We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunset Lakes RV Resort

3333 290th St N, Hillsdale, IL 61257-9753
E-mail hotel
View all 8 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.


Enjoy Resort Amenities Near The Quad Cities in the heart of the Midwest! Our premier, award-winning resort provides a traditional camping experience in Hillsdale, Illinois where campers can set up an RV, including new seasonal sites with concrete pads and patios. You can also stay in one of our fully furnished two bedroom vacation rentals. Cool off in our outdoor swimming pool, or stay active with outdoor recreations like a gem mining sluice, basketball, horseshoes, tennis, updated rolle bolle court, and much more. Our pet-friendly campground also features a new dog park just for your four legged family members. Just 15 minutes away you’ll find local attractions in the Quad Cities along the Mississippi River, including riverboat cruises.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Poolside bar
Children's playground
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Vending machine
Game room
Mini golf
Tennis court
Entertainment staff
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Convenience store
Gift shop
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Seating area
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken


Full view
43Reviews0Q+A5Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 12
  • 8
  • 8
  • 7
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Rhondda H wrote a review Aug 2020
Ottawa, Illinois6 contributions2 helpful votes
Lakefront was next to a green such covered pond infested with frogs. Frogs every where. Huge frogs, little feogs, dead frogs. One of the main kid activity was invading our site all day and eve long to go for frogs. Unsupervised Kids everywhere. The adults were too busy cruising in their gold caet, around and around ariund. Least relaxing place we have ever stayed.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Room Tip: Avoid "lakefront" unless you are up for unsupervised kids and huge frogs.
See more room tips
Response from MB - SunRVResorts, Owner at Sunset Lakes RV Resort
Responded Aug 15, 2020
Hello Valued Guest, Thank you for providing your feedback. Although, we wish that you had a better experience with us. It is feedback such as this, that gives us the opportunity to improve. We value you as our guest and hope that your recent experience does not deter you from staying with us in the future.
Read more
Kathy wrote a review Mar 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed a few weekends in 2019 we never had a bad time. Everyone treated us well and our sites were pretty good a few times we had to sweep a little but that doesn't hurt anyone.We have several weekends reserved for 2020 and can't wait to go. Also referred a friend for a week in July we really love this place and it will probably be our only campground we go to because we haven't found another we think compares.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Response from MarySunCom, SUNRV-Reputation Management Team at Sunset Lakes RV Resort
Responded Mar 21, 2020
Hello Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time out to leave us with a great review. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with a great experience and we're happy to hear that your stay was enjoyed! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
JDCorush wrote a review Jul 2019
Woodstock, Illinois1 contribution
Checked in on Friday evening, set up and noticed a foul water smell when showering. I thought it was maybe stale water in my water heater and was going to take measures to correct it on Saturday. We went about our day on Saturday and stopped at the camp store when we got back, to find out the the main well failed and a memo was provided to all guests regarding the use of their fresh water tank throughout the weekend...in fact we could fill up at near the store, which would mean unhooking and rehooking the motor home. More attention to detail at check in is definitely in order. Won’t be coming back anytime soon.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
butch wrote a review Jul 2019
1 contribution
My wife and I just purchased our 3rd. RV after being out of the hobby for a number of years. Decided to give this place a try and perhaps consider a seasonal spot. Called the office and reserved spot for 37' ft. motorhome and trailer for pulling our Harley. Everything went smooth when we checked in...until we got to the site. Stay away from E-65...it is a joke! A trailer with a slide was to our right and we could have used it for a back rest when we sat at the picnic table. No space between the sites! I was afraid to put the awning down for fear of perhaps touching the trailer. For the money I was charged, it put our weekend as disappointing....too bad as the park has a lot of nice features
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Olivia T wrote a review Jul 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Thought it would be a nice weekend to visit the campground over 4th of July weekend,I already knew it would be busy. They allowed other people in who were not camping there. The pool was so crowded you could hardly move! The golf cart traffic was horrible and the park manager did not help out a bit! The place was a gross mess. They do anything to bring in the money
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
$198 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
United StatesIllinoisHillsdale
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sunset Lakes RV Resort
What are some of the property amenities at Sunset Lakes RV Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a fitness center, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Sunset Lakes RV Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sunset Lakes RV Resort?
Guests can enjoy a poolside bar, an outdoor dining area, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Sunset Lakes RV Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sunset Lakes RV Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Prime Steakhouse, Subway, and Jammerz Roadhouse.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sunset Lakes RV Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and an outdoor pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Sunset Lakes RV Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Sunset Lakes RV Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.