We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Ruebel Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ruebel Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 174: English reviews
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The restaurant was quite busy and I understand that it's hard to get every order right in that sort of situation; I am keeping this in mind with my review. However, I feel like the addition of one or two more servers and or cooks, especially on a Saturday afternoon, would definitely improve the customer's experience. I had the burger... More 

Review collected in partnership with Windows 10 app

Helpful?
Thank V B
Grinnell, Iowa
Level Contributor
138 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently spent a weekend at the Ruebel Hotel in scenic Grafton, Illinois and couldn't have been more pleased. If you are looking for a covered canopy, valet parking, or help with your luggage, keep looking. But if you want the charm that only a historic venue can offer, while sacrificing none of the comforts of modern hotels, the Ruebel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark G
KKJean, General Manager at Ruebel Hotel, responded to this review

We would like to take the time to thank you for your wonderful review. It is so nice knowing that we do please some people as we try our very best to always do that but sometimes it just doesn't work out that way. It was a pleasure having you as guests and we hope you return to us in... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were given a gift certificate for this place. We decided to book it for the weekend of our 35th anniversary. We arrived around 6:45 pm on a Friday evening. There was a young man in the bar who came out to check us in. He had never heard of this gift certificate. He asked for a receipt. I didn't... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa B
KKJean, General Manager at Ruebel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. Although, there are many inconsistencies in your review that I would like to address. When you presented your gift certificate the employee stated that he had not seen a gift certificate like this because all of our gift certificates are for money amounts not actual packages as it give the freedom to the customer... More 

Dahlgren, Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just ok and that is If you don't mind the lack of hot water and loud music from the bar until they shut down! We checked in for a weekend stay since we couldn't book both nights at Pere Marquette Lodge. Dealings with the front desk is by notes left by management. To check in we were instructed to go... More 

Helpful?
Thank tkjck
KKJean, General Manager at Ruebel Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We were told that by going to a tank less hot water system it was going to be great. Customers would never run out of hot water. Well, if I would have known what I know now I would have never had it installed and would have saved a... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We drove through this tiny town along the Mississippi and stumbled this stunning little hotel that was built in 1879 and totally restored. Gorgeous room, incredible staff and most of all, fantastic food. We had dinner and I would do it again.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
KKJean, General Manager at Ruebel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We greatly appreciate it. We hope that you will be returning to us in the near future. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

Stayed in the reubel hotel once again for our anniversary. As always, great service and staff. Rooms are extremely clean and well kept. Beds have always been comfortable. We have stayed there many times over the last 8 years and have never had an issue. We will be returning many more times in the future.

Helpful?
Thank Kinann2011
MoKhamee, Manager at Ruebel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. It is a pleasure having customers like yourself and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. More 

Marion, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

First of all, this hotel is outdated and dirty. My daughter stayed in room 12 and she caught bed bugs!!! Aside from that, it's overpriced and poorly managed. Never in my life have I met someone so rude, inconsiderate, and unprofessional. I witnesses the owner yelling at customers and threatening to cancel their reservations because they checked in at 7.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Johnbrad13
MoKhamee, Owner at Ruebel Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay. The issue with another customer was an isolated case and perhaps it was not addressed in a professional manner at the time. Our hotel was built in 1879 and we have tried to keep the old time nostalgia décor with the comforts of the 21st century for our customers as... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016

Great staff, drinks and room. Love this little gem...and it's less than an hour from home so we can visit often. So relaxing by the river and so many things to do in the area. Had dinner on Saturday there and breakfast Sunday morning. So great!

Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2016

Stop searching. This turn-of-the-century renovated hotel is exactly what you have been looking for, combining old world charm with modern luxuries. Our room included a comfy pillow top mattress, fluffy towels and robes, two overstuffed chairs, a refrigerator with bottled water and an incredible view of the river and lighthouse. The food and drink offered in the restaurant/bar was definitely... More 

Helpful?
Thank SiameseMom6
MoKhamee, Owner at Ruebel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review you have given us. It is such a pleasure to have guests like yourself. We look forward to seeing you again the very near future. Kind Regards, Mo & Karen More 

Saint Clair, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2016

My friend and I have been 3 times and always hate to leave. Its like going back in time. The owner and employees are so nice and friendly and go out of their way to make sure you have a pleasant stay. We always request room 8 on the second floor and there is an elevator for those of us... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maggie2747
MoKhamee, Owner at Ruebel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. It is always a pleasure when customers send us such a good review as we do try very hard to accommodate our customers. We look forward to seeing you again real soon. Kind Regards, Mo & Staff More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grafton
16.8 mi away
Atrium Hotel & Conference Center
14.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles
14.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Parkway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Comfort Inn -- Alton
Comfort Inn -- Alton
#4 of 5 in Alton
3.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Louis/St. Charles
4.0 mi away
Maple Leaf Cottage Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Ruebel Hotel Restaurant
Ruebel Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Small 22 room boutique hotel. Charming character with 21st century amenities. Located in the center of town on main street. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ruebel Hotel

Address: 217 E Main St, Grafton, IL 62037-1121
Location: United States > Illinois > Grafton
Price Range: $134 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ruebel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruebel Hotel Grafton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay