We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Villa Toscana

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Villa Toscana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 85: English reviews
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I preface this review by saying that we have stayed in many B&Bs. We were looking for a place near Lincoln Park and this location in Boys Town was great. The pluses about staying here are the location and the flexibility of the staff for our arrival. Our plane was significantly delayed and Rosemary made sure we could pick up... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marigot1
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I spent two nights at The Villa Toscana. Our first B&B experience. We stayed in The Empire Room or room#2. It was located across from the shared bathroom. Although, a shared bathroom is a new experience for us, surprisingly we were never inconvenienced. We will most definitely go back. Location is fabulous. Especially if you like great... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
VillaInnkeeper, Manager at The Villa Toscana, responded to this review

Thanks so much for giving this review of the inn! I am pleased that you enjoyed your time in Chicago and I hope you will return -- perhaps if the Cubbies make it to the World Series?? Thanks again and please come back. More 

Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed at the Villa Toscana for two nights over the July 4th weekend, 2016. We had the best time! As members of the LGBTQ community, we were looking for something in this neighborhood. The grounds are gorgeous. Ron, the host, is very accommodating. He booked us for 2 nights rather than the required 3 for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank celiza73
VillaInnkeeper, Manager at The Villa Toscana, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review! I enjoyed meeting you-all and I certainly hope you will return soon. September is a "perfect" month to visit Chicago - still warm, not cool yet, just right. Thanks again for staying with me at The Villa Toscana Chicago! More 

Troy, MIchigan
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

Found this on air B and B. Great location. Especially if you are going to a Cubs game at Wrigley . Very easy walk to park. Nice room, clean, very older home. Nice host 7 rooms available. Some with shared baths. Sine with private bath. Nice little continental breakfast. Air conditioned too. Will stay here again. Great price.

Helpful?
Thank CathyTroyMichigan
VillaInnkeeper, Manager at The Villa Toscana, responded to this review

Thank you so much for visiting the inn recently! It was a pleasure to host you here and I hope you will return soon! More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2015

We could see from the start it was going to be a horrible night... We just didn't know how horrible. Extremely bad place, very bad management and even worse hospitality. The hotel is in a sketchy neighborhood (i.e., people sleeping on top of garbage containers around the corner), and is very old and very badly taken care of. Good thing... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rafa T
VillaInnkeeper, Manager at The Villa Toscana, responded to this review

Well ... we can't please everybody, and sorry you were disappointed, but the living room is not a sleeping area. I don't think I've ever seen someone "sleeping on top of a garbage container around the corner," but I fail to see what that has to do with the inn. In any case, thank you for visiting the inn last... More 

Travelers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

Location is great, especially if you're gay. Room was clean, quiet but shared bathroom could be cleaner. Don't look at shades in the window lol. Price is ok, since Chicago is expensive. Breakfast was like other places. B&B are not what they used to be, hard to find good proteins. Wifi not great, I used my phone data instead. Hosts... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephbearca
VillaInnkeeper, Manager at The Villa Toscana, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, stephbearca. I hope you will give us another try on a future visit! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

We chose Villa Toscana primarily for location in a vibrant colourful neighbourhood with good transport links downtown. Responding to my initial booking Ron the host was super helpful in booking additional nights during a very busy period and very responsive to my questions around out of hours check in (he needed to leave earlier than normal on the day of... More 

Helpful?
Thank snowydog
VillaInnkeeper, Manager at The Villa Toscana, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Villa Toscana Chicago. It is unfortunate that you were not greeted as arranged. In any case, I hope you will give us another try if you find yourselves in the Chicago area again. More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

I have stayed here a handful of times and have usually enjoyed it but have noticed recently it is starting to slip. The innkeeper Ron seems to have lost interest in being a good host and on the over-all upkeep. Breakfast has gotten sparse and wasnt even put out on my recent stay. The lower level rooms are in a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cupctodd
VillaInnkeeper, Manager at The Villa Toscana, responded to this review

Thank you, cupctodd, for your review of the inn. I am curious as to when you were here and experienced no breakfast! I was away during part of June and wonder if you visited then. Please contact me at ron@thevillatoscana.com, if you'd like to share more information with me. Or, better yet, come visit again and give us another try! More 

Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

I stayed here 3 nights over a long weekend with my girlfriend. This was our first time to Chicago and our main attraction was a trip to wrigley field which is only a 5-7 minute walk. Its also just as close to a red line stop which was easy for getting to and from anywhere in the city. There are... More 

Helpful?
Thank jyanchek
VillaInnkeeper, Manager at The Villa Toscana, responded to this review

Thanks for your review of The Villa Toscana Chicago. I'm sorry it didn't fully meet your expectations. More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015 via mobile

While on an airport runway,I called and booked a room for a night,smooth transaction.Location perfect in boys town, you can walk everywhere to everything.the room I stayed in Morocco themed,nice,bed super comfortable,bathroom needs some updating $160.00. The continental breakfast was good,will stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank D0nly1
VillaInnkeeper, Manager at The Villa Toscana, responded to this review

That was indeed kind of neat, how you made your reservation from an airport runway! I am happy we had space for you, and I certainly hope you will visit again if you find yourself in the Chicago area. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#40 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 641 reviews
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#105 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#69 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 695 reviews
Lincoln Park
Days Inn Chicago
Days Inn Chicago
#64 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 2,299 reviews
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#136 of 185 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Villa Toscana Bed & Breakfast is an eight-room guesthouse located in the Lakeview/Boystown neighborhood of Chicago, six miles north of downtown Chicago. Our guesthouse is in one of Chicago's most eclectic entertainment districts and center of Chicago's Gay and Lesbian neighborhood, second largest in the United States. Literally steps from our door you will find an exciting nightlife, the beautiful Lake Michigan shores, a thriving theatre district, shopping, and an extensive variety of bars, clubs, and ethnic restaurants. We are also known as the closest accommodation to Wrigley Field, home of the Chicago Cubs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Villa Toscana

Address: 3447 North Halsted, Chicago, IL
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Price Range: $139 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Villa Toscana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your The Villa Toscana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villa Toscana Hotel Chicago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay