The Drake
Traveler (1563)
Ceiling view in closet--needs repair
Room & Suite (662)
Restaurant
Dining (140)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#80 of 207 hotels in Chicago
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.3
Value
4.0
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Drake, a Hilton Hotel is a historic downtown Chicago hotel in the Gold Coast, and has been a symbol of elegance and style since its opening in 1920. Celebrities and guests from around the world stay at our hotel to experience our first class service and excellent Chicago hotel location where the Magnificent Mile begins. Chicago City Attractions include Navy Pier, Michigan Avenue, Magnificent Mile shopping and dining, Lake Michigan, Bloomingdale's, Oak Street Beach, Chicago Gold Coast, John Hancock Center, Water Tower Place, Lincoln Park Zoo, and North Avenue Beach. We offer stunning city and Lake Michigan views in the center of Chicago's famous shopping, nightlife, culture and local dining area. The Drake Dining Options include Café on Oak, serving breakfast daily, Coq d'Or Restaurant & Lounge, and Palm Court, where you can enjoy Afternoon Tea. Coq d'Or and Palm Court feature live entertainment on weekends.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Paid private parking nearby
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Iron
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Breakfast Included Offer

Location

140 East Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Midway Airport
10.3 mi
See all flights
O'Hare Intl Airport
15.6 mi
See all flights
Chicago
8 minChicago L
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles5,231 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Drake hotel garners accolades for its luxurious amenities, including well-appointed rooms boasting lake views and the much-favored high tea experience, all complemented by top-notch service that enhances special occasions. Its cleanliness is generally lauded, despite occasional housekeeping oversights. The hotel's historic elegance, underscored by live harp music and classic decor, contributes to a sophisticated atmosphere. While the rooms' spaciousness and comfort are recognized, some guests suggest updates and improved soundproofing. Situated in a prime spot near shopping and downtown attractions, The Drake's location is a highlight for visitors, although opinions on value vary, with some guests pointing out pricing and upgrade inconsistencies.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Elegant
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Lavish

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
5,231Reviews51Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,701
  • 1,368
  • 609
  • 346
  • 207
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
cesgoac wrote a review Jun 2022
Minneapolis, Minnesota5 contributions7 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff was extremely helpful and attentive to our needs. Communication was on point with daily messages letting us know water was available and little things and details that made the stay a great one. We want to acknowledge specially Dustin and Justin in the front desk for their great customer service skills and attitude toward us. I go to Chicago often and stay at different Hilton properties depending on my plans. I will know try and make a point to stay at the Drake to see Justin and Dustin
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
europeanhaunt wrote a review Jan 2020
united states153 contributions52 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had always heard about Holiday Tea at the Palm Court in the Drake Hotel so I decided to treat my daughter in law. I made reservations really early, like in September, for a December Saturday. The price goes up during the holidays but they have music. I think they always have a harpist and during the holidays they have carolers that go table to table taking requests for Christmas songs. We initially thought when the three tiered tray was put on the table that it wasn’t much food. There was a tier of scones, one for sandwiches and one for desserts. Looks are deceiving because once we started eating, we filled up fast. The food was really filling and we couldn’t even eat it all so we took it home. There is the option to order more food, but they charge you for it. There were so many hot teas to select from! They bring you a individual tea pots and there are actual tea leaves in the pot so you have to use a strainer over your cup to catch the tea leaves. The waiter was very attentive to keeping our pots full. It was leisurely and we were there about 1 1/2 hours. There is a lady who goes table to table taking pictures that you can purchase for $20 when you leave. The experience was everything we had hoped for. Will probably make it an annual event. It was beautifully decorated for the holidays to put you into a festive spirit.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SharonS5157, Manager at The Drake
Responded Jan 15, 2020
Dear europeanhaunt Thank you for your time to share your Holiday Tea experience. We are very happy to know you and your daughter in law had an amazing time with us. We hope to see you and you family this year. Thanks again
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
Frugal-in-Frisco wrote a review Jun 2021
Dallas, Texas25 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited Chicago for our daughter’s graduation from Northwestern, and were pleasantly surprised to discover The Drake on the list of options of Hilton properties near where we wanted to stay. This hotel has all the markings of a historic property that may prompt one to think, “If these walls could talk …”, somewhat reminiscent of the Waldorf in New York City and the many dignitaries and celebrities who have stayed there throughout the years. That said, not only did our room have a spectacular view of Lake Michigan, it was beautifully decorated and updated with all the modern amenities to be expected, but much more spacious than the rooms available in the hotels built during more recent decades. The bathroom was also roomy and updated, and (not that we needed it, but) when was the last time you had a walk-in closet at a hotel?!

The entire hotel staff was warm and accommodating, and the shops in the lobby were far beyond the typical “quick-stop” snacks and newspapers often available. In fact, we were able to place a last-minute order for roses to give our daughter on her graduation morning at the florist/gift shop on the ground floor. The arrangement was gorgeous and very reasonably priced … we could not have been happier!

Perhaps one of the features we enjoyed most about The Drake was its location near Chicago’s Gold Coast along Lake Michigan. The weather was beautiful during our stay, and we were able to make the walk for a couple of miles along the boardwalk up to Lincoln Park, where we enjoyed an outdoor farmers market, and then stumbled on an art fair. It all made for a lovely June morning away from much of the normal tourist attractions, but still able to feel the heart of the city.

The only caution I would offer is that if you are arriving at the hotel late, be sure to grab something to eat before you get there. The restaurants on site closed early, and there wasn’t a lot within walking distance that we felt comfortable going out for after dark. Other than that, we had a great experience, and would definitely stay here on a return visit to the Windy City.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
js12333 wrote a review Jul 2021
Chicago, Illinois10 contributions19 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Drake in early July to see family and friends. The location remains ideal in the heart of the Gold Coast and next to great shopping and dining. Unfortunately that is where the positives end.

Upon arrival in our room we found food and towels from a prior guest still in the sitting area and bathroom. We mentioned this to the front desk, who didn’t seem to care but said it would be taken care of upon our return to the room that night. After being gone all day and much of the evening we returned to find the room uncleaned and the items still present. After another complaint we were given a new room and one nights fees were removed from the bill. The new room was fine and, as were barely in it, more then acceptable for the duration of our stay.

There is no daily housekeeping currently (covid) but you can request it from the front desk the night prior and they will provide linens and towels service. The hotel in general has seen much better days. The carpeting is worn in both the rooms and common areas, paint is chipping everywhere, drawers are broken and a strong smell of smoke permeates much of the hotel. The hotel is in dire need of a refurbishment though whether Hilton wants to undertake that expense remains to be seen. In closing the location is great but this hotel is simply nowhere near the standard it used to be 15-20 years ago. While the hotel was never the four seasons in terms of quality it is barely a decent Hilton at this point.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: July 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
chicagotraveler1189 wrote a review Feb 2020
Chicago, Illinois30 contributions33 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed at the Drake for a wedding. Overall, I was very happy with the size and state of the room- plenty of space, comfy bed, updated bathroom.

There were two major drawbacks of this hotel. The first is that you can hear EVERYTHING happening in the room next to you- literally every single word spoken. Not sure if it was thin walls or bad insulation between doors that could be used for adjoining rooms. It wasn’t muffled noise, it was every single noise.

Secondly, we had major issues with charges. At checkout, it showed valet parking on the bill, which we did not use (it is $75, I would recommend using a parking app, we parked across the street for $30). The front desk easily cleared it up and removed it from our bill. However, we later got charged for the room, and then a separate charge to our credit card for valet parking. Having to call Hilton, be on hold, then have to wait for a call back a day later, and being told it will take 7-10 business days to refund us our money taken for something we never used, was rather irritating.

Beautiful hotel, lots of history, and updated nicely, but bring earplugs and be careful of unfounded charges.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SharonS5157, Manager at The Drake
Responded Feb 6, 2020
Dear chicagotraveler1189 Thank you for forwarding your comments and we appreciate your feedback. Our sincere apologies for the noise disturbance and billing concerns. We hope this will not deter you from returning to the hotel in the near future. Many Thanks Sharon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Diane G wrote a review Sep 2020
Temecula, California380 contributions75 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
First time in Chicago and was looking forward to staying at the Drake. Contactless entry is provided instead of going to the front desk and rooms are what would be expected of an iconic hotel/price range. As expected, services are almost non-existent during COVID and ordering and/or going out for a meal is to be expected. However, I would think at a minimum The Drake could provide for some time of coffee service and packaged foods at their street level restaurant. Instead, when you wake up and would like a cup of coffee to start your day you are directed to go outside, walk a block to the nearest Starbucks and get your coffee there. Nothing like waking up and having to walk outside early in the morning to get breakfast. If other food establishments are open and available for consumers, why couldn't an establishment like The Drake find a way to offer this most basic of services? Not impressed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sharon Smith, Guest Services / Front Office at The Drake
Responded Nov 26, 2020
Dear Diane G Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry you were unhappy with your recent stay regarding our lack of services. We hope this experience will not deter you from returning to our property when we are back in full swing. We do hope to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Thanks again Sharon Smith Drake Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rance C wrote a review Jan 2020
Oak Park, Illinois156 contributions80 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My review is about the Holiday (Christmas) Afternoon Tea. The room is beautiful, and the service exemplifies the tradition of the Drake Hotel. A well-known and time-honored institution in our city. Old World elegance. The tea itself if delightful with continually refreshed tea, biscuits, sandwiches, and all the trimmings. Two things were extremely disappointing. Our party of 12 purposely selected a tea with carolers. Unfortunately, the singers were rarely audible above the tea room noise, and they did not perform very long. My other complaint is the price which was just under $100/person. In my opinion, the cost is extremely overpriced; however, everyone can decide on their own.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John-HiltonHelp, on behalf of management at The Drake
Responded Jan 9, 2020
Dear RanceC_13, Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your honesty as we look for reviews to provide insight and constructive feedback regarding our hotel’s service and amenities to better our guest experience. We welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share. If you return to our area, we hope you’ll stay with us again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
salingerdavid wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Very disappointed in the service. We had maintenance issues that took two days to resolve and one issue, the AC was never resolved.

AC wasn’t working which cause the room to be extremely damp. Asked if housekeeping could come change sheets while we were out of the room and they left the sheets on the bed for us to change…never had to change my own sheets at a hotel!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: July 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rudolferik wrote a review Feb 2020
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania48 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at this property for two nights attending a formal ball held in one of their Ballrooms. The Hotel provides sophistication with a contemporary touch. Price was reasonable for a downtown Hotel with access to places like Bloomingdales, the Cheesecake Factory including the Disney Store. Lobby is impressive- with restaurant options being somewhat limited and pricey- Front desk staff need better training when it comes to what is involved when making breakfast arrangements- was told by the front desk that Breakfast would be $25 but yet was charged $36 by the restaurant. When brought to the attention of accounting staff they did credit me the extra charge.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake are on the average $40 a night more- if one wants to wake up to a...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SharonS5157, Manager at The Drake
Responded Feb 6, 2020
Dear rudolferik Thank you for taking the time to forward your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at The Drake Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback, and we are truly delighted to know you had a marvelous stay with us. We will address with our Front Desk team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Many Thanks Sharon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa D wrote a review Jan 2020
Delaware, Ohio4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our room was stuffy/hot and the air didn't work. They gave us a different room with a VIEW which was fabulous AND knocked off roughly $100 from the final bill. I didn't expect that at all. I was asking for service to be done but the attendant wanted to give us a room with a view which was much appreciated.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SharonS5157, Manager at The Drake
Responded Jan 14, 2020
Dear Lisa D Our apologies with our rooms but happy to hear we offered to assist further in order you could enjoy the remaining of your stay. We do look forward to welcoming you back in your next visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from caimi
Waterloo, Illinois213 contributions140 helpful votes
You should require it of yourself.
Brent K asked a question Aug 2021
Lincoln, Nebraska113 contributions29 helpful votes
Transportation to and from Midway?
Answer from sharrongeg
Henderson, Nevada3,474 contributions1,051 helpful vote
Best by Uber to Lyft. Maybe 20 minutes off peak.
Answer from Webster
Chicago, Illinois88 contributions17 helpful votes
In the Gold Coast Suite rooms, yes, they do. Separate temperature controls too!
Answer from Sharon S
Chicago, Illinois
Hello, Yes..Diamond members get complimentary breakfast in the Executive Lounge.
Kelly S asked a question Aug 2019
Michigan10 contributions
Anyone stayed on first floor? Can you see lake from there?
Answer from Rolf H
Berlin, Germany3 contributions
We were offerd a room with Lake view on the first floor at the northwestern corner (directly above Michigan Ave.). You have view on the lake but not really nice and it's as though traffic would flow right thru the room, incredibly noisy.
LON/NYC wrote a tip May 20
London, United Kingdom16 contributions10 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"I wouldn't stay here again but I would visit to see the lobby and eat at the Oak Bar."
Read full review
Roam54554282976 wrote a tip May 19
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Yes spend the money to upgrade your rooms. "
Read full review
Teresa P wrote a tip May 11
63 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"$30 a day extra for mini fridge-- even though there is cabinet for it. Love the bellmen everywhere!"
Read full review
AJ wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Definitely book a reservation for Tea Service ahead of time. "
Read full review
Mark Ratay wrote a tip Mar 2024
Milwaukee, Wisconsin17 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is expensive ($75 for valet; $50 for self service). Download the ParkChirp app to find your own nearby self-parking for $19 a night!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chicago area.
PRICE RANGE
$218 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the drake hotel chicago, hilton hotels chicago, chicago drake hotel, drake hotel chicago
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisChicagoCentral / Gold Coast / Near North Side / Magnificent Mile
NUMBER OF ROOMS
535
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE DRAKE - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about The Drake
Which popular attractions are close to The Drake?
Nearby attractions include Lookingglass Theatre Company (0.2 miles), American Girl Place Chicago (0.1 miles), and Fourth Presbyterian Church (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Drake?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at The Drake?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Drake?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Drake?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Drake?
Conveniently located restaurants include Francesca's On Chestnut, Wildberry Pancakes and Cafe, and Velvet Taco.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Drake?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Drake?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Drake?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Drake offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Drake?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All Chicago HotelsChicago Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ChicagoHotels near The Drake
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars