We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Palmer House A Hilton Hotel

Traveler (3216)
Room & Suite (1161)
Dining (145)

About

#131 of 205 hotels in Chicago
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Room service
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Banquet Room
Business Center with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Paid Internet
Paid Wifi
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Sauna
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Minibar
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Historic Hotel
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
260Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
73Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
Neighborhood
Downtown / The Loop
Often visitors' first stop in Chicago, The Loop is a good starting point to sample the city's energy and flavor. This central business district boasts Michelin-rated restaurants, upscale hotels, premier shopping, and enough arresting architecture to keep your camera busy for hours. You won’t find too many photo galleries of downtown Chicago without a shot of Millennium Park and Cloud Gate (“The Bean”), one of the most iconic landmarks in the city. A stunning skyline coupled with cultural attractions like the Art Institute of Chicago present a Downtown where work and play peacefully coexist.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
10,575Reviews
153Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 4,036
  • 3,523
  • 1,729
  • 838
  • 451
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The main problem with this hotel is the lack of staff. We had a 20 minute wait to check in with one member of staff going off on a break while we were waiting, and you could hear everyone in the queue complaining. They also need more staff at the bar. We tried to catch the waiting staff attention three times and even went to the bar to be told someone would come over, after another 15 minutes we gave up. I would expect better service from a hotel of this standard.
Read more
Response from AlhajiA8, Manager at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Responded yesterday
Hello U_k_Magpie, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Palmer House! We truly apologize that you did not receive our typical service oriented experience during your visit. We specialize in outstanding customer service and we are saddened to hear that we missed the mark. We never want any guest to feel as if our first mission is not to provide a high level of service throughout their stay. We regret to hear of your wait at our front desk and our bar. Rest assured, your comments will be a crucial factor for our team as we continuously search for ways to improve our service. We understand that you have many options in the city of Chicago and we hope to have another opportunity to provide you with a memorable hotel experience. Sincerely, Alhaji Abubakar Hotel Night Manager
Read more
Hotel's Favorite
Destination: Chicago. A road trip to the Windy City to see “Hamilton” at the CIBC Theater. Itinerary: the show, the Art Institute, a Cubs game at Wrigley Field, and a Chicago Symphony Orchestra concert. Where to stay? The Palmer House turned out to be the place. One block from the CIBC Theater, two to Orchestra Hall, and three to the Art Institute. Add a subway stop right outside the Wabash Street door, for a $3.00 25 minute ride to Addison Street station just across from the ball park, and we were set. The hotel, itself, did not disappoint. This classic structure, vintage 1920’s, is an Art Deco masterpiece. The main lobby/bar features a 21 ceiling murals from Art Deco painter Louis Pierre Rigal with 1.25-ton, 24-karat gold winged candelabras designed by Tiffany & Co. The Empire Room has hosted many famous entertainers including Frank Sinatra back in 1938. Pictures of these many artists line the walls of guest room hallways. The rooms are not large but ours was well appointed. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom contained a shower/bathtub combination. We could hear the noise of the nearby elevated train, but it was not overpowering - more like the sound of wind blowing. We definitely had a great time on our Chicago getaway, and Palmer House was a good choice.
Read more
Response from AlhajiA8, Manager at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello paulpX8090TO, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Palmer House! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed experiencing the atmosphere of our historic hotel. We specialize in outstanding customer service and our goal is an all-around positive guest experience. Thank you for taking the time to describe your stay in such detail and for providing helpful tips to potential future guests of our property. We are excited to have been a part of your exciting, fun-filled Chicago trip. At the Palmer House, we pride ourselves on our long history, exceptional team members, and the guests we get to serve each and every day. We hope to have another opportunity to provide you with a memorable Chicago experience. Sincerely, Alhaji Abubakar Hotel Night Manager
Read more
I really wanted to like this hotel, the history is amazing. Here for a conference that I'm super fond of as well. I would give it 1 star except for 1) the location and 2) the awesome walk-in closet that all hotels should have, just wish the square footage didn't come from the bathroom (it seems they had to subtract it from somewhere?) If I had to work here or stay for a long period I would be depressed. The old world styling is wonderful and beautiful, until your closet door won't stay closed, the toilet runs all night and you can hear your neighbors' conversations. The pool is closed for construction - with no notice - but if you call, they tell you that you can go to their sister property to swim (the Chicago Hilton). They didn't post that anywhere and I heard other guests complaining that they weren't told of either the pool closure or the opportunity to swim elsewhere. Just ask (?) My guess is that their sister property doesn't really want 1,000+ guests wandering over wrapped in towels........ but they won't say no - they can't. The Chicago Hilton has the biggest gym in the city, so it seems they can afford the extra guests - I'm just not sure they want them. There was no coffee pot - I had to go to the concierge to ask how I could get hot water for tea? And they sent me the coffee kit on a neat tray with filters and coffee and sugar that most hotels have in each room in the first place. There is also no mini fridge or microwave - I had to call to make sure I wasn't being charged to use the mini bar to store my own water, because a small sign said "don't remove items to store personal ones because the mini bar has sensors and you will be charged." Unfortunately I had to call many times, because quite honestly the registration/concierge floor 2 is so congested and busy that they could use triple the number of employees. You'll get transferred a few times before being hung up on. The beds are extra small - the door locks are crooked - the bathroom faucet barely closes and the green tile soap holders in the bathtub collect water - goodness knows how hard the cleaning staff has to work. To do my part, I hung my Privacy sign on day 1, re-used my towels, cleaned up after myself AND left a tip - because this place must be horrid to look after. Like I said I really wanted to love this hotel, for its history and ornate decorations which you can see online. But the low ceilings, yellowed wallpaper, faded/discolored fabrics and general interior darkness are really not what you should be paying for. I took a look around for fire escapes and ended up feeling like they are so old, if there was a fire, we would surely perish. My room had windows with no screens, so I comforted myself with the fact that in the worst case I could jump out onto the adjoining property's roof. Just come for a brownie or a coffee, take a photo of the ornate and valuable artifacts, read the signs that detail the history, and call it good - don't stay here.
Read more
Response from AlhajiA8, Manager at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Responded yesterday
Hello lasirois, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Palmer House! We truly apologize that you did not receive our typical service oriented experience during your visit. We specialize in outstanding customer service and we are saddened to hear that we missed the mark. We never want any guest to feel as if our first mission is not to provide a high level of service throughout their stay. Rest assured, your comments will be a crucial factor for our team as we continuously search for ways to improve our service. We understand that you have many options in the city of Chicago and we hope to have another opportunity to provide you with a memorable hotel experience. Sincerely, Alhaji Abubakar Hotel Night Manager
Read more
Beautiful hotel. Great central location to trains, buses, parks, museums, restaurants and everything in between. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Our flight arrived early in the morning. We took the Blue Line from O’Hare to the hotel (about 30 minutes). We dropped off our luggage very quickly and were on our way! Check in was quick as well. We were asked whether we wanted a room near the elevator or not – we chose not! Our room was on the 20th floor. The room was very quiet and we didn’t hear any noise. We gave our checked luggage tags to the person checking us in and our luggage was brought up in less than 15 minutes. The room was spacious and clean. Nice size TV for a hotel! The bathroom was a bit tight. The toilet paper holder (double roll) banged against my shoulder and ribs when I used the toilet. Sink area was small as well. There was a small walk-in closet. Wish the closet was smaller and the bathroom was larger. We had the “bed and breakfast” package. Breakfast was the buffet ($30/pp) in the Lockwood Restaurant in the lobby. Ample choices – food and service were very good. The bed was comfortable. Not very soft, more on the firm side. I’ve slept in worse; I’ve slept in better. Pet peeve – small/standard pillows on a king bed. Sleeping with small pillows are not very comfortable for me. (I usually bring my own or end up buying one!) The comforter (down or sim.) was nice and warm. There was a “Do not Disturb sign,” but no “Please clean room” sign. It would be helpful to have to let the room attendants know you are not in the room and they can make it up while it is unoccupied. One day we came back in the mid afternoon and it was still not attended to although we had left before they even started cleaning. There was a mini fridge in the room, but you could not use it. It was full of beverages you could purchase. There was also a tray of snacks on the fridge for sale. I wish I had use of the fridge for my own beverages/food. I got a good rate for my room (with breakfast). If I had paid too much, I might not have been that satisfied. Overall, I had a great stay here and would recommend this hotel.
Read more
Response from AlhajiA8, Manager at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Responded yesterday
Hello nycgal529, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Palmer House! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed experiencing the atmosphere of our historic hotel. We specialize in outstanding customer service and our goal is an all-around positive guest experience. Thank you for offering specific details about your hotel stay. We understand that you discovered an opportunity for improvement and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Your comments will be a crucial factor for our team as we continue to enhance our services. At the Palmer House, we pride ourselves on our long history, exceptional team members, and the guests we get to serve each and every day. We hope to have another opportunity to provide you with a memorable Chicago experience. Sincerely, Alhaji Abubakar Hotel Night Manager
Read more
Stayed here for a convention. Booked on my own, not through the convention, for a room on the Club level floor. Got an express check-in email the night before I departed that let me select the specific room I wanted on the Club floor. When I checked in, I was given a room on a lower floor, with access to the club level lounge. When I questioned the desk clerk, I got an apology with “we ran out of rooms”. They didn’t charge me for the club level but still provided access to those lounge. I was not late checking in, and I had the confirmation of the room I choose the night before via email on my phone. Didn’t matter. Asked to speak to a manager, no one came out. Instead the clerk just discounted my room about another 30%. Choose this hotel for the club level only. If I’d have known I wouldn’t get the room I reserved, I probably would have chosen another hotel. Room given was adequate, with a really small bathroom.....you literally could only turn around in a circle. Will choose a more modern hotel closer to convention site next time. Highly disappointed!
Read more
Response from AlhajiA8, Manager at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Responded yesterday
Hello ChadC73, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Palmer House! We truly apologize that you did not receive our typical service oriented experience during your visit. We specialize in outstanding customer service and we are saddened to hear that we missed the mark. We regret that your room request was not honored, nor was your request to see a manager. Though our guests our the number one priority at our property, it is understandable to see how this was not portrayed. Rest assured, your comments will be a crucial factor for our team as we work to prevent similar instances like these in the future. We understand that you have many options in the city of Chicago and we hope to have another opportunity to provide you with a memorable hotel experience. Sincerely, Alhaji Abubakar Hotel Night Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$130 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the palmer house hilton hotel chicagohilton hotel chicagohilton hotel palmerpalmer house chicagochicago palmer house hiltonpalmer house hilton chicagopalmer hilton househilton chicagochicago hilton
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisChicagoCentralDowntown / The Loop
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1640
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing