We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chicago Athletic Association Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (1089)
360
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (500)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#68 of 207 hotels in Chicago
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.5
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
It doesn’t get more Chicago than this 1893 icon of old-world design and good cheer. Originally home to an elite men’s club, the Chicago Athletic Association hotel building is an architectural gem dating back to 1893. Converted to a boutique hotel and urban playground of the same name in 2015, the property sports 240 guest rooms, seven bars & restaurants, the city's first Topgolf Swing Suite, and a downtown location central to Millennium Park, Lake Michigan, The Loop, and more. The Chicago Athletic Association hotel offers an artfully-restored historic stay along with some of the city’s most-lauded dining and drinking outlets. This hotel has received the 2022 Tripadvisor's Travelers Choice Award for consistently earning great reviews and also ranks within the 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Rooftop bar
Game room
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Nightclub / DJ
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Chinese, Portuguese
3,364Reviews34Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,363
  • 523
  • 277
  • 120
  • 83
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
MaxwellGregory wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
I love this hotel ! It is full of charm and always busy. Cindy's Rooftop is a must! I can cut through Millennium Park to get to the lakefront for a sunrise walk. Easy access to the Art Institute. Great location.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Cheryl W wrote a review Yesterday
Kansas City, Missouri10 contributions
There was so much to see and do at the Chicago Athletic Association! We absolutely loved exploring the hotel and looking at all the amazing decor and renovation. They've done a fabulous job creating a unique environment while keeping nostalgia in play as well. We loved the old trophies in the drawing room - we found out they were found in the basement during renovation and some were pieced together (incorrectly on purpose) to create a cheeky nod to the past. Everyone we interacted with was helpful and kind, and answered all our questions. Loved it and we'll be back!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Carey G wrote a review Apr 19
Traverse City, Michigan25 contributions6 helpful votes
The building has incredible character. The staff members were kind, helpful, and knowledgeable about the hotel and surrounding area.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
divakern wrote a review Apr 15
Rock Hill, South Carolina683 contributions101 helpful votes
I can not say enough about this hotel. The location, ambiance, service and amenities are all so wonderful. The lobby alone is worth the visit. Our whole family took advantage of all the amenities. I hope to be able to visit Chicago again and stay at the Chicago Athletic Association Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Serena G, Guest Services / Front Office at Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
divakern, We truly appreciate your kind words and thank you for your wonderful review! We absolutely love our location as well and can never get over the ambiance in the front lobby. We're happy you and your whole family enjoyed yourselves and very happy you took advantage of all we have to offer because it is a lot! We hope to welcome you back in the near future! Summer time Chicago is really the best!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michael W wrote a review Apr 12
5 contributions5 helpful votes
I organized a large corporate event on behalf of my company that took place at Chicago Athletic Association this past week, and cannot express how blown away I am by the extraordinary care and hospitality shown by the CAA team. Liza, Shannon, and entirety of the Banquet Team were beyond accommodating and went above and beyond to ensure that all of our needs were met, and were incredibly flexible as details of our events changed during the planning process. The hotel and ballrooms are gorgeous, the restaurants are all top notch, and the rooms are so comfortable. I will continue to sing CAA's praises to my colleagues, and am incredibly grateful to Liza and team for helping organize and accommodate our conference. I owe the success of the event to them!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Serena G, Guest Services / Front Office at Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
J7089UMmichaelw, Wow, thank you so much for your wonderful review! We're so happy to hear your large corporate event went swell with the help of our banquet team. We hope to welcome you back in the future, whether for work or leisure.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Susan wrote a review Mar 2024
Davenport6 contributions3 helpful votes
First, in the room we had a light not working, a bathroom fan not working and a dangerous shower where the temperature dial kept moving and if not watched could scald someone. There were only two elevators to the 16th floor and one did not work. It would have been nice if they told us that at check in. At check in we changed credit cards to have the hotel use. Instead of doing that correctly, they split the bill. It took numerous calls over one hour to rectify the situation. I found out when my credit card bill came. I feel that the front desk does not communicate well with customers of themselves.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Just know that the game room is noisy and filled with younger people.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Serena G, Guest Services / Front Office at Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
dermanSusan, I am so sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience with us. We want nothing more than to make sure you feel comfortable and taken care of. Here at the front desk, we are always willing to assist wherever and whenever we can. We also have maintenance available 24/7 for any issues, for instance, like the bathroom fan (which is silent) and the temperature dial in the shower. We hope to welcome you back in the future despite the miscommunication and hope that we can make your experience much better with the feedback you've given us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Melissa S wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions
Our recent stay was absolutely excellent. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. I was concerned it would be noisy given the location right on Michigan Avenue, but it was not at all. We really enjoyed relaxing in the Drawing Room during downtime and made use of the Game Room as well. All staff were very friendly and helped whenever we had questions or needed anything. The location is excellent - easy walking to River North and the Aquarium and Field Museum. Definitely one of my favorite places to stay in the city. Can't wait to return!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Serena G, Guest Services / Front Office at Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
mabryant13, Thank you kindly for your review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and all that CAA has to offer. We love that our hotel is in a very convenient location because it's perfect for our out of town guests. We hope to welcome you back in the future! Please keep an eye on our website for fun summer activities.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Susan H wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
What a wonderful stay. The property is so interesting and requires some wandering around to see all the historical elements of the building. Staff was well trained and executed perfectly. Love how the decor paid homage to the historical importance of the building. What can I say? Cindy's has always been one of my favorite restaurants in town. Overlooking the famous Bean in Millenium Park? Yup.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Serena G, Guest Services / Front Office at Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Susan H, Thank you kindly for your review. We appreciate all you have to say and of course, can't wait to welcome you back. Have you ever taken a tour here at the Chicago Athletic Hotel? I feel like we learn new things about our hotel history every day and with a tour, you might get some cool architecture, too.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
TheFanch wrote a review Mar 2024
Seville, Spain1 contribution
Loved staying here. The hotel exceeded our expectations. We were in Chicago for a wedding and because we were so busy with that, we didn't get to explore as much of the hotel as we would have hoped to. But the rooms were really cool and comfortable. The view of Lake Michigan from the White City Ballroom was stunning. Staff made getting into and out of the hotel extremely easy even though we travelled with a lot of stuff. I hope to stay here again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Serena G, Guest Services / Front Office at Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
TheFanch, Thank you for your review. We hope that you're able to check out the hotel at a different time so you can experience everything we have to offer, like Cindy's Rooftop, The Milk Room. and some fun in our Game Room. However, we're glad you enjoyed your stay no matter what.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
clledbetter wrote a review Mar 2024
Arlington, Virginia43 contributions53 helpful votes
+1
Elevators out, bathroom clogged, room faced brick wall We come to Chicago once or twice a month for cultural events. We usually stay at the Hyatt Regency. But this time we had tickets to New York City Ballet at the Harris. So my husband thought it would be a treat to stay at the “storied” Chicago Athletic Association. So, one of the four elevators was broken, our room was ridiculously tiny, the view was brick wall, and our toilet was clogged. We went to the ballet, but I simmered. Also, dinner was mediocre at best at Cherry Ci rcle. When we got back, I decided I couldn’t possibly sleep in that awful room,so we left for home in Naperville. Almost midnight now, but I’m glad we’re home.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t go.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jean-Pierre Cook, Guest Services / Front Office at Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi there Christine L, First, I would like to thank you for your most recent stay at the Chicago Athletic Hotel. We are truly sorry that the experience was such a negative one ending with you departing early and traveling late. We are truly sorry that during your time with us we were unable to get the technical issues fixed and then you had a guest room that did not fit your needs either. Our hotel is a historic landmark and our location within the Cities downtown area leads to some of our guest rooms having an interior view and we are sorry that this had such a negative effect on your stay with us. We really hope that you will be open to staying with us again one day as we know we have so much to offer. If you would like to stay again in the future our team is more than happy to assist with finding a room that will fit your needs.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chicago area.
PRICE RANGE
$273 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisChicagoCentral / Downtown / The Loop / Theater District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
240
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHICAGO ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION HOTEL - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews (IL)

Frequently Asked Questions about Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Chicago Athletic Association Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Art Institute of Chicago (0.2 miles), Millennium Park (0.1 miles), and Cloud Gate (0.09 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Chicago Athletic Association Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Chicago Athletic Association Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Chicago Athletic Association Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Chicago Athletic Association Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chicago Athletic Association Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Miss Ricky's, Wildberry Pancakes and Cafe, and The Dearborn.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Chicago Athletic Association Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Chicago Athletic Association Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Chicago.
Are any cleaning services offered at Chicago Athletic Association Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Chicago Athletic Association Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Chicago Athletic Association Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.