We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Freehand Chicago

Save
Share
19 E Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60611-2707
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
$74
View Deal
Snaptravel
travelup.com
Official Site
View all 17 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (344)
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (313)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 08/21/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Freehand Chicago
Updated 08/21/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#11 of 130 Specialty lodging in Chicago
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Freehand Chicago, located just 2 blocks from Michigan Avenue in the heart of River North, offers comfortable accommodations and great dining all in a building featuring the designs of renowned firm Roman & Williams. Our hotel features queen and king bedded rooms as well as rooms featuring 2 sets of bunk beds (4 twin beds in total), and two Penthouse Suites in a historic building. We have a coffee shop, Café Integral, as well as an award-winning cocktail bar, Broken Shaker.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Wifi
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English
745Reviews27Q+A94Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 298
  • 236
  • 107
  • 47
  • 57
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
valentinamccachren wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
It could be a great hotel but it just felt very tired. The penthouse was not worth the money. Sheets pilled, fridge not cleaned fully, just generally felt like it hadn't been cleaned fully. We liked the bunk beds to stay with kids but probably woudn't stay there again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jenna Ubrig, Other at Freehand Chicago
Responded Dec 8, 2020
We apologize for your previous expreience with us and thank you for taking the time to express your feedback with us Valentina! We will most certainly pass this information on to our staff to be reviewed and improved.
Read more
juliachicago27 wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
When I got there the TV remote was missing, the heater barely worked, the window was stuck shut, and the telephone did not work to reach the front desk or housekeeping! I think they need to do a much more thorough inspection before just handing out rooms. I had to go BACK downstairs late just to address issue after issue, which was very inconvenient.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jenna Ubrig, Other at Freehand Chicago
Responded Dec 8, 2020
This isn't the type of experience we'd like our guest to have so we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. This has been passed on to the proper staff members to be reviewed. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us Julia!
Read more
NatashaPDX wrote a review Dec 2020
Portland, Oregon2 contributions
My friends and I were supposed to stay in the Freehand May of '20, but as we all know Covid...had to cancel our plans. The hotel would not refund us our money. I had a good experience at their LA location a few years ago and that is why I thought to stay there in Chicago, but their Customer service is atrocious and I will never recommend anyone to stay there. Shame on them!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Jenna Ubrig, Other at Freehand Chicago
Responded Dec 7, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to express your experience with us. We apologize for expectations not being met in the manner you would have liked but unfortunately, there is a company-wide policy that we have to abide by. Refunds were not offered at this time but I see that we did offer you the option to visit the hotel at a later time. We apologize if there was any sort of miscommunication regarding these options. Please feel free to reach out to us if you have any further questions. There is someone here 24hrs. We appreciate your feedback.
Read more
bigyanbhattachan wrote a review Nov 2020
Coralville, Iowa1 contribution
We loved staying at Freehand Chicago Hotel,This hotel is located in a perfect place for us to travel for food or walk to parks, we definitely recommend staying there and we plan on coming back in the future as well! Thank you for our amazing stay!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jenna Ubrig, Other at Freehand Chicago
Responded Nov 30, 2020
Thank you for your feedback and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay! Please come back next year when our cafe and bar will reopen!
Read more
Scenic59065035828 wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
The place is really nice, one of the best thing that i really like were the beds, they are so so comfortable, the staff were really nice. I would definitely return without a second thought. The location are amazing. We have everything really close.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jenna Ubrig, Other at Freehand Chicago
Responded Nov 19, 2020
Thank you for staying with us at Freehand Chicago! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Please come back next year when we reopen our Bar and Cafe! You will love it.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$76 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisChicagoCentral / Near North Side
NUMBER OF ROOMS
217
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Freehand Chicago
Which popular attractions are close to Freehand Chicago?
Nearby attractions include The Magnificent Mile (0.2 miles), The Escape Game Chicago (0.09 miles), and Adagio Teas (0.06 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Freehand Chicago?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and laundry service.
What food & drink options are available at Freehand Chicago?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Freehand Chicago?
Conveniently located restaurants include Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab, Steak 48, and The Capital Grille.
Is Freehand Chicago located near the city center?
Yes, it is 1.0 miles away from the center of Chicago.
Are any cleaning services offered at Freehand Chicago?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Freehand Chicago?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Garfield Park Conservatory (4.7 miles), The Rookery Building (0.9 miles), and Macy's on State Street (0.6 miles).
Is Freehand Chicago accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.