaffey1984
stailor847, Owner at Royal Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We are really appreciate your comments. If the next door guest was loud, you should've dial 0 and let front desk clerk know so we could take care of the problem or change the room and about room being hot, all...

Columbia, Missouri
Reviewed August 11, 2015

One of the worst places I've ever stayed in, and I've stayed in some doozies-- old and rundown I can accept. Old and rundown and filthy, well, that can be not so bad, depending. But this has become a long-term residence, catering to folks that live there by the week and month-- I mean, even the staff look homeless. People...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank neal f
stailor847, General Manager at Royal Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Mr. Neal for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments. This is not long-term residence motel we don't rent by the month here I really don't understand what the problem is people Traveling with there Bicycle or Front desk clerk being old man instead...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed May 29, 2015

If all you need is a bed, a bathroom, and a roof over your head, this place isn't too bad. The price of our room was under $50. The paint on the door to our room was peeling. The carpet in the hallway is dirty like it hasn't be vacuumed in a while. The room had sort of a coffee-cigarette...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank colbyRachmaninoff
stailor847, Manager at Royal Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments. thank you for undersranding you can't buy Luxury under $50 if people want laxury room they should accept to pay more luxury but under $50 we have basic room which include T.V, Cable, wireless internet ,...

Reviewed March 23, 2015

This is an older motel just south of downtown. We needed to stay cheap. The room was small and clean. It came with microwave, fridge, coffee maker and hair dryer. New light fixtures. I have stayed in major economy chain properties that were much poorer condition and paid a lot more.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Phil J
United states
Reviewed November 7, 2014 via mobile

The room was small and clean. It is an older building and it shows. The bed was reminiscent of something that you would have in a college apartment. The shower had lots of hot water with good pressure. Good value for $40 if all you want to do is sleep. Not the ritz by any stretch. We will stay there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank notsopicky_42
Reviewed October 18, 2014

My husband and I are on a road trip and needed a bed to sleep in and didn't want to pay much. This place was pretty cheap so that was nice. We also didn't see any bugs except the dead flies in the cobwebs on the window sill. Overall, it was pretty gross. I kept my shoes on until I...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank TravelinPeads
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I was in town for a week and just needed a place to sleep, wasn't looking for anything fancy and I wasn't expecting much from this place. But even for the cheap rate I felt like I was way overpaying. It is definitely not taken care of whatsoever. There was some kind of gooey substance all stuck on the walls,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Xdanielle
Seattle
Reviewed September 27, 2010

I was traveling through and got a room for the night. The room had not been cleaned. A prior guest spilled some sort of sticky liquid on the bureau, and it had not been cleaned up. The floor was dirty and gritty. The towels, blanket, and bedspread were old and threadbare. The bed did not have a matress cover, and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wseaguy74
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Vernon hotels
2.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
#1 of 14 in Mount Vernon
382 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Mount Vernon
Comfort Suites Mount Vernon
#3 of 14 in Mount Vernon
309 reviews
2.5 mi away
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
#5 of 14 in Mount Vernon
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Motel 6 Mount Vernon
Motel 6 Mount Vernon
#8 of 14 in Mount Vernon
51 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon
#7 of 14 in Mount Vernon
244 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon
Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon
#2 of 14 in Mount Vernon
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Royal Inn

Address: 750 S 10th St, Mount Vernon, IL 62864-5311
Location: United States > Illinois > Mount Vernon
Price Range: $48 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Royal Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Here's a tip: report this hotel to local health officials ASAP.”
 of 5 bubbles anthonyw280, Feb 1, 2016 | Read review
“Just don't stay here!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 991florians, Nov 4, 2015 | Read review
2 of 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay