We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Westin Chicago River North

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (629)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (488)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Earn points toward free nights.
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#71 of 207 hotels in Chicago
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.1
Travelers' Choice
The Westin Chicago River North is situated along the riverfront in the esteemed River North neighborhood. Our hotel is the perfect base for exploring Chicago, IL, with nearby attractions including the Millennium Park, The Chicago Theatre District and the vibrant Chicago Riverwalk. Relax in your choice of accommodations, from traditional rooms to luxury suites, all with views of the Chicago River or the downtown skyline. Amenities include a fitness center with fitness classes, a restaurant and bar with river views and flexible event space.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Patio
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Paid wifi
Personal trainer
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Executive lounge access
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
ATM on site
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.
2308Reviews31Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,272
  • 693
  • 194
  • 79
  • 70
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Jeff E wrote a review Jan 2024
Dallas, Texas2 contributions
The front desk receptionist Erika was amazing. Made me and my partner feel so welcomed coming to Chicago. I am so happy that she was the first person we met in Chicago having such a nice spirit with great energy. I would definitely come back. Thanks Erika.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Zoë Vasquez, Other at The Westin Chicago River North
Responded Jan 19, 2024
Dear E6272UHjeffe, We are thrilled to hear that Erika made your arrival so special! Providing a warm and welcoming atmosphere is a top priority for us, and it is rewarding to know that Erika's positive energy left a lasting impression on you and your partner. It would be our pleasure to host you again for another wholesome stay on the riverfront. Sincerely, The Westin Chicago River North
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Greg K wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
We had a "staycation" over New Years Eve at this property. The location and staff were great! They allowed us to have an early check-in and we had a nice partial river view upgrade. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The only issue we had was the temperature in our room. It would not go below 73 and it was hot. They took a look at the system, however they were unable to make it any cooler. A great property in the perfect location!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Zoë Vasquez, Other at The Westin Chicago River North
Responded Jan 16, 2024
Dear gregkS4295YG, Thank you for taking the time to rate & review us. It is very motivating to receive feedback such as this from our guests. It's the little things that make the biggest impact and we are glad that it made an impression on you. Wishing you a prosperous new year! Hope to see you back soon for another revitalizing staycation! Sincerely, The Westin Chicago River North
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Steve G wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
A clear case of racial discrimination in the Hotel restaurant on the morning of 12/10/23. I got to the 320 River Bar for breakfast. The hostess stand was busy seating other guess. I continue to wait for her to come back to the stand. Other guest came in and literally walked around me into the restaurant. The hostess then sits them 1st. There was an open seat at the bar and I asked her if I could sit there. She told me that it would be ok. I told her I would have the buffet and I would like a cup of coffee and a glass of water. I then served myself from the buffet bar and sat down. I didn't have any utensils so I had to get up and get a set from an empty table. I sit back down and start eating. After about 10 minutes I then got up and ask a waiter that was working the floor next to me for a glass of water and a cup of coffee. He then asked where I was sitting. I pointed to my seat which was literally 4 ft away. I continued to wait patiently. The waiter continued to wait on other people on the floor and never came over. Meanwhile other people came and sat at the bar on my left side. Finally the waiter that I assume was working the bar came and asked the people on the right of me if there was anything he could get for them. They said no and asked to close their tab. He the walked right by me and asked the people on the left of me if he could get them something. A lady then ordered a Tito's and tonic. He was about to walk pass me again and I stopped him and asked for a cup of coffee and a glass of water. He did not say anything. I assumed he was going to bring the coffee and water. He fixed the Tito's and tonic drink and walked back by me and gave it to the waiting customer and immediately asked 2 more people who just walked up if he could help them. After that I got up without finishing my breakfast and left the restaurant and asked to speak with the restaurant manager. Michael Carothers came out and I explained to him what happen. This staff needs a case of sensibility training.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: The restaurant staff needs sensibility training. The level of service is not the same for everyone.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily Cohen, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Chicago River North
Responded Dec 13, 2023
Dear A9198QBsteveg, Thank you for staying at The Westin Chicago River North and providing feedback about your recent stay. We understand that your stay was not as you hoped it would be, and it is disappointing to read your words about your experience. Please accept our sincere apology that we did not meet or exceed your expectations (or our own). Due to the nature of your comments, a member of Senior Management has tried to contact you to discuss your concerns privately. We hope that the next time you stay in Chicago you will consider giving us another chance to provide exceptional service. Thank You The Westin Chicago River North
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Global Elite Hotel Review - Loyalty wrote a review Dec 2023
New York City, New York10 contributions4 helpful votes
Heavenly Beds, Clean rooms, Great staff!! There is allot of Westin’s to choose from in Chicago. This one is good. The drinks were, Ok. Westin should do more for loyalty. They really don’t participate in Bonvoy. Don’t recognize loyalty very well.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Zoë Vasquez, Other at The Westin Chicago River North
Responded Dec 27, 2023
Dear ArielRaphaelStein, We know you have a choice when it comes to hotels, and we are humbled that you chose us. Your loyalty and feedback mean a lot to us as we continuously strive to enhance our guests' experiences. We have passed along your comment to our leadership team and hope you will allow us another chance to achieve a more meaningful visit the next time you are considering a Downtown Chicago vacation. Sincerely, The Westin Chicago River North
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
LoverOfFood987 wrote a review Dec 2023
9 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed at the Westin River North for a quick work trip. Location is great and has great views of the river. The concierge lounge leaves a lot to be desired. Minimal items offered. No mid-day snacks or the like. When something ran out, the lounge attendant said that the kitchen will not send anymore up. I'd probably stay at the Renaissance across the street instead of the Westin.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily Cohen, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Chicago River North
Responded Dec 2, 2023
Dear LoverOfFood987, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We apologize that our club lounge let you down. We have forwarded your comments to our leadership team. We do hope that you will give us another try when your travels bring you to the area. Thank you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mark S wrote a review Oct 2023
3 contributions
The “signature scent” was pumped in thick and unavoidable, leading to severe sinus and asthma reactions with acute bronchitis. I’m now back home (thank god) and missing work as a physician due to this issue. I am a titanium elite member, but will NEVER stay in a Westin Hotel again until they do away with this toxic policy.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Avoid this chain if fragrances cause you migraines, sinus problems, respiratory problems or rashes.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Zoë Vasquez, Other at The Westin Chicago River North
Responded Oct 24, 2023
Dear Mark S, We appreciate you taking the time to share your honest concerns from your most recent visit. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the shortcomings you experienced following your stay. The Westin signature White Tea scent is certified by the International Fragrance Association and is dispensed in subtle quantities in our more notable guest areas such as the lobby, meeting spaces, and fitness center; it is also the primary scent among our bath amenities. We are ongoingly committed to enhancing guest satisfaction and have relayed your comments with our team. We hope to rebuild your trust in our brand again one day. Sincerely, The Westin Chicago River North
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
GuyaneseMadness wrote a review Oct 2023
Scottsdale, Arizona710 contributions269 helpful votes
We checked in around 4pm, and although it was around the normal check in time, it was a speedy process and we were off to our room. Our room was on one of the lower floors with a city view. Although it was on a lower floor, we never had any issues with outdoor noise which was a relief being in the heart of the city. Our room was quite spacious and very clean. One side of the bed has an assortment of outlets, but the other side does not. We had one of the wellness rooms so ours had a Peloton bike, along with various lightweights and a yoga mat. I didn't make use of the bike, but it was a nice touch for this room category. The location of this hotel is incredible. It is in the heart of River North and walkable to many restaurants and bars. Because it's centrally located, it was always little to no wait for a ride share or taxi, as well. The hotel tends to host many different conferences and is quite buzzing at all hours. Overall, we had a great stay at the Westin River North and loved the location.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Zoë Vasquez, Other at The Westin Chicago River North
Responded Oct 26, 2023
Dear GuyaneseMadness, Thank you for this detailed review of your recent experience! We’re appreciative to hear that our central location, prompt service, and refreshing spaces led to a pleasant visit, as our team works hard to ensure our guests have relaxing getaways. It was a pleasure having you and we hope to welcome you again soon when you’re back in the area! Sincerely, The Westin Chicago River North
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
saritaT33 wrote a review Sep 2023
Chicago53 contributions40 helpful votes
Stayed in room 1004 for a romantic late-summer weekend in Chicago. This is exactly what you have in mind when you think about an up-scale business hotel. Big, clean rooms. Nicely updated and maintained bathroom. Nice, plush bedding and towels. A decent view (our room looked down at Harry Cary's). A fast elevator. And more than that: this hotel is located right in the middle of River North, which means you're an easy walk from the hustle and bustle of Clark Street, the new Bally's casino( lol), Eataly, and Michigan Avenue shopping. Even the lobby was nice.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
christymelot wrote a review Aug 2023
Shawnee, Oklahoma5 contributions
+1
Thus Westin is exceptional. Service was over the top and the location and facility couldn't be any better. Room was spacious and the views are spectacular. I'd highly recommend the river view room. It is worth it. The staff was welcoming and asked us many times if there was anything we needed even when we weren't seeking them out. The property is beautiful. Patio dining was so nice and right on the river. The location puts you near so many great food and activity options. Just can't get any better.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: This hotel is worth the cost. You will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dedicated Management, Owner at The Westin Chicago River North
Responded Aug 30, 2023
Dear Christy, Thank you for choosing the Westin Chicago River North for your recent escape to Chicago. We’re thrilled to hear about your amazing visit, and it’s wonderful to know that you appreciated every detail of your stay. We can't wait until your next visit to provide you with an even more memorable experience. Sincerely, The Westin Chicago River North
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lupa2010 wrote a review Jul 2023
30 contributions6 helpful votes
We stayed over NYE. We are from the UK. We had the best time! We had an amazing view of the river, would recommended a river view. Beds were comfortable and we slept like a dream. Starbucks coffee In the room. All staff were fabulous and the location is excellent. We will be rebooking this hotel when we come back to Chicago it’s fantastic!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Beds are a dream! Staff are excellent. 100% recommend
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dedicated Management, Owner at The Westin Chicago River North
Responded Aug 20, 2023
Dear Lupa2010, Thank you for this fantastic review! It’s great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, from our central location to our team’s genuine hospitality. We hope to welcome you back for another 5-star stay in the future. Sincerely, The Westin Chicago River North
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chicago area.
PRICE RANGE
$229 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the westin chicago river north hotel chicago, westin chicago river north, chicago westin
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisChicagoCentral / Near North Side
NUMBER OF ROOMS
445
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE WESTIN CHICAGO RIVER NORTH - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews (IL)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Westin Chicago River North
Which popular attractions are close to The Westin Chicago River North?
Nearby attractions include Medieval Torture Museum (0.2 miles), Chicago River (0.1 miles), and Blue Chicago (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Westin Chicago River North?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at The Westin Chicago River North?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Westin Chicago River North?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Westin Chicago River North?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Westin Chicago River North?
Conveniently located restaurants include Miss Ricky's, Doughnut Vault, and Bavette's Bar & Boeuf.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Westin Chicago River North?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is The Westin Chicago River North located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Chicago.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Westin Chicago River North?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Westin Chicago River North?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Westin Chicago River North offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.