We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Holiday Inn Crystal Lake

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Crystal Lake
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 203: English reviews
Palo Alto
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have stayed at this property twice and it is a great place to stay in Crystal Lake and the Northwest side in general, especially for business travelers. The facility is up to date, safe and very clean. It's also a very comfortable bar area with decent wine choices. There is always a nice group of people at the bar... More 

Helpful?
Thank PaloAltobaby
Kimberly W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Crystal Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback - we will definitely reach out to our internet provider to have conversation in reference to speed and we will continue to review staffing levels. Thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts and for your business. More 

Level Contributor
250 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Great location, friendly staff and plenty of parking. The room I was in seemed a little tired and towels and sheets were worn but they were all very clean and fresh. Kind of a surprise since the outside of the hotel looks in good shape. I would stay here again if in the area, it was decent value for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ppaintguy
Kimberly W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Crystal Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments, hopefully we will see you again soon. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I reserved a room to attend a convention scheduled at the hotel and 3 months before the convention date, the company cancelled the entire convention. This hotel is refusing to refund the hotel room I prepaid for. I understand if it was last minute, or by my own choosing, but charging me almoat $400 for a room when you have... More 

Helpful?
Thank MDF73738
Kimberly W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Crystal Lake, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you feel you have been ripped off - Through no fault of ours the convention decided to change dates and therefor the location of the venue. We have refunded each guest who had pre paid their stay for this conference so if you have not received your refund then please reach out to the hotel... More 

Travelers are raving about these Crystal Lake hotels

Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here while in town on business. The location is great with easy access to get around. There are several restaurants and stores nearby which you can either walk or drive. My room was on the back side overlooking the back yard and pond. My pet peeves for hotels are hot water, water pressure, and comfy bed. This hotel met... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dogfather96
Kimberly W, Manager at Holiday Inn Crystal Lake, responded to this review

We are so glad that you enjoyed your experience here with us! Thank you for your kind words! More 

Lake Worth, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for two nights to attend my niece's wedding. I've gone past this hotel for over 20 years. What a surprise! The front desk was very welcoming. The room was exceptionally clean. The pool and fitness room were great. I enjoyed my breakfast in the restaurant. I would definitely recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank patmartinez2016
Kimberly W, Manager at Holiday Inn Crystal Lake, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. More 

New Prague, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nothing fancy. No free breakfast or even coffee. Staff doesn't put customer 1st several times I have had to ask them to stop chatting about weekend plans they have to check me in. The only reason I keep staying here is its so close to a client I go visit.

Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
Kimberly W, Manager at Holiday Inn Crystal Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. We will share your feedback with our staff and make the necessary changes. We hope you choose to stay with us again, so we can show you our true level of service. More 

Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

This hotel didn't have a friendly staff. For the price we paid I feel it was not worth it. The pool was not 'heated'. It didn't offer a free breakfast. The room had a desk which made it hard to pull out the bed from the sleeper sofa. I'd recommend staying somewhere else.

Helpful?
Thank kcrow18
Kimberly W, Manager at Holiday Inn Crystal Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your experience with us, as that is not up to our normal standards. Your feedback is definitely being shared with our staff and we hope you choose to stay with us again, so we can show you our true level of service. More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff, clean hotel room, large parking with lots of available spots. I had lots of fun with my family in the swimming pool. There were more families with different ages enjoying the pool. We had to use the laundry service with coins and worked really great for us. I recommend this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
Kimberly W, Manager at Holiday Inn Crystal Lake, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation while staying with us! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! More 

South Lake Tahoe, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

I was very disappointed with the service at this Holiday Inn. First I experienced problems with my rim key card. When I tried to call the front desk they never answered the phone. When I went to the front desk they only had one person working it. The room service also came to clean room at 4:00 pm. They never... More 

Helpful?
Thank germanochic
Kimberly W, Manager at Holiday Inn Crystal Lake, responded to this review

I am so sorry for the difficulties you experienced during your stay and I assure you that we will be addressing each of them with the management team to move past this and make sure our staffing levels are adequate to allow us to offer great service to our guests. More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

First My Husband and I were going to stay at the comfort inn in crystal lake but my daughter had all ready booked a room at holiday inn crystal lake for her family but Her husband could not go and the team was staying at Holiday inn. so she said we were welcomed to have the other bed. when we... More 

Helpful?
Thank evelyn h
Kimberly W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Crystal Lake, responded to this review

I am terribly sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us and feel terrible that you did not enjoy your stay. Please know that we will be dscussing your comments to try and make forward strides in order to serve our customers better. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crystal Lake
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Crystal Lake
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 4 in Crystal Lake
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn - McHenry
Hampton Inn - McHenry
#1 of 2 in McHenry
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin
11.0 mi away
WaterFront Hotel & Marina
WaterFront Hotel & Marina
#1 of 1 in Johnsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
9.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Zurich-Barrington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The newly renovated Holiday Inn Crystal Lake and Conference Center is the only full service hotel in McHenry County that sits in a park like setting amid the oak trees and overlooking sparkling Acorn Lake. This Crystal Lake Hotel is perfectly situated near several corporate centers for Sage, Medela, Snap on Tools, Affinia, Centegra, Nissan Forklift, True Value and more. We are conveniently located near several of Chicagos attractions including Chicago Metra, Volo Auto Museum, Illinois Railway Museum, Raue Center for the Arts, Algonquin Commons Shopping District, Championship Golf Courses and relaxing spas. With our great location we are also easily accessible to OHare, Rockford and Midway Airports. This full service hotel offers amenities the business or leisure traveler can truly appreciate. We offer a 24 hour business center, heated indoor pool, fitness center, complimentary high speed Internet (Wi-Fi), simply smart bedding collection, 16000 Square Feet of meeting and banquet space, Three Oaks Dining Room and Lounge, Wedding Services and more. Located on site is Enterprise Car Rental and a complimentary shuttle the runs within a 5 mile radius. We are also a pet friendly hotel. Please register your pet before check in. Holiday Inn Crystal Lake we offer service, value and variety. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Crystal Lake

Address: 800 South Route 31, Crystal Lake, IL 60014
Location: United States > Illinois > Crystal Lake
Price Range: $114 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Crystal Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Crystal Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake Hotel Crystal Lake
Crystal Lake Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay