We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

House 5863 Bed & Breakfast

06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
House 5863 Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 46: English reviews
Start your review of House 5863 Bed & Breakfast
 Click to rate
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Be careful with this place, owner cancelled last second on us 2 hours before check in and re rented at a higher rate. I called and asked why this Happened and he was rude and combative on the phone. I would not recommend anyplace run by a person with this attitude

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
House5863, Owner at House 5863 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Unfortunately you made a reservation request and your credit card was declined. We sent a cancellation of your reservation in advance. When you book from 3rd party websites, they usually send out confirmation. We do not hold rooms. We had another guest looking to book the same room. I would suggest in the future to check your emails, make sure...

Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I loved this place! It was very convenient for my needs in Edgewater, and I appreciated the straightforward, no clutter, no talk style. It had everything I needed, including a convenient kitchen, and was simple, streamlined, and comfortable. Minor glitches with the email communication we're easily resolved. I plan to stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
House5863, Owner at House 5863 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. Please stay with us again!!!

Marquette, Michigan
Reviewed April 5, 2017 via mobile

We stayed for only one night, but the entire B&B is absolutely beautiful, well cared for and very clean. Our hosts communicated well, provided easy instructions for our stay while welcoming us into their intimate neighborhood. The full accommodations (fully stocked kitchen, private steam room shower, beautifully decorated rooms and common area, amazing balcony) are definitely going to be hard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank btaylor21
House5863, Owner at House 5863 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you.. Please stay with us again!!!

Madison, WI
Reviewed December 5, 2016

We booked a room directly via the owners, and received a confirmation email with codes for entering the building and the room reserved for us. All worked for our entry, but on entering the room, we found it occupied. The owner, when notified by phone, explained that a guest chose to stay an extra night without notifying the owner, thus...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JSherpz
House5863, Owner at House 5863 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

It's unfortunate that you had a bad experience but we tried to call the prior guest multiple times. They had over stayed their stay. We asked that they leave after we found you other accommodations.

Houston, Texas
Reviewed July 27, 2016

Despite what I had read in the reviews here on TripAdvisor, I really didn't quite know what to expect. I’ve never stayed at a bed and breakfast before, so all of my preconceptions were from movies and TV sitcoms (old Victorian homes with doilies on the furniture, and meals around a large table talking to strangers – think Bill Murray...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jdbhouston
House5863, Owner at House 5863 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you.. Please stay with us again!!! We try to keep everything clean including the kitchen area but some guest are messy and it's hard to be behind guest that are messy.. We usually check in the evening and check at 10pm to make sure common areas are clean.

Reviewed June 14, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife while visiting my buddy from the Marine Corps. Not really sure what to make of this place. Positive aspects include, a very large selection for breakfast available all day and night in an ultra modern kitchen stocked with delicious food. The place is very well decorated and very modern. There are cameras in the common...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheRealJ0E
House5863, Owner at House 5863 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you.. Please stay with us again!!! Not all bed and breakfast are meet and greets from owners especially these days. We like our guest to have privacy. We are usually at the property on a daily basis since we live on the property.

Reviewed May 18, 2016

I really enjoyed my stay at this B and B. It was immaculate. Upon entering the house, you could tell time and attention was dedicated in designing the space. The hosts were friendly, personable, and extremely helpful as this was my first time in Chicago. It was ralso really nice to have snacks available 24/7. Four stars instead of five...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ladyj373
House5863, Owner at House 5863 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you.. Please stay with us again!!! Unfortunately rates are set a year in advance and if you are booking for weekends, those rates are usually higher.

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed April 18, 2016 via mobile

We were looking for a place to stay close to Loyola. This place had good reviews at a decent price so we thought we'd give it a try. The rooms are cosy and have been updated. There is a courtyard in the back that would be really nice in the summer. We sat out there in the afternoon when it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank piontek96
House5863, Owner at House 5863 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you.. Please stay with us again!!! We have upgraded all our sheets and comforters. We also discard sheets and comforters on a regular basis.

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed March 1, 2016

The best part about the place is the fully stocked kitchen. We stayed in room 2 which has a separate bathroom, the only reason I didn't give a 5 rating was because our shower was cold both days which didn't make sense since the sinks got very hot. The room was nice, a little warmer than I would prefer, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mdixon316
House5863, Owner at House 5863 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you.. Please stay with us again!!! We have upgraded our plumbing.

waltham
Reviewed December 16, 2015

I really enjoyed staying at House 5863. The room was comfortable and very clean. There is a common kitchen open round the clock -- a never-ending supply of Fig Newtons! Also a very pleasant common room in which to read, etc. I can't wait to stay there in the summer -- there is a deck and a patio. One thing...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cassie e
House5863, Owner at House 5863 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you.. Please stay with us again!!!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

204 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (202)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (128)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (5)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Rogers Park
Hampton Inn Chicago North - Loyola Station
The Guesthouse Hotel
#1 of 188 in Chicago
314 reviews
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#52 of 188 in Chicago
745 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#70 of 188 in Chicago
848 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
House 5863 is not your typical B&B. We are different. Here you will find no Victorian decor or rockers on a scenic porch. Rather, we are an urban, hip place to stay in the heart of Chicago's north side. Our style is contemporary comfort. Our rooms are clean, cool and most of all restive Our approach is more hands off than hands on. We focus on providing for all of your needs behind the scenes without disrupting your stay. Common areas are designed for casual living. The fully-equipped kitchen offers continental style breakfast with all the basics to allow you to serve yourself on your own schedule and at your own pace. Our garden and deck areas offer a quiet respite for relaxed joy. We offer five private guest rooms, each with its own private bath. Each room features a king-sized bed. All rooms are equipped with a flat panel television and free cable television and high-speed wireless internet access.All rooms sleep two guests. Room number 4 can accommodate an additional guest on a pull-out sofa for an additional guest charge. If you are traveling with children under the age of 7, please contact us before booking your reservation. All rooms and all private areas are non-smoking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about House 5863 Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5863 N Glenwood Ave, Chicago, IL 60660-3449
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Price Range: $126 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — House 5863 Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your House 5863 Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from House 5863 Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask if room is absolutely guaranteed available”
JSherpz, Dec 5, 2016 | Read review
“All guest rooms are on the 2nd floor, but there's no elevator; so when you're packing, remember you'll need to schlep your luggage upstairs.”
jdbhouston, Jul 27, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms toward the back (but not right on the garden) are quieter. If you like it cold when you sleep, don't go during hot Chicago summer.”
Sherylcatmom, Sep 24, 2015 | Read review
“Being a B&B, there are not many rooms - but I think they are all very comfortable, from what I could tell. We chose a room away from the street, although the street is quiet, so that would probably not be a problem. Beautiful modern shower, king size bed, free wi-fi (pretty much standard these days), flatscreen tv (which we did not watch). Very clean.”
Agnetalouise, Sep 4, 2014 | Read review
“If you must stay here, avoid Room 2.”
HilaryJ04, Jun 23, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Check these sites for availability
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Hotwire.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates