We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1244 N Dearborn Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610-5197
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Only 1 left at
$459
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/08/22
Booking.com
$459
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
$408
View deal
Hotels.com$459
Travelocity$459
Priceline$459
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (95)
Room & Suite (57)
Dining (43)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#108 of 217 hotels in Chicago
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.3
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
Imagine finding your own intimate, little haven in the heart of Chicago’s Gold Coast. At Claridge House, you’ll wake up in a true neighborhood that feels worlds away from a typical big city hotel experience. You can start your day with a stroll to the lake front or a jog in Lincoln Park before discovering a new café for lunch. A stay at Claridge House feels more like a homecoming, and it’s always easy to enjoy Chicago like a local. Pet friendly!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Wifi
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighborhood
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
80Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
24Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
284Reviews36Q+A38Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 151
  • 68
  • 30
  • 17
  • 18
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Linzy K wrote a review Sep 20
5 contributions6 helpful votes
The service to get a coffee at breakfast was terrible, really made to feel like an inconvenience by the two girls working and they couldn’t have been more miserable towards. Choice was also very slim. The room was exceptionally noisy - the air con was broken (only stuck on high) and there was a constant loud humming ALL night and day, from a vent which was hanging from the ceiling. Something was making loud banging noises from about 3-6am, we had to call reception after two nights of this but it continued. Overall massively disappointed for the price, we left tired and annoyed. We didn’t have any housekeeping the whole three days - we paid over $800 for these three days so this was more than unacceptable. The room also stunk of weed on second night - we think someone was smoking next door. It was really off putting.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
K L wrote a review Sep 17
10 contributions11 helpful votes
Happily surprised! We stayed with here two daughters and dog in a two queen room and there was ample space. A little sitting area and a desk. It was very cozy and spacious. The lobby and bar area are quaint. Not overly crowded. You cannot beat the location. The brown stones and tree lined streets are wonderful way to spend the morning walking with coffee. We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: 30 minute parking out front to drop your bags. Ample parking garage is around the area.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Colin Challender, General Manager at Claridge House Chicago
Responded 1 week ago
Thanks for the kind review K L, Our location is truly unrivaled in Chicago. Glad you were able to experience all our neighborhood has to offer. We look forward to seeing you next time!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fearless681619 wrote a review Sep 3
3 contributions
Nikko at the front desk went above and beyond. Upgraded us deluxe room and provided complimentary chocolates and beverages for our 15th year anniversary. Very pleased by the service and all staff was very helpful. We’ll maintained hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Colin Challender, General Manager at Claridge House Chicago
Responded 1 week ago
Hello Fearless681619, Thank you for your wonderful comments on our hotel and congrats on 15 years! We will make sure Nikko is acknowledge for his service, and hope to see you again for your next special night out!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lorinda Lamken-Finnell wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
There are 2 gentlemen that were down at the desk every night of our stay - Bre and Jordan - both were incredibly helpful and friendly. Patiently answered questions about the local area (both my questions and other guests). I even watched one get hot tea for an elderly guest late one evening because she wasn't sure how to fix it in her room. Hotel was very clean. Parking is directly next door - not affiliated with hotel but couldn't be more convenient. It is expensive - but it is Chicago. Location is in a great neighborhood lined with the classic brownstones. Several restaurants a couple blocks away. Very convenient if you plan to go to Wrigley - hotel is about a block from the train. Hands down, my husband and I would stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Colin Challender, General Manager at Claridge House Chicago
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your review, L_Lamken! We made sure to acknowledge Jordan and Bre for your nice comments, and the housekeeping team for the comments on our cleanliness! We look forward to seeing you again for your next trip! Go Cubs!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BeeCee D wrote a review Aug 2022
25 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
I cannot recommend this hotel. Very loud air conditioner required earplugs to sleep, and silverfish in the tiny bathroom. Bogus “amenities” fee for water and WiFi, but they will waive it if you complain. No housekeeping service because of Covid, yet staff is unmasked. Prison-grade toilet paper. Nice neighborhood with restaurants, wine bar and architecture. This hotel would be okay, but the bugs & air conditioner are deal breakers. When I showed a photo of the silverfish to the desk staffer, he laughed it off.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Book elsewhere, unless you can sleep through anything.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Colin Challender, General Manager at Claridge House Chicago
Responded Aug 14, 2022
Hello beeceed2017, Thank you very much for this feedback. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations, and I will be addressing your concerns with our departments to improve our service and offerings at the hotel. Please reach out to me directly at the hotel for additional feedback or follow up.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martha Appleton wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Miss Cookie who works in reservations is so nice and friendly. The hotel is very clean and in a good location. The people that work here are the best. They go the extra ...mile.But The rate is very high at $265 per night.$100 tax plus a $100 fee for damages? I've never heard of this type of fee and weekend spending money was tied up.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Room Tip: Rooms are a good large
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Colin Challender, General Manager at Claridge House Chicago
Responded Aug 14, 2022
Hello Martyappleton, Thank you for staying with us for your special occasion! I will make Miss Cookie and our team are recognized for their service! We keep our rates competitive with the other hotels in the area. Make sure to check our website for the lowest rate available (our member rate.) The additional hold on the card is just to ensure funds available for services like food and beverage and in-room movies (not damages,) and is an industry standard (and typically a higher amount or a per night amount at other hotels.) Please feel free to reach out to me at the hotel if you have any additional questions about it, or anything else I can do for your in the future. We hope to see you again sometime!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David E wrote a review Aug 2022
Casco, United States2 contributions1 helpful vote
Booked two rooms for August 4-7 and was given the rates. When I received the bill, the rates were different every night based on hotel occupancy. We never had maid service any of the nights we stayed. They added a daily urban fee of $20/night for both rooms that was never told to us prior to booking. The bedspread was dirty and one of the towels looked like someone stepped on it. The TV didn't work properly, so we had to call for them to fix it. The rooms were nothing spectacular and small compared to other hotels we stayed at. No microwave in the rooms either. The pillows are down if you like that, but I prefer better support. No chairs to sit in and watch TV from.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The double queen rooms are larger than the king rooms that we booked.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Colin Challender, General Manager at Claridge House Chicago
Responded Aug 14, 2022
Hello davideP6675QY, Thank you for your feedback. The service you received is not reflective of our typical service. We are also happy to help with preferences like pillows and additional seating. If you return to us, please reach out to me directly, and I will make sure your stay exceeds your expectations!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bethny wrote a review Aug 2022
Tustin, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
We chose this hotel because of its location in Gold Coast. It is indeed nestled in a beautiful neighborhood. We paid $265 per night which is moderate for Chicago. Our room had one window which opened to an interior fire escape stair well. No sun at all! The carpet was dirty as was the shower. The air conditioner was old. The front desk staff was very nice. You pay $20 a day for unlimited water and use of the business center. The hotel restaurant is Sushi with a nightclub in the rear of the reception area. Lastly, hotel clientele is edgy. Something does not add up!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Colin Challender, General Manager at Claridge House Chicago
Responded Aug 14, 2022
Hello bethnyavila, I am sorry we did not meet your expectations and I have our team looking into your comments to make sure we improve for the future. Thank you for the nice comment about our front desk staff. If you plan to return to us, please reach out to me directly and I will ensure you have an exceptional stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lauren wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Very kind and accommodating staff! Jasmin is extremely compassionate, helpful, thoughtful, & authentic! Great employees really elevate your experience! Also lots of awesome restaurants in walking distance! Really enjoyed Eduardo's Enoteca right down the street!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Colin Challender, General Manager at Claridge House Chicago
Responded Aug 14, 2022
Hi lauren8574, Thank you for the review! We will share your comments about Jasmin with the team here. They are truly the heart of our hotel! Eduardo's is one of my favorite spots in the neighborhood. Glad you got to enjoy it! See you next time!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tara H wrote a review Jul 2022
Bloomington, Indiana2 contributions1 helpful vote
Clean, well located, and easy check-in. We stayed for one night and enjoyed a quiet evening. We were able to walk to the lake, Old Town, and tons of restaurants. I’d definitely come back again. The room is about half the size of a traditional Holiday Day, but you’ll find there’s plenty of space for your luggage, a desk and well cared for bathroom. PRO TIP: Download and use a parking app if you travel here by car and need to park.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Used spot hero to reserve and save on parking overnight.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Colin Challender, General Manager at Claridge House Chicago
Responded Aug 14, 2022
Hi Tara H, Thank you for the kind review and pro tips! We hope to see you again sometime. Hopefully you will have more than one night to see all of the other amazing places to visit right nearby! Safe and happy travels!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$149 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel indigo chicago, chicago hotel indigo
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisChicagoCentral / Gold Coast / Near North Side
NUMBER OF ROOMS
165
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Claridge House Chicago
Which popular attractions are close to Claridge House Chicago?
Nearby attractions include The Old Town of Chicago (0.2 miles), The Lodge (0.1 miles), and Charnley-Persky House (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Claridge House Chicago?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Claridge House Chicago?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Claridge House Chicago?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Claridge House Chicago?
Conveniently located restaurants include 3rd Coast Cafe, Velvet Taco, and Gibsons Bar & Steakhouse.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Claridge House Chicago?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Claridge House Chicago?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Claridge House Chicago?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Claridge House Chicago offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Claridge House Chicago?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Claridge House Chicago?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Garfield Park Conservatory (4.7 miles), The Rookery Building (1.8 miles), and Macy's on State Street (1.5 miles).