We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
21 East Bellevue Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1114
5 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$309
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/20/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$309
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/20/22
Hotels.com
$309
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/20/22
Travelocity$309
Traveluro$354
Priceline$309
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (704)
Room & Suite (500)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 06/27/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Thompson Chicago
Updated 06/27/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#63 of 217 hotels in Chicago
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.7
Value
4.5
Travelers' Choice
Imagine your own luxe studio in the skies overlooking the hip Gold Coast neighborhood's leafy streets, with sweeping views of the Chicago skyline and Lake Michigan daring you to look away. Parking available for additional fee per night.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Evening entertainment
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Safe
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Lithuanian
Hotel links
Special Offer:Member Rate
3188Reviews54Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,479
  • 496
  • 114
  • 52
  • 48
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
rickterp92 wrote a review Yesterday
Eldersburg, Maryland1 contribution
The Thompson is a very nice hotel in a great location. I will stay here again the next time I visit Chicago. It is very convenient to shopping, dining and the beaches. Easy walking distance to the Magnificent Mile. 10 out of 10!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
victorgiansante wrote a review Jun 2022
Ribeirao Preto, SP6 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Thompson has the best location in Chicago, right in the heart of Gold Coast where the best restaurants, stores and rooftops are. Also really close to Michigan Av. Book a room with a lake view and high floor.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Darius Cristwell, Guest Services / Front Office at Thompson Chicago
Responded Jun 24, 2022
Victorgiansante, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We were delighted to read your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. It definitely put a smile on our face to read that you enjoyed our location and the surrounding area. Thank you so much for your feedback and we trust that we will see you again in the future. Best Regards
Read more
Daphne Donaghey wrote a review Aug 7
New York City, New York2 contributions
I have stayed at the Thompson multiple times in the past and it's always been a good experience, but this time it seemed weirdly run down. The wallpaper on the 14th floor hallway was peeling. There was a weird stain on a pillow in our room. The shower glass was unclean. They were out of slippers. Things seemed like they were falling apart? Not sure what is happening here but hopefully they will get it together better.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
2808 Heavy wrote a review Aug 2
26 contributions6 helpful votes
If you're looking for a relaxing time in Chicago with plenty of activities, shopping, dining, and want to leave the car behind, look no further than the Thompson. Very close to just about anything you'd want to do and you'll have no problem finding something to quench your thirst or appeal to your appetite. The hotel is well appointed and located in the heart of just about anything you'd want to do. My wife and I had a vehicle but didn't move it during our entire visit. The hotel was within walking distance of Oak Street Beach, and as I mention, no matter where you turn there's places to shop, dine, and have a drink. The hotel is very clean, staff is extremely warm, friendly, and personable. If you're a World of Hyatt member you can definitely trust that the Thompson and their staff will deliver on elite benefits. This will definitely be the place where my wife and I stay again when our travels bring up to the Chicago area.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Hyemi H wrote a review Aug 2
Pasadena, California9 contributions
This hotel did not have any HOT WATER for my entire stay during Lollapalooza festival I attended. I could literally hear people scream from other rooms taking a ICE COLD shower that no one planned to. Hotel was very irresponsible on this major issue. When I called the front desk, staff was very rude and unprofessional and telling me there's no ETA for getting the hot water back as if he's telling me not to expect to take a hot shower. RIDICULOUS The only good thing about this hotel was the location and the housekeeping staff who was the only person that was professional.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: July 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
jonjarow wrote a review Aug 2
1 contribution
Best of Chicago - don’t miss this hotel and the Thompson brand throughout the US. The location can’t be beat, the team at the hotel is always there for you. Rooms are renovated and spacious, best value in Chicago.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
colstonbrienne wrote a review Aug 1
1 contribution
This hotel provides an unmatched experience. The rooms are sparkling clean, and the decor is modern. The front desk attendant upgraded us after hearing about my partners father’s recent passing. So sweet!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Darius Cristwell, Owner at Thompson Chicago
Responded 1 week ago
colstonbrienne, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate your feedback as it helps with our continued strive for excellence simply because our guest deserve the best. We were happy to read your review and are glad you got to experience one of our suites during your stay. Once again thank you for staying with us and we trust we will see you again in the future. Kind Regards,
Read more
Renee D wrote a review Jul 2022
Oshkosh, Wisconsin28 contributions25 helpful votes
Staff and location are very good. Our room was across from a service elevator that was very loud, did not appreciate being woken at 7:00 AM. Towels, paper thin and very small. Coffee machine in room, but NO cups and you need to ask for ice at the front desk. Only one bathrobe in the room for 2 guests! Check your bill, we were charged $138.00 for lunch, we never had lunch or breakfast at the hotel. One elevator is broken, so long wait to arrive at your room.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Darius Cristwell, Owner at Thompson Chicago
Responded 1 week ago
Renee D, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to fill out a review on TripAdvisor. While we were happy to read you enjoyed our location and that our staff was helpful, there are things we still need to improve on. We appreciate your feedback as it helps with our continued strive for excellence simply because our guest deserve the best. We will make it a priority to fix the issues you experienced. We would also like to review your bill from your most recent stay however we need some additional information. Please contact the hotel directly and speak to a member of our management team so we can investigate the lunch charge mentioned. Once again thank you for staying with us and we hope to hear from you soon. Kind Regards,
Read more
Suburbanite wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Rooms are a generous size and updated. Customer service in all areas was excellent! At arrival we were greeted by Murphy with a glass of Prosecco; which started our stay out just perfectly! And although one of the elevators wasn't in service throughout our stay with a little patience it really wasn't much of an inconvenience. We will definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: High Floor Lake View - Amazing!!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Darius Cristwell, Owner at Thompson Chicago
Responded 1 week ago
Suburbanite2, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to read your review as it definitely put a smile on our face. We were happy to read you enjoyed our rooms and our staff was friendly. We take pride in guest satisfaction so I will pass this along to Murphy as well. We appreciate your feedback and for staying with us. We trust we will see you in the future. Kind Regards,
Read more
rickik wrote a review Jul 2022
new york48 contributions
1 elevator out of 2 was broken when I checked out. Had to walk down 19 flights after 20 minutes so i didnt miss my flight. I have stitches in my knee and 3 suitcases. No one cared. Sent an email. No one cared
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Darius Cristwell, Owner at Thompson Chicago
Responded 1 week ago
rickik, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback and apologize for the inconveniences that took place during your stay. We would love to learn more about your experience with us as it is never our intentions to make any guest feel this way. It is definitely a priority to fix our elevator but due to unforeseen circumstances it is taking much longer than expected. Feel free to contact the hotel directly and ask for the manager on duty to discuss your most recent stay. Until then thank you once again for staying with us and we hope we get a chance to make it right in the future. Kind Regards
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$293 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisChicagoCentral / Gold Coast / Near North Side
NUMBER OF ROOMS
247
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Thompson Chicago
Which popular attractions are close to Thompson Chicago?
Nearby attractions include Fourth Presbyterian Church (0.2 miles), 360 Chicago Observation Deck (0.3 miles), and Oak Street Beach (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Thompson Chicago?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at Thompson Chicago?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Thompson Chicago?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Thompson Chicago?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Thompson Chicago?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gibsons Bar & Steakhouse, Velvet Taco, and Hugo's Frog Bar & Fish House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Thompson Chicago?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Thompson Chicago?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Thompson Chicago?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Thompson Chicago offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Thompson Chicago?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Lithuanian.