We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St Louis / Granite City KOA

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Granite City
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
St Louis \/ Granite City KOA
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 61: English reviews
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Campground was very clean. Bathroom, showers and pool were all well maintained and clean. Nice and quiet at night (except for the occasional train) for the most part. There was a fox that wandered through our site one day while we were eating looking for food, but he kept on moving when he saw us. I would definitely recommend this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diane D
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had just cycled 80kms on the Mississippi River Trail and had planned to camp here. If it hadn't been so hot and further to go, we would have cycled on. The dark haired receptionist couldn't have been more rude to us. It was a shock because everyone we have met along our journey has been kind and friendly and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda Carmody

Travelers are raving about these Granite City hotels

Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here in a cabin on a family vacation. The cabin slept 4, had A/C which was great for summer, had cable tv, a pool, a play ground for the kids & was within driving distance to local attractions. Only downside was a shared public bathroom & showers. They were clean but it was more like a dorm bathroom than... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anna W
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at St Louis / Granite City KOA, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review, Anna! We are so happy you and your family had a great stay, and enjoyed your cabin, the pool, playground, and nearby attractions. We hope to see you again sometime! More 

Arnold, MO
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016

First off- NO CAMPFIRES due to a county ordinance. In 37 years of camping, this was a first. Our normal campground was flooded, and KOA had an opening for us the morning of. We arrived and our campsite had common grass to the left but was very close in proximity to the neighbors. Only about 4-5 feet from our awning... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheSaxGuru
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at St Louis / Granite City KOA, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! We are glad you had a nice stay with us, and enjoyed our grounds and facilities, as well as the pool and jumping pillow. We wish we could allow campfires, but unfortunately right now we can't. :( Thank you for choosing us, and safe travels. More 

Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016

The nearest KOA campsite to St. Louis, MO. Stayed here for two days and overall had a pleasant stay. The toilets and showers were clean and also had plenty of privacy, shower consists of a changing cubicle and the shower cubicle itself. Staff is friendly and gave us information about where to park our RV when visiting St. Louis as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jer0en_P
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at St Louis / Granite City KOA, responded to this review

Thanks for your detailed review! We are glad you had a great stay with us, and enjoyed our facilities, and that our staff was helpful for you. We hope to see you again in the future! More 

Grove City, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2015 via mobile

Loud,loud,loud.it is 11 pm as I write this and I can still hear the loud engines of racing motor vehicles that I have been listening to since 7:30. When we checked in, the First Lady was ok..then walks in this rude, bossy and in hospitable employee who was obviously in charge. Very unfriendly. The other negative reviews are accurate..this is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bryan M
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at St Louis / Granite City KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Please accept our sincere apologies that you were not completely satisfied during your recent stay with us. We do our best to control the environment on our campground but unfortunately cannot control nearby noise. These types of issues are not a regular experience on our park and we do... More 

Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

I had high expectations of KOA coming in to this campground, and I left hoping my next KOA experience to be better. We got in late, having driven from South Dakota and we got brief instructions for late night reservations. We set up and we're just about ready to go to sleep when we hear none other than a racetrack,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris C
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at St Louis / Granite City KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Please accept our apologies that your recent stay wish us was not as peaceful as we would have hoped. We do occasionally have some noise from our neighbors along with trains but this is not a daily issue. We do hope you will return and give us another chance... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015 via mobile

Trains. Truck traffic. No fire. If this is your idea of camping, then you have found utopia. This is one step above camping in a gas station. Bathrooms clean. One friendly clerk. One grump. The only redeeming value is its proximity to St Louis. It's an industrial park with trees. We stayed one night and that was enough. My daughter... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gary K
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at St Louis / Granite City KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Please accept our apologies that your stay was not as peaceful as we would have hoped. We do our best to control the experience on our campground but unfortunately cannot control external noise. We will continue to work with our neighbors in the hopes that we can get this... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015 via mobile

We stayed in one of the cabins. It was infested with bedbugs. What a pain! We saw them crawling on our bedding in the morning and killed several, which were full of blood. There was blood spots on our sheets. I had bites all over that itched like crazy. We had another week of our road trip and had to... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank 5p33d
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at St Louis / Granite City KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We take issues like these very seriously and have investigated your claims as much as possible. We did not receive any reports of bugs in your cabin prior to your stay and would have gladly checked if you had let us know prior to leaving. We have already passed... More 

Gallatin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

We've stayed at campgrounds and RV parks all over the US. This KOA is a disappointment. My 15-yr-old son said this about it as we were leaving the park this morning: "This KOA is soon-to-be a former KOA like the crappy campground we stayed at in South Dakota." He was referring to the Custer Crazy Horse Campground in Custer, SD,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jason D
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at St Louis / Granite City KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Please accept our sincere apologies that your stay was not as perfect as we would have hoped. We value all of our guests feedback and have already passed along your comments in the hopes that we can improve both our customer service as well as the other issues you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granite City
2.5 mi away
Camelot Magnuson Hotel
Camelot Magnuson Hotel
#7 of 7 in Pontoon Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pontoon Beach
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pontoon Beach
#1 of 7 in Pontoon Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
9.8 mi away
Casino Queen Hotel and RV Park
Casino Queen Hotel and RV Park
#1 of 3 in East Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Granite City
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Pontoon Beach
2.5 mi away
Days Inn Pontoon Beach
Days Inn Pontoon Beach
#6 of 7 in Pontoon Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This is the closest KOA to St. Louis attractions! Set up camp on Old Route 66, just 12 miles from downtown. See the soaring Gateway Arch. Walk or bike across the Historic Route 66 Chain of Rocks Bridge. Whether you want to cheer on a pro team, shop until you drop or try your luck at casinos, St. Louis has it all! Visit Cahokia Mounds and Lewis and Clark state historic sites, the Missouri Botanical Garden and the unique City Museum. At the campground, you can swim, romp on the playground or play horseshoes. Kids love the free Jumping Pillow. ... more   less 

Additional Information about St Louis / Granite City KOA

Address: 3157 West Chain of Rocks Road, Granite City, IL 62040
Location: United States > Illinois > Granite City
Number of rooms: 75
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing