We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection

Save
Share
333 N Dearborn St Driveway Entrance on 350 N State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4956
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
3 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$319
Booking.com$319
Hotels.com$319
Expedia.com$319
CheapTickets$319
Prestigia.com$319
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (480)
Room & Suite (390)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 02/23/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection
Updated 02/23/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#60 of 215 hotels in Chicago
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
The crown jewel of the Marina City complex in River North, right on the Chicago River - Hotel Chicago, Autograph Collection is steps from The House of Blues. Featuring stylish, rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, you'll soak in all the magic the city of Chicago has to offer when staying at our Chicago hotel. The Magnificent Mile, Merchandise Mart, Art Institute, Millennium Park, Theater District, and of course State Street's nightlife are all within walking distance. All 354 rooms and suites offer plush comforts amenities include Presidential double pillow top mattresses and 370 thread-count Egyptian cotton linens. All guestrooms feature 42-inch high definition TVs, working desk, fully stocked minibars, and floor to ceiling windows with views of the Chicago River or City. Enjoy an extraordinary trip to Illinois by staying at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Massage
24-hour security
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
City View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
345Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
75Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1641Reviews33Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 860
  • 504
  • 169
  • 70
  • 38
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
AJeter wrote a review Jun 8
5 contributions
+1
So I stayed at this hotel this past weekend Jun 4-6. The hotel offers this 3rd party valet parking option (the ONLY option they have unless you try and find cheaper parking off-site and walk back n forth). The nightly rate for the parking is a ridiculous fee of $76 PER NIGHT, on top of the nightly hotel fee. You’d think for $76/night your car would be treated and protected with the upmost respect and concern. Saturday afternoon when I called for my bad to be brought down, I notice these two parallel brown-copper colored streaks on the hood of my car. I immediately asked the man who brought it down what it was or if he knew what happened to the car and he shrugged it off and said that he didn’t know. I thought maybe it was just some odd looking bird poop. After looking closer and trying to wash the car AND scrub that particular spot, the steaks would not come off. They appear like a Carmel or oil-looking substance that almost appears to be RUSTING. It looks as if some liquid was dropped on my car and it ran down and just solidified and dried on the hood. I now have to take the car into my dealership to assess what it is and if any damage to the paint has happened. I’ve reached out to the hotel and left messages; I’ve also been transferred the 3rd party parking company and left messages and no one at all has gotten back with me.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Deinhart, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection
Responded 5 days ago
ayannajeter I am dissapointed to hear of the issues that you experienced with our Valet Parking partner. I am confident that this will issue will be expedited and thouroughly reviewed. Please reach out to me if I can assist you with this unfortunate issue. Thank you Mark Deinhart
Read more
Tim B wrote a review Jun 8
London21 contributions16 helpful votes
Good location but that’s it. I still can’t believe this passed as a Marriott hotel. Made to wait 2 hours to check in. Double charged and had to fight for 3 days to get a refund. Rude receptionist lady at check out this morning. Room not cleaned once in 4 days. Dirty furniture when in the room. No water provided. Attitude of staff so bad. Never again. If you’re reading this book somewhere else, even if it costs more.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Don’t stay here
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Deinhart, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection
Responded 5 days ago
C1722VVtimb I am dissapointed to hear of the issues you experienced during your stay at Hotel Chicago. We appreciate your feedback and will review this with our leadership team to ensure these issues are corrected. Please feel free to reach out directly to me if you would like to further discuss the issues you experienced Thank you
Read more
Anitra L wrote a review Jun 2
Saint Louis, Missouri102 contributions31 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed here over Memorial Day Weekend. The hotel is in a great location easily accessible to many stores, restaurants, clubs, etc. all within walking distance. Sitting right at the river was another huge plus with access to walk down the riverfront. The hotel itself was very clean and the service was great. My main concern was that I didn’t feel this hotel was up to date or recently remodeled as so many reviews lead me to believe. The hotel was somewhat dated to me and the bathroom appeared to be out of the 1980’s. I didn’t expect to have an older bathtub with shower curtains hanging up in this Autograph Collection hotel. I chose to stay at this location because it was slightly cheaper than the Renaissance directly across the street or the Gwen Autograph Collection, both which I stayed at before during previous visits to Chicago. Now, I know why. :( I’m not saying I won’t stay here again but I’ll more than likely pay an extra $80 a night to stay somewhere else in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Be prepared to wait 30 minutes to retrieve your car from valet.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Deinhart, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection
Responded 1 week ago
767 antral Thank you for taking time to review your stay at Hotel Chicago. Thank you for letting us know that our hotel was clean and that you loved our location. We are always looking to upgrade our hotel and your feedback is very much appreciated. Warm Regards, Mark
Read more
Julie H wrote a review May 2021
4 contributions5 helpful votes
We arrived late in the day for an anniversary weekend and with an unexpected ambulatory aid. The front desk staff was amazing and accommodating. But the real star was the bartender (Tim) at the hotel bar. Due to our flight, we arrived late and close to end of food service. We ordered food (which came from the kitchen of a bar next door and was actually very good, I had a large salad and my husband had a fried chicken sandwich). Tim, the bartender, was super friendly and offered amazing advice to us as visitors to the Chicago area, ranging from keeping an eye on Uber/Lyft upcharges to the best places for us to visit given my broken foot and scooter. He really made us feel at home and was super knowledgeable. Also, the bar specials menu was great — I had the house old fashioned for $9 — a delicious drink and great price for Chicago!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Deinhart, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection
Responded 1 week ago
juliehH1150FL Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay at Hotel Chicago. I am so glad to hear that you had an amazing interaction with our Front Desk staff! Also I am thrilled to hear that Tim took great care of you, I agree he is a star associate for Hotel Chicago. I am so glad that we were able to make your special weekend a memorable one. Warm Regards Mark
Read more
BunnyFish7 wrote a review May 2021
Chicago, Illinois76 contributions49 helpful votes
Great location for being in the heart of the loop! It was awesome to have a view of the river and the iconic Marina Towers. It was also conveniently located near several wonderful places to eat! The staff was very friendly and welcoming! They made us aware of COVID safety measures and were masked the entire time. Our room was clean and even had a seal on it. The room was spacious and comfy! The king size bed was on the firmer side, but still got some good sleep on it. The biggest draw back to this hotel is the parking situation. The $76 dollar a day valet is insanely priced. We ended up parking a couple blocks away and walking back and forth. However, even trying to run up to our room to grab something quickly was a pain. I am not sure we would have saved much by take Uber/Lyft because of surge fees in that part of downtown.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Don’t pay for the valet. You can save at least $30 a night by parking a couple blocks away.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Deinhart, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection
Responded 3 weeks ago
BunnyFish7 Thank you for staying at Hotel chicago and taking a moment to lease this kind review. I am pleased to hear that you also felt our staff was friendly and welcoming! During these unique times its also great to hear that our COVID protocals and safety mesures are noticed by our guests. We are looking forward to having you back for a future stay! Warm Regards
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$128 - $582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel sax chicago
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Sax Chicago
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisChicagoCentral / Near North Side
NUMBER OF ROOMS
354
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection?
Nearby attractions include Drunk Shakespeare (0.2 miles), Chicago River (0.1 miles), and American Writers Museum (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness center.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Purple Pig, Do-Rite Donuts & Chicken, and Roka Akor - Chicago.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Chicago.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Garfield Park Conservatory (4.6 miles), The Rookery Building (0.6 miles), and Macy's on State Street (0.3 miles).
Does Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.