We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Allen's Log Cabin Guest House

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 47: English reviews
Start your review of Allen's Log Cabin Guest House
 Click to rate
Reviewed January 5, 2017

Fell in love with the cabin the moment we walked in. "I could live here". We stayed in and ordered delivery both nights (instead of dining in Galena) - that's how much we enjoyed the cabin and fireplace.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tatiana H
Wheaton, Illinois
Reviewed January 2, 2017

We stayed two nights. Enjoyed the fireplace one night and the large whirlpool tub with a view the second. Breakfast was fresh muffins and juice with coffee and maker in the cabin. The cabin was remarkably clean and everything worked. It is close to town - five minutes from being parked on Main St. - but looks out over rolling...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John D
Reviewed November 22, 2016

My daughter and I stayed the night in the Parker cabin. What a neat experience. The cabins are very authentic with a few modern touches. Tammy thought of everything, down to spill proof candle holders, tea lights, a book of matches and bath salts for and incredible bath. There was plenty of kindling and wood for the evening and she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tammi B
tammara38, Owner at Allen's Log Cabin Guest House, responded to this review

Hi, Tammi!! Thanks for the wonderful review!! I'm so glad you girls were comfy!! As for the price....have you ever tried maintaining 7 houses?? :) Our prices are comparable to other places like this one....oh, wait....there aren't any others like this one!! ;) We are still very comparable to other lodgings in the area for what you're getting here. Hope...

Reviewed November 13, 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed for the weekend. What a relaxing place. Quiet, clean, and close enough to town to get there quickly but far enough to feel like we were in the countryside. Love the cows who seemed like our welcoming committee. Tammy, the owner, was wonderful. So friendly and personable that we felt like family. Definitely coming back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna P
Manhattan, Illinois
Reviewed November 10, 2016

We chose this place because it was pet friendly (we have a 12 pounder with us) and we were up for the rustic adventure. We stayed in the smallest cabin, without a whirlpool tub. These are true log cabins and you can tell it is cold outside (we had a good frost one night) but the furnace worked and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John P
tammara38, Owner at Allen's Log Cabin Guest House, responded to this review

A very interesting combination of good and bad in this review :) I believe I told you I had a horrible cold and didn't want to give it to you, hence the speedy check in. Parking is not a problem when the cabins are full. They each have their own parking spot.....I do have to make adjustments if people bring...

Reviewed November 4, 2016

We stayed in the Grant cabin Halloween weekend, 2016. Found online at the last minute. My wife and I were pleasantly surprised! Authentic 18th century cabins that General Grant and or his soldiers may have stayed in-awesome history! The cabin itself was super romantic-tons of heart felt letters from people just like us looking to reconnect at a special place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
tammara38, Owner at Allen's Log Cabin Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you both!!! It was a pleasure talking with you....so glad you can take a joke ;) :) Hope to see you again soon :)

Cedar Falls, Iowa, United States
Reviewed October 2, 2016

We stayed here because they allow dogs and it worked out well with our dog. We had minor issues with technology. The TV eventually worked and the WiFi works when it feels like it and you sit on the porch or stand by the door. (The owner didn't have an enthusiastic tone over the phone to help with the TV,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick A
Tammara K, Owner at Allen's Log Cabin Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, Patrick!! I could have sworn we got the tv fixed when you called. I don't always have a pleasant voice on the phone, but I will always make sure our guests have what they need. I'm available 24/7 for whatever anybody needs. As far as the recycling goes, there are 2 large cans marked recycling next...

Oak Forest, Illinois
Reviewed September 6, 2016

My husband and I love the Grant Cabin. We used to come here all the time. But now the bed in the cabin is getting old. Not very comfy. I guess my husband and I are getting old too though. I wish they would let us know if they replaced the beds.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharoncccc
tammara38, Manager at Allen's Log Cabin Guest House, responded to this review

I'm so glad you love the cabin!! The Grant is my favorite, too! We replaced the mattress in that cabin the first of this year :) We make upgrades whenever we can, so if you find something that needs fixing while you're here, just let me know! I don't stay in the cabins so if you don't tell me, I...

Reviewed August 30, 2016 via mobile

These cabins are truely one not to pass by. From thier rustic frontier apperance one truely feels that you've stepped back in time. Check in was very quick and stress free. The staff is excellent. Our cabin was gorgeous on the inside with a beautiful view of the valley and the huge fire place. Staying here was definitely the highlight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason A
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend and enjoyed our cabin so much. We were looking for a place that our dog could stay, too. Thanks to our hostess for making us and our corgi feel so welcome! These cabins are close to Galena, yet have a feeling of being way out in the country. Loved our morning banana bread- yum!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurie W
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.8 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
812 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
0.5 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
5.4 mi away
Galena Log Cabin Getaway
3.4 mi away
LeFevre Inn & Resort
LeFevre Inn & Resort
#11 of 33 in Galena
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled a mere 2 miles from Main St. and surrounded by 120 acres of pasture and field, are five rustic, original 1800s log cabins updated with luxurious amenities such as double whirlpool tubs, wood burning fireplaces, satellite tv, central heat/ac, continental breakfast and more. Situated on the Galena IL boyhood estate of Civil War General Augustus Chetlain, this quiet, pastoral country setting is the ideal antidote for the stress of city living. The perfect "get away from it all" location without having to travel for conveniences. We allow tent camping and you can bring your own grill. Enjoy a campfire in the fire pit or arrange for a HUGE bonfire while you're here (weather permitting). Family owned and operated with many recent upgrades. New sofas, new mattresses, etc. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Allen's Log Cabin Guest House

Address: 11661 W Chetlain Ln, Galena, IL 61036-9199
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Price Range: $169 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Allen`s Log Cabin Guest House Hotel Galena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Allen's Log Cabin Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The Grant or Smith cabins looked better with their porches and how they look out on the cows.”
 of 5 bubbles PatrickA81, Oct 2, 2016 | Read review
“The small cabin is very cozy for a couple.”
 of 5 bubbles carolinee443, Aug 15, 2016 | Read review
“Grant's Cabin has a screened in porch with an awesome view of rolling farmland”
 of 5 bubbles head_dunce, Sep 7, 2015 | Read review
“Be prepared for adventure, loved cabin 4!!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles sheilal956, Aug 26, 2015 | Read review
“The grant cabin has no stairs”
 of 5 bubbles JamesS216, Jul 19, 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question