We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DeSoto House Hotel

#6 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
DeSoto House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

445 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 445: English reviews
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Excellent time at our favorite hotel in Galena! The experience was enhanced by the check-in process where we were offered a discounted price on our room, Happy Hour drink tokens for each night of our stay, breakfast vouchers for each morning at the Courtyard Restaurant, two trolley tours tickets, two tickets for Linmar Gardens, and a free appetizer at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank JeepGirlKA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The DeSoto House has GREAT location and historical charm. We also found some good value in it's midweek special. Although Abraham Lincoln may have walked the halls, it doesn't mean the beds and towels can't use some upgrades. We chose the breakfast package with their midweek special that gives you free breakfast, and a free tour of something around town.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin H
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This has been a great experience with great perks! We were given a fee historical trolley ride, free cocktails, free breakfast, and a $50 dinner certificate! This hotel is in the middle of the downtown area! The rooms are clean and spacious! The restaurants are worth visiting! I am very pleased!

Helpful?
Thank Judy C
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went for a midweek getaway and couldn't have picked a better location. Indoor parking a huge plus! Perfect for walking everywhere. The hotel is elegant and rooms very comfortable and clean; the staff accommodating. Our rate included free cocktails at the bar-durng Cocktail Hour, a free trolley ride (make sure you do that! So very interesting!)and free breakfast. a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 19slf55
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely hotel with helpful and delightful staff at reception. Comfortable bed and adequate bathroom. However, the hotel has a restaurant called General's which claims to be a fine dining restaurant. I had a steak which was cooked ok but it was drowned in the sauce I chose and the fresh vegetables were so over cooked that they were mushy. On... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Rhubarb888
1855, Manager at DeSoto House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and want to apologize for your unfortunate experience in our restaurant. I apologize that our service did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to provide great food and service to every guest. I want you to... More 

Level Contributor
142 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the DeSoto last weekend. On the positive side, this hotel is perfectly located in Galena. You can walk to most of the places you want to visit from here. The staff are also very nice and the Sunday brunch was very good. Unfortunately, the room we got (304) is not nice. When I pay... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Gallopingghost_77
1855, Manager at DeSoto House Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you and want you to know we appreciate and respect every review. Our goal is to exceed our guests expectations and it sounds like we let you down. We wish we had the opportunity to address these issues at the time where they could have been rectified. We do not like our guests to leave and feel the... More 

Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We actualy stayed at the Desoto House the nite of our wedding 14 years ago! Every time we want a weekend getaway in Galena we stay here. The staff is super friendly, the hotel has old world charm, love that they stay true to the historical roots. The beat thing is location. Can shop and drop bags off in room,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Amos6022
West Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We showed up at the front desk with no reservation and requested a sought after Main Street facing room (they are larger we are told). Somehow they found one for a night and then even for the second night. The Hotel Restaurants are good AND serve fine food. The staff was gracious. Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank Anita H
Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I spent Memorial Day weekend in galena. The Desoto house was fabulous. The room was very spacious and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the bar and had breakfast in the courtyard. The hotel is in a great location, we didn't need our car all weekend! We will be back for sure!

Helpful?
1 Thank schjul
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Galena is our favorite weekend getaway location We traveled over July 4th holiday. The staff was very accommodating and was able to add an extra day to our stay. We have stayed in many rooms and all are nice and clean. We like staying on the 3rd floor Be sure to ask the girls at the front desk about the... More 

Helpful?
Thank RosiePeoria_Illinois
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

137 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (103)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena
2.0 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 stars 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
4.7 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
6.5 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Green Street Tavern
Green Street Tavern
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
The Generals' Restaurant
The Generals' Restaurant
Cuisines: American, International
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about DeSoto House Hotel

Address: 230 S Main St, Galena, IL 61036
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Price Range: $75 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
Desoto Hotel Galena
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Galena
#1 Family Hotel in Galena
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing