Sun Retreats Millbrook

Sun Retreats Millbrook

your host Yogi Bear!
Traveler (11)
Deluxe Cabin sleeps 8. Has two bedrooms, private bathroom and kitchenette.
Room & Suite (7)
Snack Bar
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.0
#1 of 1 campground in Millbrook
Location
3.3
Cleanliness
2.5
Service
2.9
Value
2.3
Experience an escape from the city at Sun Retreats Millbrook, our family-oriented RV resort in the rural village of Millbrook, Illinois. This quiet locale offers lush, forested grounds, with a wide selection of lodging options including spacious RV sites and quaint cabin rentals. When you take your stay at Sun Retreats Millbrook, you'll find that the amenities, accommodations, and planned activities come together for an exciting atmosphere. Among those amenities are family favorites such as a swimming pool, Gaga ball, jumping pad and outdoor ping pong. In addition to the amenities, Sun Retreats Millbrook organizes planned activities and themed weekends to ensure fun for all ages. Take your next vacation at Sun Retreats Millbrook and discover just how exciting camping in Illinois can be!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Snack bar
Game room
Entertainment staff
Children's playground
Indoor play area for children
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Patio
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
BBQ facilities
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared bathroom
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Wardrobe / closet
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English
61Reviews0Q+A6Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 13
  • 10
  • 10
  • 12
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
ozwizard50 wrote a review Jun 2020
Crystal River, Florida164 contributions108 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Having been disappointed at a local Campground that I had made a reservation with, I had to quickly get another reservation. My wife called around using her Good Sam and we found a Jellystone Park near Yorkville Illinois. Although, they had just gone through the coronavirus scare, they were just opening up and we were lucky enough that they could have us in. Arriving we found that there was hardly anyone else in the park. We knocked on the door for the registration and a woman came to the window and we were not allowed to go in. She took care of us and offered any site we wanted. The problem being, every site was full price even though none of their amenities we're open. It was just a parking lot with nothing to do there except stay on your site. They would not reduce their price even though little was offered to substantiate it.

Other than that, it was nice to be there and it was a nice clean place the camp. Having friends up from Joliet, what's the Plus that they didn't have to pay a guest fee.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rachel D wrote a review May 2024
Ottawa, Illinois1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Memorial Day Weekend -
Pool was closed. They got lucky with this. It was a little chilly to swim.

If you are looking for a quiet ish campground. Go elsewhere.

All day Saturday and Sunday a loud gas pressure washer was used to clean the concrete around the unoperational pool. This should have been done before or after a holiday weekend.

A permanent site owner decided he was the DJ that nobody asked for. I could hear from 6 sites away. He was up front by the park. All three nights!
If I wanted to go to a rave I would have.

A dog was barking continously. It was locked in a camper.

Security drives around. Doesn't really do anything.

To spend $150 a night for this poorly ran campground is outrageous! Maybe it was better before it was sold.

We have been to a few other Yogis and this is one we will not be going back to. Minimal activities for children. No bingo, no pool.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Go somewhere else. Noisy.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MB SunRVResorts, Owner at Sun Retreats Millbrook
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Rachel, Thank you for visiting Sun Retreats Millbrook and taking the time to leave us a review. We are very sorry that your stay was not as peaceful as usual. We encourage all guests to stop by our office or call our after-hours number with this type of concern so we can respond in a timely manner and get everyone back to enjoying the outdoors. We were alerted to the barking dog, and we addressed this with the owner. Regarding the power washer, we are taking this opportunity to adjust our maintenance schedule minimize interruptions for our weekend campers going forward. We offered a variety of activities and entertainment during the Memorial Day weekend, including a live band, ice cream social, bounce house, and waterslide. We hope that you still found much to enjoy during your camping weekend and made fun family memories together.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tcs1366 wrote a review Jul 2023
Lake Delton, Wisconsin43 contributions13 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
For what I paid, I was expecting a lot more. The images shown of Park are mostly the annual residents. The camping sites at $110 a night are nothing like seen in their images. I attached 2 of what the "Other" sites are actually like.

We were in town to visit friends and relatives, and RV parks / campgrounds are slim in this area so this Jellystone was really our only choice.

There are tons of activities for kids of all ages, but for retired seniors, not so much. It's an expensive place to park your camper.

Next time I will choose a different campground.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MB SunRVResorts, Owner at Sun Retreats Millbrook
Responded Jul 11, 2023
Thank you for visiting and taking the time to leave us a review. It's true that kids love Jellystone, but Yogi has friends of all ages. You're always welcome!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Momof3am wrote a review May 2018
Aurora, Illinois1 contribution4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We have been staying at this campground for years, since I was a small child. I started taking my kids every year a few years ago. I had hoped that my kids would enjoy it as much as I did and then in turn would take their kids. Unfortunately the campground has drastic ally changed and gone down hill. The bathrooms and grounds are not as clean. 2 of the showers in the ladies restroom were broken. they were always out of toilet paper and not cleaned throughout the day. There were disgusting things on the toilet seat that sat there for days. The manager Linda was horrible and spoke rudely to guests and their children and openly degraded them. she spoke rudely to her team. would laugh at guests when any concerns were brought forward. She never cared to listen and would make people feel unwelcome. We will never be back. Thanks to your awful manager Linda, you've lost a customer that has over 20 years camping with your establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AccidentalTourist007 wrote a review Jul 2016
Bend, Oregon10 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Filthy, expensive and poor customer service. We stayed here with a couple of dogs, no children, so I suppose in fairness we were perhaps paying a premium to not use all of the facilities available. Before check in we knew that we were going to be staying in a spartan cabin - and that's exactly what we got, so no argument there. What we did not expect was the filthy state of the bath house at 4pm on a Thursday afternoon, the bags of trash left in front of our cabin, presumably for collection by the previous resident. They festered in the sun for several hours before eventually being removed. We expected to have to use our own bedding, we did not expect to find 2 pairs of dirty underwear under the mattress - so much for a clean cabin. Finally, the following morning while walking the dogs in a lower meadow area reserved for campers, we encountered at least 3 discarded dirty diapers, beer bottles and other miscellaneous trash. I was fully prepared at check out to air my grievances, but my cabin key was accepted without comment, or inquiry as to whether we had had a good time. Consequently, I am venting here! Too bad Jellystone Park, for a small amount of customer service you could have avoided this public bashing. I feel stupid that I didn't heed the good advice of others to stay away, and dropped over $100 for one night's stay in what amounted to a filthy wooden tent with no running water.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mike C, Owner at Sun Retreats Millbrook
Responded Aug 16, 2016
Thank you for your feedback. Please let me personally apologize for the lack of customer service. Our front desk staff is trained to ask all of our guests how their stay was and to rectify any situation there may be. We do appreciate you bringing these concerns to our attention as we want to have a clean and safe environment for all of our guests. It is unfortunate that you did not do so upon checking in and finding your cabin in that condition as we would have gladly cleaned it to your approval. We will be speaking to all of our staff regarding the cleanliness not only of the cabin, but the rest of the property as well. Mike Owner
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SullivanUSA wrote a review Oct 2015
San Luis Obispo, California20 contributions21 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Located in farm land 10 miles out of nearest town. Difficutly finding the office to check in. It is not marked. Once I did I was not greeted with a welcome attitude. Camp store closed all week, only open on the weekend. Really?!! Pool and spa looked inviting but were told it is closed. Nothing on the website said this location had limited access to amenties. They did not have any trouble charging in season rates. The only pull through space available was the worst spot in the campground. Next to a RV that was filthy and obvisously a full timer. We requested another space assignment which was granted. I suppose in the summer months this place is probably run much better. I will never stay at a Yogi Bear Jellystone park again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mike C, Owner at Sun Retreats Millbrook
Responded Oct 13, 2015
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We apologize if it was not made clear about when our activities and amenities change to weekends only as most of our staff goes back to school by the middle of August. The rates are discounted due the limited activities and amenities. All Jellystone Parks are individually owned and operated, and therefore may have different activities, facilities and amenities. We hope that you will reconsider staying not only at our Jellystone, but one that may suit your needs better. Sincerely, Mike Ciero Owner
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BrownEyes380 wrote a review Oct 2017
Chicago, Illinois33 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I've been going to this Jellystone Park for 20 years and made it a tradition to go for the Columbus Day weekend every year. It's sad, but this just may be my last visit to this park.

I never complained, but a rude staff member finished the deal for me. This is the first year we rented a cabin and there happens to be a very old tree in front so it's understandable to have some falling branches at times. Two very large limbs fell from this tree and nearly hit one of the kids. I went to the office to inform them about this because I was afraid someone could be hurt. I was told, it was a bit windy so falling branches are expected and we can't just take down a tree now! I told the lady who I believe is one of the managers that it was a large limb that fell and I didn't expect them to take down a tree now, but someone could get hurt and that they should do something about it before they rent out that cabin again. She said, they just took down 60 trees and if they take down anymore they'll no longer have a campground. I was shocked by this response and said, if someone gets hurt you probably won't have a campground to run. She was rude and laughed as if she didn't care to hear it. I never got an apology or was even asked if anyone was hurt.

This is not the place I want to spend my money. The prices for everything are always rising and the campground declines every year.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Cabins are just for sleeping and you know you're on plywood.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mike C, Owner at Sun Retreats Millbrook
Responded Nov 3, 2017
Thank you for staying with us and your feedback. We are sorry that you felt our staff member was rude to you. It is our understanding that she did say that we were unable to remove any trees due to it being the Columbus Day Weekend. Safety of our campers is of the utmost concern and we would never knowingly place them in the way of harm. We will be ensuring that all the trees will be inspected and any safety concerns addressed prior to the next season. We do have many items on the improvement list and we do hope you will try us again in 2018 to see what we have done! Mike Owner
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
alb0707 wrote a review Jul 2015
Millbrook, Illinois1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the worst Jellystone there is. Disgusting pool and outrages rates. For two people to come for a couple hours to sit at our camp with us it is $40. $15 per person and $10 for the car. For the kind of money that you spend to stay here just for a weekend you would think they couple keep it up. The store is not stocked and there is garbage every where. The garbages near the ranger station are over flowing. The people at the check in are rude, however, they may have been stressed because there were so many people pulling in at once, but that is not the customers fault. All the activities for the children you have to pay for, which is ridiculous. You spend too much money to stay to pay for anything else. If you want a great Yogi bear experience please do not waste your money on this one. The one in the dells is much nicer.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mike C, Owner at Sun Retreats Millbrook
Responded Aug 19, 2015
Thank you for giving your feedback regarding your visit to our park. It is always disheartening when a guest has less than a great experience while visiting Yogi and his friends. Our visitor fees are $15 per adult, $10 per child and $10 per vehicle. These charges allow use of the facilities and participation in the many free activities we have planned every day. There are a few of our activities that have an additional charge. For example, Candy Bar Bingo for the candy bar, Ceramics, and Tie Dye (if you do not bring a shirt). During the weekend we sometimes find that our dumpsters and cans reach capacity quickly and there may be a period of time between pick ups that they are in this condition. As for our staff, we apologize if at any time you felt they were rude as exemplary customer service is a top priority for us. We hope that you will visit or stay with us again to enjoy all that we have to offer! Mike Ciero Owner
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PAT wrote a review May 2014
OHIO13 contributions17 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I agree with the comment about Memorial day weekend...They do not have the park ready for campers. Everything is being cleaned up as you pull in. Future I would avoid this place on Memorial day weekend.

Office help sometimes you reach the nicest people - other times, like just now the women was nasty! It was like she was doing me a favor by answering my questions.

This place just does not make me want to come back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2014Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LongDuckDong770 wrote a review Aug 2012
North Chicago, Illinois1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Showers were dirty, some showers didn't work,bathroom stalls were filthy and good luck finding toilet paper. Truly this meant we were roughing it. Not a place you'd want to take your family. It was a horrible experience and we hope that not all Jellystone 's operate with the standards that we experienced.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2012
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Rachel D wrote a tip May 2024
Ottawa, Illinois1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go somewhere else. Noisy."
Read full review
BrownEyes380 wrote a tip Oct 2017
Chicago, Illinois33 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Cabins are just for sleeping and you know you're on plywood."
Read full review
cubbiefever wrote a tip Jul 2017
Chicago, Illinois1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pick a remote site. Don't bother with overpriced cabins."
Read full review
Kelli L wrote a tip Aug 2016
25 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"even the sites right by the pool are wonderful"
Read full review
G b wrote a tip Jun 2015
Chicago, Illinois91 contributions63 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"They offer Wi-fi, but it didn't work very well. You could connect, but when you actually tried to use it, the connection would drop."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Millbrook area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
fitzpatrick`s jellystone park campground hotel millbrook
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Fitzpatrick's Jellystone Park Campground
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisMillbrook
NUMBER OF ROOMS
407
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SUN RETREATS MILLBROOK - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Sun Retreats Millbrook
Which popular attractions are close to Sun Retreats Millbrook?
Nearby attractions include Farnsworth House (2.8 miles), Silver Springs State Park (2.4 miles), and WOW 7 Cinema (4.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sun Retreats Millbrook?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a hot tub.
Which room amenities are available at Sun Retreats Millbrook?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a stovetop.
What food & drink options are available at Sun Retreats Millbrook?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities and a snack bar during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Sun Retreats Millbrook?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bien Chido, Dearborn's Cafe, and Ivana's Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sun Retreats Millbrook?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Sun Retreats Millbrook located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Millbrook.
Are pets allowed at Sun Retreats Millbrook?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Sun Retreats Millbrook?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Farnsworth House (2.8 miles).
Is Sun Retreats Millbrook accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.