We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Herrington Inn & Spa

Booking.com$179*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Herrington Inn & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

377 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Herrington Inn & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 375: English reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2017

I chose the Herrington because of it's proximity to the Fox River Bike trails. It is on the river and you can safely access the trail in 5 minutes or less. They gave me no trouble about keeping my bike in my room. The property was very nice. Clean and well kept. The room was pleasant and warm. It even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dart W
Jesse M, Manager at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Ervin W, Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay was at the hotel. As you mentioned, the Fox River Bike Trails are just across the bridge and offer over 40 miles of trail from Aurora to Algonquin. It's a great ride and if you don't bring your bike next time...

Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed January 1, 2017 via mobile

We had a 2 night stay for a wedding on New years eve. While the venue is beautiful, I have never had such an awful shower in a supposed luxury hotel. The water temperature vacillated between scalding and freezing - taking a shower was either dangerous or very uncomfortable. The front desk didn't seem very concerned, just would have maintenance...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Susan G
Jesse M, Manager at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Susan G, Thank you for your review. I am sorry you were disappointed with the water temperature in your shower. Please be assured we take your feedback seriously, as it is an opportunity to make improvements. I have personally addressed your concerns, and will work towards the areas needing further improvement. I look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely,...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed December 11, 2016

We spend one night for my husband's 70th birthday. The room was very lovely, exceptionally clean. Very quiet - never heard any noise but it was a Wednesday - in late November. The jacquzzi was the best. Plenty of hot water. The bed was so comfortable and the pillows were feather. We would definitely go back and highly recommend it....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindak07
Jesse M, Manager at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Dear lindak07, Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at the Herrington Inn & Spa! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay for your husbands 70th birthday! We do hope to welcome you back to the Herrington Inn soon! Kind regards, Jesse Mercado Hotel Manager

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed December 5, 2016 via mobile

We make an annual visit to the Herrington each Christmas season. The staff is very helpful and the Inn is a charming place to stay. The rooms have a great view of the river. Our rooms have always had a fireplace and we enjoy the milk and cookies for dessert. A very romantic place to stay!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NebraskaFan71
Jesse M, Manager at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Dear NebraskaFan71, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your Herrington Inn experience! We are happy to hear that you are able to make it an annual visit over the Christmas season. We do hope to welcome you back to the Herrington later this year! Best regards, Jesse Mercado Hotel Manager

Wheaton, Illinois
Reviewed November 27, 2016

Just got home from a lovely overnight stay at the Herrington Inn & Spa. What a great experience. We were warmly welcomed by the front desk staff, check-in was effortless and we were quickly on our way to our room. We had a Premier King Riverview room. A large four poster king size bed, a gas fireplace in the room,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ironpen47
Jesse M, Manager at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Ironpen47, Thank you so much for taking the time to share such kind words about your Herrington Inn Experience! We are so pleased to hear that you were impressed with our rooms, restaurant, and service! It is our goal at the Herrington to exceed the expectations of our guests, and we are so glad to hear that we accomplished...

Reviewed November 25, 2016 via mobile

We just had our seventh and last stay. After reserving a room two plus months in advance they switched our room to what they said was an "upgrade". Right away I realized this was a room that others had refused to stay in. It was next to the elevator, our door was directly across from and maybe four steps away...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank maura k
logwes, General Manager at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review

I'm very sorry your last stay was not up to your expectations. It sounds like you got off to a bad start with room location problems and things went downhill from there. I am also sorry that we were not able to remedy the issues you encountered so that we could retain you as a guest. If you should decide...

Avon, Connecticut
Reviewed November 20, 2016

Stayed this spring and arrived late at night after a stop in DC. I was really tired from travel and arrived after the restaurant had closed. I was so very, very pleased that the bartender was willing and able to make up a light snack/meal for me. I had a fantastic room looking out over the river. It was quiet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Preston1884
Jesse M, Manager at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Preston1884, Thank you so much for taking the time to share such kind words about your Herrington Inn experience, we are so thrilled to hear that you were impressed with our property! I'm happy to hear that our staff was able to accommodate you although the restaurant was closed. One of our goals is to provide excellent service to...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed November 15, 2016

We loved our weekend getaway to the Herrington! Sadly, we only had one night to spend here for our 15th anniversary- but it did not disappoint. It was nice to have such a quality place close to Chicago to minimize travel time and enjoy time together. In June we stayed in a Junior River Suite. Loved the river view and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smallfeettravels
logwes, General Manager at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Herrington to spend your anniversary. Your comments are much appreciated and we look forward to your next stay. Thanks, Paul Ruby, GM

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed November 14, 2016

We spent 3 nights at the Herrington when in town for a wedding that was on property. The accommodations were very nice. Our room had a fireplace, a spacious bathroom, and we had views of the courtyard and river. Each night milk and cookies were delivered and it was such a nice touch. The staff could not have been more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank j_hendrixs2006
logwes, General Manager at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Your comments are much appreciated. We hope you have an opportunity to return soon. Sincerely, Paul Ruby, GM

Lincoln
Reviewed November 12, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I have been coming to the Herrington for about 10 years. We have always had a very relaxing and great experience. Last year we brought our employees as a gift to them and booked 9 rooms. This year we returned again bringing my employees and booked their rooms for 2 night and had our annual planning meeting...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Aaron F
logwes, General Manager at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize for our mistake with your turndown service. Turndown and the milk and cookie delivery are an important part of the Herrington experience and I completely understand how your stay was compromised. I also apologize that we did not properly explain the $50 per day per room credit hold we require, which allows guests to charge to their...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

154 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (129)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Geneva
138 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Saint Charles
7.5 mi away
Hotel Arista at CityGate Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles
2.0 mi away
Hotel Baker
Hotel Baker
#6 of 11 in Saint Charles
153 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
#3 of 11 in Saint Charles
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel, spa, and restaurant in the Chicago suburb of Geneva, IL. Voted one of Illinois best spa hotels and located on the waterfront, each room offers a large whirlpool tub, fireplace, and furnished balcony. We are perfect for storybook weddings, corporate meetings, romantic getaways, fine dining, and relaxing in the best day spa in Geneva. Within walking distance to the Metra Train line to Chicago's Loop, and running/biking path. Evening turn down service staff deliver chilled milk and fresh baked cookies to all overnight guests. Each morning guests enjoy a complimentary European-style continental breakfast buffet served in our grand lobby. Also complimentary: wireless internet access and plenty of onsite parking. Just across from the hotel is the Fox River Trail, available year round for waterfront running or biking. Hotel is within walking distance to over 100 shops, galleries, restaurants, and pubs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Herrington Inn & Spa

Address: 15 S River Ln, Geneva, IL 60134-2251
Location: United States > Illinois > Geneva
Price Range: $172 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Herrington Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your The Herrington Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Herrington Inn And Spa
The Herrington Hotel Geneva
Herrington Hotel Geneva
Herrington Geneva
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Herrington Inn & Spa staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Herrington Inn & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose a room facing the river with a balcony”
ChicagoTraveler105, 1 week ago | Read review
“Most room have some view. If you want a total water view then you have to ask for a room with a view which of course costs more.”
scarlchan, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“I don't think anyone would be disappointed with any room at the Herrington.”
MaripatP, Mar 3, 2017 | Read review
“get a river view”
Australia1962, Feb 7, 2017 | Read review
“Pay for the river view”
Gunshycanuck, Jan 29, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Booking.com
$179* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor$179
Expedia.com$179
Hotels.com$179
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates