We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
644 N Lake Shore Dr, Chicago, IL 60611-3017
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Booking.com
$237
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$237
View deal
FindHotel
$182
View deal
WHotels.com$237
Hotels.com$237
travelup.com$275
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1308)
Room & Suite (697)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 05/20/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from W Chicago - Lakeshore
Updated 05/20/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#113 of 216 hotels in Chicago
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.2
Value
3.9
See the Gold Coast of Chicago like never before at W Chicago - Lakeshore. From our perfect location on Lake Shore Drive, our hotel provides unlimited access to the best of Chicago, Illinois. During your stay in one of 520 sleek hotel rooms and suites, you can enjoy waterfront views that are absolutely unrivaled while you plan your next adventure. Meanwhile, stay active with the latest workout equipment at FIT or make a splash at WET®, our heated indoor pool. When hunger catches up to you during your visit, beat it like never before with seasonally inspired American cuisine at CURRENT, our hotel restaurant. Socialize over cocktails at the Living Room, the place to see and be seen on the Gold Coast. Celebrate and succeed in dynamic event space, from intimate meeting rooms to the stunning 33rd-floor Altitude, overlooking the shores of Lake Michigan. Whatever brings you here, W Chicago - Lakeshore is ready to help you keep it fun.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Patio
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Outdoor dining area
Vending machine
Nightclub / DJ
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
ATM on site
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Safe
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
On-demand movies
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Harbor View
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
2272Reviews56Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,083
  • 578
  • 315
  • 156
  • 140
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Star V wrote a review Aug 9
2 contributions
+1
I personally wouldn’t classify this hotel as a luxury property. The design gives very vegas hotel vibes. It’s not a bad hotel but for the price I’d say they should consider renovating it. Overall though it’s decent and staff was great. The views were pretty nice too.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
GRS59 wrote a review Aug 7
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania15 contributions7 helpful votes
The hotel is well-located. And design wise it’s consistent with what to expect for this brand. Check-in and check-out was friendly and efficient. What I found disappointing for a hotel at this price point: 1) Poor room amenities - The room (1201/city view/double) had neither coffee maker nor fridge. What hotel room doesn’t have these ? Giving hotel the benefit we called the front desk to request these items. Here was the second disappointment. We were advised we could join the wait list for a fridge! We were #10 and at check out 2 days later, still no fridge. As for the coffee maker, which we requested later that evening, we finally went to sleep waiting. The next day we finally got it. 2. Cleanliness of hallways - For our entire stay there were three dirty glasses left in the hallway outside our room. And on our last day, they were joined by a room service tray and empty pizza box.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Josue Hernandez, Guest Services / Front Office at W Chicago - Lakeshore
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for your feedback and we apologize for the experience during your stay. We have brought up this to our staff so we can learn from it and ensure it does not happen in the future.
Read more
yosmany wrote a review Aug 5
New York City, New York1 contribution
W Hotel with no Smart TV Neither Streaming Service Allowed? Is 2022 and this “Luxury Hotel” does not have Smart TV, that’s fine, is 2022, we all have streaming devices like Roku, guess what ? This hotel doesn’t allow to connect your device to their internet I’ve been in luxury hotels and even cheaper hotels that give you this choice Is a shame that this hotel doesn’t let you use your streaming devices, if I only knew, I wouldn’t book in this hotel when there’s plenty choices in the beautiful city of Chicago The rooms are very old, wallpapers are coming off but the worst of all is the shades, that morning sun hit you that you can’t sleep, bring your masks if u don’t like the morning light This hotel is probably the worst 4 hotel I’ve ever been, it should be 2 star after all the things I’ve written here Amenities are very limited If u don’t mind any of this you can book here But before you book, read well This hotel makes the city of Chicago looks really bad
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: If you don’t mind having Smart TV or bringing your streaming devices then is good, Also no...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Josue Hernandez, Guest Services / Front Office at W Chicago - Lakeshore
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for your feedback and we apologize for your experience. Please note that we are working on our offerings and hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future.
Read more
Latoya B wrote a review Jul 2022
Allentown, Pennsylvania82 contributions37 helpful votes
+1
My husband and I visited Chicago for our Anniversary and it was such and amazing experience. The W Lakeshore from the start was a party. When we walked in there were people everywhere having a good time. The dj was playing music and it was an overall good vibe. We checked in quickly and came back down to the party had an amazing dinner and drinks. . Met some really cool people. The check in is right next to the bar. So it was hard to hear the front desk person because it was so loud. The room was beautiful, very modern. the bed was comfortable as well as the pillows. The bathroom was small but it was enough for us. The light was good in the room. You had to request a fridge (they were all taken during our stay). The location: W Lakeshore was the perfect location as you could walk to Navy Pier . It was so convenient. We walked everywhere and it was in a nice safe area. Lots of stores and places to eat in the neighborhood. You had views of Lake Michigan. The staff was very friendly and kind. The cook customized my meal to make sure it was gluten free. There were not alot of gluten free options at the hotel but restaurants near by had you covered. They gave complimentary coffee in the lobby every morning. I would stay at this hotel everytime I visit Chicago it was amazing all around and the location was the best. The only bad thing I could think of was the water choice. They had Dasani or Aquafina the worst water in the world in My opinion. I think a nice hotel like this should have better water for their guests . At least some spring water. Anything but Dasani or Aquafina.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Heather B wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
Let me start by saying this - I would absolutely stay here again, but this is not a 4.5 star hotel as rated. The good - Our check-in experience was very quick, friendly, and personable. We had a king room facing the lake - the view is amazing! You can see Oak Street Beach, Navy Pier, fireworks, etc. The room itself was a bit larger (more room to move around in) than the Marriot on the Mile, but the bathroom was smaller and less user friendly. The room has nice built in type couch and when we requested a fridge be delivered ( for our son's milk) we were able to get one. The customer service at this hotel was amazing - every person we spoke to was friendly and helpful and wanted to help us with our stay. The bed was ok (standard hotel bed). The rainfall shower head was great! There are a lot of mirrors in the room and lighting options which is helpful with getting ready. The not so good - there are just a lot of sharp edges in these rooms with the furniture that was used (bathroom and bedroom) and especially in the bathroom there was wasted space for having "modern" design. The bathroom just had a lot of "wear" for having been remodeled less than a year ago - spots of yucky tile/grout, slow leak from toilet (we just put a towel over it), etc. The sheets were pretty stiff and the pillows were god awful (so soft they just melted around your head). They had to replace our AC unit 3x in our 5 day stay because it kept breaking (but every service member was exceptionally nice and quick). Again, not a 4.5 star hotel as advertised on multiple sites, but we would stay here again for the price we paid, the view, location, and excellent customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask if there are any lake view rooms available.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
FamilyTraveler1969 wrote a review Jul 2022
Indiana74 contributions39 helpful votes
If you do your research, your stay here will be a pleasant one. There is no longer valet parking (hopefully this will change soon), but there is a commercial parking garage just around the corner. The bellhop handled the luggage while we checked in and parked the car. Check-in was easy. Coffeemakers, mini-fridges and microwaves are by request, and they were promptly delivered. At any hotel, we always ask for a high floor with a view (in this case, a view of Lake Michigan, although there are nice city views, too). Besides enhancing the view, a high floor diminishes traffic noise. We received exactly what we requested. The hotel is walking distance from Navy Pier, many restaurants, and the Northwestern downtown campus. The king bed was very comfortable. Much of the window seat faces away from the view and is low compared with the window height, so seating could definitely be improved. The air conditioning was effective and easily controlled from a thermostat (including an always-on fan setting, which we like for white noise). The rooms have a safe, which provides peace of mind when going out. The bathroom was rather small and dated (not much shelf space and a tub/shower combination that at least had a grab bar). The bathroom has a sliding door, and a tall window in the wall facing the sleeping area; yes, it's mostly smoked glass, but you can see the bathroom ceiling from the room and shadows moving around, which may be kind of weird for some people. The free bottled water in the room was a nice touch, and more was available from the front desk, whose staff members were always pleasant. Rates vary quite a bit depending on demand and Chicago events. Overall, plan ahead and the location and views will make up for some of the odd aspects.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: High floor is quieter; definitely pay a little extra for a lake view.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Liesus W wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
+1
With 100 cash + 16000 points and one suite night award redemption, we were able to be upgraded to the lake view suite. 2 days before checkin I asked the front desk if we can get a two double-bed suite. The front desk couldn't find available room for us but instead they offered us one king-bed suite + one rollaway bed for not additional charge, which is sweet. The lake view was absolutely great, better than my expectation quite a lot. The room was older though. Most staffs are friendly and polite, though I don't know why we didn't get slippers after asking 3 times without response in the evening.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
gbreetz wrote a review Jun 2022
Denver, Colorado101 contributions66 helpful votes
Old Sheraton hotel turned into a W property. Does not have the same feel and vibe as the W’s in NYC. Bathrooms are smallish and rooms are fine. Bar is pathetic. Staff were ok but not overly helpful or friendly. Location is great and if you spend the money the rooms with a Lake Michigan view are very nice.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Josue Hernandez, Guest Services / Front Office at W Chicago - Lakeshore
Responded Jul 1, 2022
Thank you for your feedback!
Read more
Haji Sabbir wrote a review Jun 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates4 contributions
I recently stayed here for 5 nights Good Location, prompt service, positive energy among the staff!! Overall had an amazing experience during my stay. Excellent Service & amazing Hospitality. Highly recommend!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Best Views of Lake Michigan
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Daragh M wrote a review Jun 2022
Murrieta43 contributions38 helpful votes
Average at best stay. Not what I would expect of a "W" property. Room was well appointed and the view was great. It started and stopped there. The bar closed at 11? What? 11 is this a hotel bar? There was no breakfast offering except to mention the 6 coffee urns in the lobby with paper cups and wood stirrers. Average motel offering at best. In fact I have stayed at commuter hotels that offered more and better. Please don't respond by saying you'll pass this along to leadership I am sure they, like I have read the reviews below. Mini bar was locked and there was one, yes "one" bottle of Aquafina in the room. Poor execution for a well known brand. Everything about the W was average and not somewhere I would stay again. Service was poor and unhelpful. It appears the W stands for "woeful". Covid came and went please adopt your business for the new world or charge accordingly. Covid isn't an excuse for substandard product or services anymore.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Josue Hernandez, Guest Services / Front Office at W Chicago - Lakeshore
Responded Jun 8, 2022
Thank you for your feedback and we apologize for the experience during your stay. We would love to know more information and hope that you email our leadership team at CHIWHWelcomeDeskTOD@marriott.com so we can better assist you.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$252 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
w chicago lakeshore hotel chicago, w hotels chicago
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisChicagoCentral / Streeterville / Near North Side
NUMBER OF ROOMS
520
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about W Chicago - Lakeshore
Which popular attractions are close to W Chicago - Lakeshore?
Nearby attractions include Royale Society Hospitality (0.2 miles), Lakefront Trail (0.09 miles), and Winter's Jazz Club (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at W Chicago - Lakeshore?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at W Chicago - Lakeshore?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at W Chicago - Lakeshore?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at W Chicago - Lakeshore?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to W Chicago - Lakeshore?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pinstripes, Yolk - Streeterville, and Dublin 4 Irish Pub and Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at W Chicago - Lakeshore?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at W Chicago - Lakeshore?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at W Chicago - Lakeshore?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does W Chicago - Lakeshore offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at W Chicago - Lakeshore?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and German.