We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The St. Clair Hotel

Is this your business?
Save
Traveler (239)
Room & Suite (113)
Pool & Beach (2)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent10%
  • Very good28%
  • Average24%
  • Poor18%
  • Terrible20%
Dec 30, 2017
“Perfect! ”
Dec 20, 2017
“Excellent customer service”
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Parking
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed
Wheelchair access
Housekeeping
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,145)
Filter reviews
872 results
Traveler rating
101
214
198
159
200
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
101
214
198
159
200
See what travelers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 872 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2017 via mobile

I stayed in a room in this hotel with 3 friends before beginning a working visa in The USA. We thoroughly enjoyed it! The beds were very comfortable, the staff were very friendly. We were seconds away from magnificent mile.. lovely budget hotel especially for...More

1  Thank Keith2112
Reviewed December 20, 2017 via mobile

Everyone at this hotel was very nice and parking was not as expensive as I thought it would be. The only thing is that the rooms look like they haven’t been updated for a while. They were also kinda small. When we went their was...More

Thank travelergirl96
Reviewed May 25, 2017

Our room was dirty, so was the bathroom. I would highly recommend to pack some slippers if you plan to stay here. Also bring some ear plugs, it's a noisy place. The beds were clean. The elevator was very slow, shaky, and felt kind of...More

Thank Manuel V
Response from Bruce H, General Manager at The St. Clair HotelResponded May 26, 2017

Dear Manuel V, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry that you were less than completely satisfied with your stay and specifically the condition issues you mentioned. The hotel is temporarily closed and is undergoing a 360-degree, multi-million dollar renovation;...More

Reviewed February 14, 2017 via mobile

I've chosen to stay here on a few occasions due to the great price and location. After my last visit, I won't be giving another chance. First I had to have my room moved due to the bathroom smelling like sewerage. Every visit, the elevator...More

2  Thank Jessica W
Reviewed February 10, 2017

I have stayed here with my husband on many occasions over the last 10 years and this place is a great budget place to stay in downtown Chicago just steps away from the Magnificent Mile. You may want to bring your own towels and pillow...More

1  Thank Margaret A
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Chicago
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Internet
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Details
Price range
$162 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
$162 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (239)
Room & Suite (113)
Pool & Beach (2)
Dining (1)
Business Center & Event Rooms (1)
Nearby
Magnificent Mile
Over 400 stores pack the concrete along Michigan
Avenue, the eight-block stretch known as Magnificent
Mile. This area between Oak Avenue and the Chicago
River is more a shopping paradise than a full-out
neighborhood. For prime upscale shopping, this is the
place to go. It’s busy, energetic, and packed with
shoppers. You'll also find hundreds of restaurants and
dozens of hotels, all on the mid- to high-end scale.
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
MattG942
September 17, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Debby456 | Reviewed this property |
Tell your colleague to stay somewhere else. The hotel is very run down and not clean.
1
Vote
Laura I
January 23, 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Bruce H | Property representative |
RED ROOF INN CHICAGO DOWNTOWN VALET PARKING INFORMATION Our current valet parking rate is $48.00 per vehicle, per night of stay and includes in and out privileges. This rate is subject to change. The hotel does not offer... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Avoid elevators - ask for lower floors and hit the stairs..."
Read review
"Corner rooms overlooking the city intersection."
Read review
"Stay somewhere else. Nothing good about this hotel except location."
Read review
"Good location."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing