We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Blackstone, Autograph Collection

Save
Share
636 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-1901
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
$399
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/30/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com$399
travelup.com$452
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1411)
Room & Suite (698)
Videos (7)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 06/29/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Updated 06/29/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#43 of 219 hotels in Chicago
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Welcome to The Blackstone Hotel - where epic history meets a clever, contemporary attitude. Updated with all the modern amenities and features of today, The Blackstone delivers a distinguished hospitality experience perfect for the discerning traveler. Our downtown Chicago hotel is blooming as a point of cultural and creative discovery on the Cultural Mile. We are proud to offer guests modern accommodations with views of Lake Michigan and Grant Park, acclaimed dining at Mercat a la Planxa, craft cocktails and entertainment at Timothy's Hutch, refined meeting spaces, and thoughtful details like our Chicago-inspired Fitness Center, expert Concierge service, and more.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Billiards
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Paid private parking nearby
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Refrigerator
On-demand movies
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
2802Reviews28Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,787
  • 719
  • 184
  • 70
  • 43
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
dmurf402018 wrote a review Oct 16
West Des Moines, Iowa3 contributions3 helpful votes
Recently we were in Chicago for the Van Gogh Immersive Experience and special occasion and stayed at The Blackstone. The front desk, bellhop, and doorman were extremely knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. We had a corner room on the 22nd floor with a beautiful view of the lake and park. The hotel is in a perfect location for some great restaurants - We ate at The Gage. When we headed for the airport they insisted on giving us Blackstone umbrellas since it was raining. We will treasure them as souvenirs reminding us of the best time in Chicago - thanks to the Blackstone.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Frank M wrote a review Oct 5
San Diego, California96 contributions53 helpful votes
First impressions matter unfortunately we found the front desk to be less than welcoming just downright unfriendly for such a prestigious property. The check-in processes was terrible, first there is no check-in parking, so you are rushed to unload luggage just like arriving at an airport terminal, then once the bags are unloaded there was no one to assist, so we had to drag our heavy luggage through a narrow door and up narrow stairs since the turnstile door wasn't large enough for luggage, then no luggage carts to use, the front desk told me to find a porter which we never saw. To avoid $65 parking, I had to walk a couple blocks to a sketchy parking lot worried the entire time of my car getting towed despite having a valid pass since Chicago towing companies have a reputation of towing off vehicles without cause 24 hours a day. Despite our check-in was delayed, they refused to allow a later check-out not even an extra 30 minutes. I found the hotel to have an elegant historical appeal except the hallways on all the floors appeared dark and uninviting. Just not the experience we had expected at the price paid.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Pierre-Louis Giacotto, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Responded 1 week ago
Mark, I am sorry we didn't fulfil your expectations fully. We do have bell staff to help our guests, it is possible that at the time of your arrival they might have been helping other guests. As for parking, we do recommend a safe, indoor garage to avoid exactly what you are describing. I am sorry we didn't meet all your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
njpone wrote a review Oct 3
Northville, Michigan63 contributions22 helpful votes
The parking situation is awful. If you have a car don’t come here. Got back to the hotel at midnight. Hotel has no parking or valet. Had to go to another hotel to park and walk back. Took 10-15 minutes with no directions on how to get back to the hotel. All for $65. I understand Chicago parking is expensive, but to have to park so far away and no valet service doesn’t seem appropriate for an autograph hotel. No conditioner in bath (2 shampoo). Room was tiny, view was awful. No room service. Would never stay here again with so many great options in Chicago.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Pierre-Louis Giacotto, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Responded 2 weeks ago
I am sorry to read about your apparent disappointment. The parking pricing is in line with all Chicago hotels and current parking prices and the location is the closest, safe covered garage in the area. While I wish we could offer valet, the current pandemic situation does not allow us to have it available and reliable, I am sorry. Wishing you a pleasant rest of your week.
Read more
Elaine D wrote a review Oct 2
San Francisco, California384 contributions172 helpful votes
I am a Marriott person and I especially like the Autograph Collections, but not this one. I arrived too early to check-in, went to grab lunch, and settled in to the lobby to wait and wait and wait. By 3 pm I heard the desk clerk start sending guests up to their rooms so I inquired about mine. (I had been waiting since around 11). "Oh, a room JUST became available for you". How convenient! I wonder how much long I would have waited if I hadn't asked. Then, once in the room, not a single drawer to be had. Not in the bedside tables, in the closet, nowhere. So we lived out of our suitcases for 5 days! Also, the room safe was placed at the top of the closet, at least 6' up so my 5' frame was unable to reach it. The lobby is nicely redone and the location is fine but I would NOT return to this hotel, when there are so many other choices in Chicago. Marriot should know better than to design rooms like this.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Pierre-Louis Giacotto, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Responded 2 weeks ago
Elaine, I am sorry to read about your experience and I can assure you we try to get people their room as soon as we can. As for the coincidence of the timing, I know that many times, the ability for us to check you in depends on the type of room you have booked. At times certain room types are not available until later, while other room types are available right away. If you would let us know what room number you are referring to, it would be helpful for us to verify that particular room, since most our rooms have drawers. Wishing you a nice rest of the week.
Read more
Cindy S wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
If I could give more stars, I would. The staff here was amazing. The rooms are gorgeous and clean. I had THE most amazing stay. I cannot sing the praises of the hotel staff enough, especially DJ. Parking in Chicago is notoriously expensive so purchase the park and stay package if you can. Parking is in the Hilton garage across the street and, without the package, is $65 per day. However, the location of this place is well worth it. I will definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Pierre-Louis Giacotto, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Responded 2 weeks ago
Cindy, so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I trust we will welcome you back very soon. Have a wonderful Fall season ahead.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$201 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
renaissance hotel chicago, renaissance hotel blackstone, renaissance chicago, chicago renaissance
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisChicagoCentral / Downtown / The Loop
NUMBER OF ROOMS
335
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Which popular attractions are close to The Blackstone, Autograph Collection?
Nearby attractions include Fox in a Box Chicago (0.3 miles), Ragnarok Axe Throwing (0.2 miles), and Room Escape Adventures (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Blackstone, Autograph Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafecito, Lou Malnati’s Pizzeria, and Buddy Guy's Legends.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is The Blackstone, Autograph Collection located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Chicago.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Blackstone, Autograph Collection offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.