Wrigley Hostel

Wrigley Hostel

Traveler (95)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Get rewarded with One Key
$282
$281
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#3 of 8 hostels in Chicago
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.3
Value
4.5
Wrigley Hostel is a fun and exciting hostel located in the heart of Wrigleyville, steps from the world famous Wrigley Field and only 15 minutes from downtown via the CTA Red Line. We offer Private Rooms, 4 and 8-10 bed dorms to guests and offer great amenities such as an outdoor deck to BBQ, a common room and a full kitchen. Come and visit us at Wrigley Hostel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary tea
Game room
Billiards
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Laundry service
Street parking
Wifi
Vending machine
Darts
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
First aid kit
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Coffee / tea maker
Oven
Stovetop
Cable / satellite TV
On-demand movies
Hair dryer
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
1.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

3514 N Sheffield Ave, Chicago, IL 60657-0948
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 97 out of 100
97
Midway Airport
12.1 mi
See all flights
O'Hare Intl Airport
13.2 mi
See all flights
Addison
2 minChicago L
261Reviews9Q+A43Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 135
  • 65
  • 30
  • 14
  • 17
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
troyharris wrote a review Jul 2021
Rumney, New Hampshire5 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a great place to stay, only two blocks from Wrigley and Addison CTA stop. They were very accommodating and were going to let me come early for an unexpected online meeting I had. The bed was comfy and there are ample bathrooms and showers, although a good portion of my shower was cold because it took several minutes to get hot water. The listing and reception board said pancake, fruit, and coffee breakfast included at 7 AM. I left at 740 and no breakfast and nobody was there to ask about it, which was pretty disappointing considering that I am on a very tight budget. I would definitely stay again, though.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wrigley Hostel, Owner at Wrigley Hostel
Responded Aug 2, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am so happy to hear that staff was able to help you out and the hostel was comfortable for you. Unfortunately breakfast was cancelled due to Covid restrictions, the hostel is still working on getting all our old operations back up to normal. Currently we only host breakfast on Sunday Mornings as a special treat. It is stated on our website, booking websites, and in your welcome email that breakfast is not provided at this time. Thank you and we hope to see you soon again :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jill M wrote a review Aug 2022
10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
First time using a Hostel experience while traveling. It is prime walking distance for anyone (or a small group of adults) to go to the Wrigley Baseball game, bars, and/or bowling. It is also easy access from the Red Line. There is a supermarket a few blocks away too. It was nice mingling with the other visitors, playing pool, scrabble, and watching TV. There are plenty of bathrooms and very clean!!! Guests were very respectful when it was time to go to bed (no one talking or watching vids on their phone etc). There is a porch with plenty of seating and beautiful flowers. Nicely decorated throughout. Rooms were air conditioned which made sleeping comfortable. Kitchen was clean, fully loaded with place settings, cookware, and seasonings to help cook. Can't beat the price!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Josh L wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The wrigley hostel is a wonderful place to stay. Ida and the rest of the staff are very knowledgeable, professional, personable, and helpful. It's close to everything you could want to do in Chicago and it provides discounts to most of the sites and sounds of the city. And you can't beat the prices!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ida-wrigleyhostel, Manager at Wrigley Hostel
Responded Jan 21, 2020
Thank you so much for the great review. We work very hard to make sure all our guests have the best experience at our hostel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff and were able to take advantage of some of our great discounts :) We hope to see you back in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BadBoyBill wrote a review Jan 2024
San Diego, California18 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was really impressed with my stay at the Wrigley Hostel. Not only was it in a prime location within walking distance of the Red Line transit, but also Wrigley stadium and other attractions as well as excellent dining and shopping options, bars…

The hostel was exceptionally comfortable with a friendly and welcoming staff. They have a full kitchen to prepare meals… I stayed in an 8 person bunk room and everyone was nice and sociable. They have oversized lockers for you to use (bring a lock or buy one there).

The only complaint I would have is that it was they do not have male only rooms. Not a huge deal, but I would have preferred this.

I highly recommend The Wrigley Hostel and will stay there again if my plans warrant it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Take advantage of their kitchen and save a bit of money. They have a nice setup and you can store...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shawn B wrote a review Sep 2022
Chicago, Illinois3 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place the Wrigley hostal in Chicago Illinois is bad and not in a good way. This place is disgusting and filthy, rats out back running across your feet one jumped on a guest shoulder. Dirty rooms,Takes 30 minutes for hot water,expired food in the fridge. Trash left over night in the kitchen,stove nasty. Dust in the rooms, old clothes left behind your valuables locked in a closet in the kitchen . lounge area smells of mold and wet clothes. No wash cloth,bring your own. No contact with staff after midnight. It felt more like a abandoned building then a hostal . It's like a homeless as shelter that you pay for . They have stove's on every floor but only one works that's the main kitchen and it was never cleaned. Just imagine you sleeping in a room with dirty clothes,the smell in there I used a whole can of ax to be able to breathe at night. Wifi is crap,you can't open a window and they have signs telling you that the window doesn't work,the place needs a remodel . there's no security .you are better off sleeping on a train. My advice find a different place to stay
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bien A wrote a review Jan 2020
10 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
awesome! first time stayed here last weekend 1/23-26/2020. front desk people were attentive and value you as guests. bed was comfy and not noisy at all. I was on room 8, 8 bunk beds. will recommend and stay here again. I was here winter and looking forward to stay on summer time.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ida-wrigleyhostel, General Manager at Wrigley Hostel
Responded Jan 29, 2020
Thank you for the great review. We really appreciate it :) We are so happy to hear that our staff was able to make you feel at home and our room was comfortable. We hope to see you back in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen B wrote a review Jul 2023
Huntsville, United States29 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hostel was clean and the staff we met friendly.... Lauren and Elliot. The location was GREAT!! The bathrooms were private and the night we stayed it was very quiet and we slept really well. It was a really good place to stay for the one night we were in town.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wrigley Hostel, Owner at Wrigley Hostel
Responded Dec 9, 2023
Thank you for the great review! We hope to see you soon again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrea B wrote a review Oct 2021
Cincinnati, Ohio3 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in a 4 person dorm with my brother + 2 other males. Room was clean, fairly quiet, other guests were nice. Hostel is conveniently located: very close to the L train (within 2 blocks) and restaurants. Wrigleyville is a great area that's within 25min train ride to downtown. Front desk clerk was very nice. No breakfast at this time due to COVID, coffee and tea available in the morning. Free parking, parked a few blocks down in nice residential area. Really can't beat it for the price and parking.
Would definitely stay here again, but would probably stay in a female only dorm (just personal preference).
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wrigley Hostel, Owner at Wrigley Hostel
Responded Nov 24, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review! We are so happy to hear that you loved our awesome Wrigleyville location, and that our staff treated you very well. We hope to see you soon again :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
al1 wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was really easy to arrive on CTA (local transit) from the airport. The CTA is close to the hostel, 0.5 block walk at most. Easy and convenient to get downtown or other sites to see.

The hostel itself is homely, friendly, and very well kept. Hopefully I get to stay again, soon!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wrigley Hostel, Owner at Wrigley Hostel
Responded Nov 24, 2021
Thank you for the wonderful review Alan! We are so happy that you love our location and feel at home during your stay. We love hosting you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kim K wrote a review May 22
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
DO NOT GO HERE. This place was so below standard that I had to sleep in my car. I asked for a refund because I didn't even stay there and management refused to refund me. The restroom had urine on the floor. There was no place to put toiletries or a towel in the bathroom, so everyone is forced to place their things on the toilet lid, which is far from the shower. One would have to walk on the urine to get the towel. The room was very crowded and had no ventilation. It reeked of body odor and bad breath. There were homeless people nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Crowded rooms with no ventilation and people are forced to walk on urine in the bathroom if they...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from enrique C
31 contributions4 helpful votes
Hi! For me was really safe, the street from the subway to the hostel is full of bars for the baseball stadium, and the neighborhood is really quite, I think it's gonna be 100% sure for you, I hope My answer could help you and have a great holly days!!
Answer from Kandi H
Ungasan, Indonesia5 contributions3 helpful votes
You can reserve a pass for any date you want, or the whole time, still street parking, but pass gets you free parking. You just need to email before you get there with the dayes you need parking.
Answer from Wayne R
hi im taking the Amtrak train I want to know how do you know what train to get on and off please let me know thank you
Answer from Ida N
Chicago, Illinois1 contribution
Hi there, We have guests of all ages staying all the time. You will feel right at home with us :)
Kim K wrote a tip May 22
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Crowded rooms with no ventilation and people are forced to walk on urine in the bathroom if they want to take a shower."
Read full review
BadBoyBill wrote a tip Jan 2024
San Diego, California18 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take advantage of their kitchen and save a bit of money. They have a nice setup and you can store your groceries…"
Read full review
Liz C wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to arrive mid day so you can unpack before everyone goes to sleep. "
Read full review
Brian D wrote a tip Jul 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay here if you're going to a Cubs game. "
Read full review
mark w wrote a tip Jul 2023
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring an eye mask, the rooms can be a little light if your near the rear"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chicago area.
PRICE RANGE
$174 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Chicago's Hostel
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisChicagoWrigleyville / North Side / Lake View
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WRIGLEY HOSTEL - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Wrigley Hostel
Which popular attractions are close to Wrigley Hostel?
Nearby attractions include Wrigley Field (0.2 miles), Trickery (0.3 miles), and Wrigley View Rooftop (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Wrigley Hostel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, laundry service, and baggage storage.
Which room amenities are available at Wrigley Hostel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, an additional bathroom, and an oven.
What food & drink options are available at Wrigley Hostel?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Wrigley Hostel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Wrigley Hostel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mia Francesca, Murphy's Bleachers, and Lucky's Sandwich Company.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Wrigley Hostel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Wrigley Hostel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Rookery Building (4.8 miles), Holy Trinity Orthodox Cathedral (3.3 miles), and Macy's on State Street (4.5 miles).
All Chicago HotelsChicago Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ChicagoHotels near Wrigley Hostel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars