We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston

Visit hotel website
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Discover the Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston hotel - a welcoming Chicago North Shore hotel. Adjacent to Northwestern University and minutes from multiple large corporations, our comfortable Evanston hotel is the perfect choice for students, families and business travelers alike.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Business Center with Internet Access
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Shuttle Bus Service
Wheelchair access
Bar/Lounge
Public Wifi
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
Conference Facilities
Non-Smoking Hotel
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Breakfast Available
Show more
Room features
Suites
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Family Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Safe
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Double Points, Every Stay
Hotel deals
Location
Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
63Restaurantswithin 0.25 miles
5Attractionswithin 0.25 miles
Reviews & more
787Reviews
399Photos
7Q+A
84Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 366
  • 268
  • 95
  • 40
  • 19
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
We recommend this hotel for families visiting Northwestern University. It is central to downtown and the staff is very warm. You can either eat there or there are many places close by. Great choice for a visit to Evanston.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
This is a wonderful hotel to stay at. The staff truly lives by their mission to be personable, make sure you are comfortable, and go the extra mile. I always came back to a clean room and was always greeted when I came in!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Very loud construction going on. Strong smell of paint/varnish. It’s a nice location and usually very good place to stay. I’m sure it will be even better once all the renovations are completed. But while it’s going on I would avoid.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Response from Compass822323, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We do apologize that this stay was not enjoyable due to the renovations. We listened to our guests and are improving our look. The renovations are annoying but well needed. We look forward to your visit once the renovations are completed.
Read more
Booked dog friendly room; at arrival told of additional $75 fee. Customer service says I should have checked the hotel's web page to look for additional fees. Who knew? Went to first room. Greeted by naked man in shower. Slammed door. Second room security locked from inside and i
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Response from Compass822323, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking a moment to comment about your recent stay with us. We apologize that your experience was not pleasant and you had problems with the check-in process. We use our guest comments to improve the level of service we provide and we appreciate your feedback.
Read more
Staff was very young, not all all knowledgeable, often rude, and always inattentive. Check in manager told us the full hot breakfast would remain open until 11 am on Thanksgiving Day due to it being a holiday and the hotel not serving dinner that evening. The very young guy waiti
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Response from Compass822323, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the feedback about your recent stay. We are very sorry your experience did not offer you the quality of service you deserve. We strive to give exceptional service every day, for every guest; I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I will ensure that our staff (restaurant and front desk) receive additional training on their customer service skills to avoid this type of behavior in the future. We hope you will return once our renovations are complete, to see our new hotel and improved level of service.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Business Center & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
The Presidential Suite at the Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
The Presidential Suite at the Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
The Presidential Suite at the Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
The King Room with Sofa Bed at the Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
The Junior Suite at the Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
Previous
Is there in and out privileges for parking? Or every time you park, you pay?
Yes there is in and out privileges when you pay for the nightly parking charge at the hotel.
0 votes
Show all answers
When I went to pick my room online today, there were long skinny rooms on the short hallway and more traditional shaped rooms on the longer hallway both available in my single king reservation type. Any recommendations on which one to pick? I like to be able to see the TV from both the bed and a chair if possible. Thanks.
We had a long hallway and could view the tv easily from both the bed and the chair.
0 votes
Show all answers
We are looking at staying here for a weekend to visit all the local sites like Shed's and the Museum, is this a good location?
This hotel is in Evanston, which is north of Chicago. Museum campus, as it is called, is south of the loop. If you have a rental car or Uber, this would be an OK location, but about 35 minute drive south. Evanston itself is a lovely place to visit, home of Northwestern University. Lots of fine restaurants and shopping. Chicago hotels can be expensive along "Miracle Mile" area. If you plan your trip and start early, this is a good location. Use the "L" subway as much as possible to save money and time. Just no easy public transportation to Aquarium and Field Museum. Science and Industry Museum a classic, but further south. Do not forget Chicago History Museum - formerly Chicago Historical Society on Clark Street and North Avenue. Wonderful museum. Sorry for the delay, just saw this question.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi, Are there safety boxes inside the guest rooms? Fred
I do not remember. I was not looking for one.
0 votes
Show all answers
Do you have shuttle service?
We have a local shuttle (2 mile radius) that runs Monday thru Friday from 6:00 am to 10pm.
0 votes
Show all answers
Previous
12
"Avoid room 607 (squeaky HVAC)"
"This hotel is only 3 floors but was quiet and restful."
"Don't stay in 411. Needs to be refurbished. It's quite worn."
"Train was not loud enough to interfere with selection of rooms."
"Don't stay in Room 331. It's across from the ice machine room AND the elevator."
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$118 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hilton garden inn evanston hotel evanstonevanston hilton garden innhilton evanston
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisEvanston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
178
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing