We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,918 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,710: English reviews
Start your review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
 Click to rate
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 135randyf
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We looked for a hotel within the Loop of Chicago. Or at least close to it and we found Travelodge Down Town at a reasonable price. The rooms are a bit worn down and the view is limited. But the facilities are okay and the restaurant for the breakfast is good. The best part of the hotel is however it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob K
Reviewed 1 week ago

I went to this place with my school and it was so gross and nasty. The shower was grimy. Our coffee pot was broke, the windows were screwed shut. It was dirty and looks nothing like any of the pictures that they show. It was truly the worst experience i have ever had in staying at a hotel. They say...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tyler M
TravelodgeChi, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your business and the reason our windows do not open is for safety and security purposes.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Arriving at this downtown Chicago hotel, I was initially pleased with its location. It was central to a variety of tourist attractions and plenty of restaurants. The staff at the front desk was friendly and accommodating, even allowing us to check in a few hours early. Unfortunately, it turned negative from here. The room was outdated, with some temporary "renovations"...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
TravelodgeChi, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago, responded to this review

Thank you for your time and input, I apologize for any problems you had. We truly appreciate your patronage.

Saginaw, Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are looking for a place to stay that is a reasonable price, this would be it. But you are paying for what you will get. The check in age on several websites states that you only have to be 18 which was incorrect - you have to be 21. Although everything was clean, the mattresses were very old...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank B5114BZrebeccam
TravelodgeChi, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your time and feedback. I did check and on our website it does not mention 18. I will call all the third parties we deal with and make sure they have the proper information on their websites. thank you.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Travelodge was ideal for our 4 days in Chicago. The deluxe double bedroom with a roll-away bed (+$10/night) accommodated our family of 2 adults and 3 school-aged kids nicely. As others have mentioned, the building is old, but the rooms and linens were extremely clean. Our room faced the alleyway so there wasn't a view, but it was quiet and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martie B
TravelodgeChi, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We try to be the best value downtown! I am so happy you enjoyed us! I hope we can serve you again in the near future.

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason F
TravelodgeChi, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago, responded to this review

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank shenese90
TravelodgeChi, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago, responded to this review

Sainte Genevieve, Missouri
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When I called to confirm my reservations, I spoke with a very professional young man named Watson, he was able to help me with all my requests. I was overall impressed with this Hotel. The hotel is defiantly older, but I went through my room and it passed inspection. I was very impressed with the all white new crisp linens...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bree A
TravelodgeChi, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. we will share your comments with Watson and the entire staff!I appreciate your kind words on our housekeeping staff as they do work very hard! I hope you can choose us again soon!

Valparaiso, Indiana
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our room was shoved off in the corner by the utility room. Air quality was so bad we had trouble sleeping. We could hear employees getting ice all night right next door. Would not reccomend at all.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank codyw385
TravelodgeChi, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. I am so sorry we could not exceed your expectations. I do show the staff upgraded you at check in time to one of our biggest room types. I am so sorry about the ice it was probably other guests getting ice as our staff uses another ice machine in their work space....

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

199 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (192)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Other (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#125 of 187 in Chicago
1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 187 in Chicago
1,878 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#96 of 187 in Chicago
4,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Downtown / The Loop

Neighborhood Profile
Downtown / The Loop
Often visitors' first stop in Chicago, The Loop is a good starting point to sample the city's energy and flavor. This central business district boasts Michelin-rated restaurants, upscale hotels, premier shopping, and enough arresting architecture to keep your camera busy for hours. You won’t find too many photo galleries of downtown Chicago without a shot of Millennium Park and Cloud Gate (“The Bean”), one of the most iconic landmarks in the city. A stunning skyline coupled with cultural attractions like the Art Institute of Chicago present a Downtown where work and play peacefully coexist.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Address: 65 E Harrison St, Wabash St & Harrison St, Chicago, IL 60605-1614
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Price Range: $103 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago 2*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Chicago Travelodge
Chicago Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Chicago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago staff and other travelers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Floor 5 is awful and has bad views”
 of 5 bubbles 621tylerm, 1 week ago | Read review
“Our room on 10th floor had room of alleyway, so we kept curtains closed.”
 of 5 bubbles 903martieb, 1 week ago | Read review
“12th floor away from elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles 100barryt, Dec 16, 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms that face a blind alley on the sides.”
 of 5 bubbles sraghavan, Dec 5, 2016 | Read review
“Try get a room at the back of the hotel and away from the train line.”
 of 5 bubbles Lau-wal, Nov 27, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question