Hotel Riu Touareg

Hotel Riu Touareg

Traveler (17539)
Pool view
Pool & Beach (4703)
Hotel Riu Touareg
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, May 31
Breakfast included
Only 2 left at
$186
Fully refundable before Fri, May 31
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Only 2 left at
$186
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 all-inclusive in Santa Monica
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.5
Value
4.3
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Windsurfing
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Karaoke
Table tennis
Tennis court offsite
Nightclub / DJ
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Suites
Hotel links
Special Offer:10% off Riu Class members

Location

Urbanizacao Lacacao Lote 13 Praia Lacacao, Santa Monica, Boa Vista Cape Verde
Getting there
Rabil Airport
11.8 mi
See all flights
1 Restaurant
within 5 miles
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles13,559 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled in a tranquil, secluded location, Hotel Riu Touareg's beautiful beach setting is celebrated by guests, despite the trek from the airport. The hotel's cleanliness receives positive remarks, although some visitors suggest the rooms and amenities could benefit from an update. While the value proposition is questioned by those pointing out high prices and extra charges, the service is often applauded for its professionalism and friendliness. The atmosphere is described as lively, yet some areas seem to need more vibrancy and illumination.
Location
Secluded
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Dated
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
13,559Reviews4,488Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 6,675
  • 4,388
  • 1,657
  • 479
  • 362
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Martin T wrote a review Aug 2022
Sheffield, United Kingdom114 contributions422 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great family holiday - As with all my reviews I base this on the money I paid against what I expected and wanted. For all that it’s gets a great review from me.

So let’s the get the 5 star hotel quality issue addressed first. Of course it’s not 5 star. The Dorchester is 5 star. The definition of a 5 star hotel is flawless guest services in a state of the art facility. Booking through TUI for a summer family break in Africa isn’t going to get you a 5 star hotel. In my view this is a solid 4 star family hotel.

What absolutely made this holiday for me were the staff. From the reception staff, bar, cleaners, drivers, gardeners, life guards, etc etc they are all amazingly helpful and friendly. I got this all the way through Cape Verde not only in the hotel. They absolutely could not be more helpful, cheerful, friendly or funny.

The hotel itself is a monster in size. It’s not ugly, it’s just a big sprawling castle type settlement that you would expect to find in the Middle Ages in the Sahara. It’s surrounded by nothing and when you get to the island you feel like you’ve landed on Mars. It’s desolate, it’s basically the Sahara desert in the ocean.

The beach is absolutely amazing. Imagine the big sprawling sand of Fuerteventura mixed with the palms of the Dominican Republic. There is a cool breeze and palms to hide under. The sea is permanently red flagged and very dangerous. You can paddle but be careful. The waves are beautiful and if you walk left in the morning you may see turtles and crabs. Some even saw hammerhead and lemon sharks from the rocks 1 mile left down the beach.

There are two pools for the general population. The infinity pool is far left near block 9. The main pool had a swim up bar. The adult only pool we didn’t try. Sun bed situation can be silly with most gone by 7am. Top tip, use the beach. Lots of beds, nice breeze, 60 second walk to the pool and pool bars.

Food was really nice. Yes after 2 weeks you start to crave your home comforts but the choice was amazing. Salads, seafood, steaks, roast beef, turkey, pork, pasta, pizza, burgers, chips. Trays and trays of lovely fruit for every meal. More cakes than you could name. Salad bar was always a favourite and huge selection. Tuna steaks, Grouper fish, crayfish, and many more on the sea food section.

Restaurants were v good. Asian was nice, Italian was sound. Cape Verdean was same as main restaurant.

Drinks. Ok let’s deal with the watering down thing. Anyone who has worked in a bar or brewery knows that to try and mix water into a pressurised beer system doesn’t work and would cost you more than you saved. It’s just normal 4% beer. They give it you in small cups but you can take bigger cups of your own or just fill your own glass. The pre mixed cocktails aren’t that strong but if you want a decent size gin or rum it’s never a problem. The liquor bottles aren’t watered down. You just get a lot of ice and if you want more gin just ask them to top it up. For all those who say they didn’t feel drunk well that’s a good thing. We should be drinking to enjoy not to get pissed. The bloke who fell off the pool bridge and the 3 ladies put in the recovery position at the bar managed to get drunk so well done them. Luckily the vast majority of the hundreds of guests were sensible.

Then mix of people in the hotel is great. British, German, Dutch, French, Portuguese, Romanian, amongst others. Good banter and nice people.

Pool side entertainment is good fun. Beach volleyball is a regular highlight with 2 games starting at 10.30. French boules, bingo, water polo. Tennis and football if you want it.

Night time entertainment is what you would expect. Some nights they had a a singer whilst you ate. During the day a saxophone player or guitar near the pool side bars. Some evenings were a bit Butlins on stage. It’s remote island off the coast of Africa. They are never going to book Ed Sheeran. We avoid the entertainment at most hotels we go to. I like some background music but I won’t be queueing up for a table at the front each night at any hotel tbh. We might get the cards out.

There seemed lots to do for little ones. There’s a small toddler pool attached to the kids club. It’s self contained and looked great. We used to call it baby prison when we walked past.

For teenagers there is enough. Pools, beach, activities, lots of people to meet.

Excursions we did the turtles night tour. Amazing. Booked with Giggling Geckos.
We also did the Sunday bbq with Andrew Worthington (find him on Facebook). It’s in Morabeza and water sports available. Andrew is a great guy and will bend over backwards to help.

So in summary we booked our precious 2 week family holiday and loved it. The island feels a bit remote, it’s something different if barren. Weather is 30c all day every day. It’s never cold. Rained 3 days out of 14 and some cloud but we all came back tanned and refreshed. People are amazing. As much as it pains me to say it TUI were really good. I find them pricey and a bit faceless but this time they were great.

If you want a solid good standard hotel for some summer family time you can’t you wrong. As a couple you may prefer something more intimate.

I got what I paid for and loved it. 5 stars from me.
Well done and thanks.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JayneBett wrote a review Jan 2020
Norwich, United Kingdom105 contributions44 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Having read mixed reviews before arriving and a friend who stayed there in November and was poorly and advised me to change hotels,I then contacted TUI about changing to the 'Palace" but the extra charge of £496 to amend seemed steep, so we decided to stick with this hotel and take precautions and packed sanitiser,bacteria wipes, air freshers, rehydration sachets and I'm happy to say apart from the air fresher which was used in the toilet we didn't have to use any of others.
The hotel is spotless. We were staying in the Adults only area and our room was comfortable and again spotless. We were in room 1224 overlooking the beach and area beside the hotel so this was very quiet.
The grounds are lovely and staff are constantly tending to them and the housekeeping are always doing the same in keeping everything clean.
There are cats but they are in good condition and looked after well by the hotel and mostly neutered.They never bother you so I see no reason why anyone would complain about them.
We mostly ate in the Bereber restaurant where the choice and quality was excellent, I have never stayed in a hotel that gives you so much choice & I have stayed in many. All the meat and fish is cooked fresh in front of you. We only tried the adults only restaurant as due to trips we had booked this did not allow us time to try the others.The Gourmet Kullinarium was however excellent the standard of food was amazing, my only suggestion to the management is maybe a little background music as its so quiet we had to whisper as not to distrub others, again the staff were fabulous.
The beach was beautiful with sand stretching for miles and the waves were spectacular we did see people in the sea even though red flags were constantly displayed !!!
We only used the pool in adults only area which again was spotless and the bar area was excellent. Sun beds were sadly reserved very early so if you are not an early riser you may be disappointed, however at the beach this was never a problem. Maybe the hotel needs to remove towels on beds that are unoccupied before 9am also the pool bar has signs up saying that you need to cover up when going to the bar again this was not done by many guests maybe show a little common courtesy towards the fantastic staff and abide by the signs!
We did 3 excursion with TUI they were Postcards full day, Treasures of the South 1/2 day and Sunset dinner. I would definitely recommend Treasures of the South and the Sunset dinner.
Overall we had a excellent week at this hotel and so glad we didn't change, the weather and all the staff were fantastic and we will certainly return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Touareg
Responded Jan 30, 2020
Dear JayneBett, Thank you for your five star rating! It's fantastic to read how much you enjoyed your recent stay! It was a pleasure looking after you, we deeply appreciate your kind words and compliments the team and I will look forward to welcoming you back again! We hope to host you once again in one of our worldwide hotels in the future King regards, Hotel Riu Touareg Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
Lee E wrote a review Jan 2020
16 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
the wife and i was here mid November and loved every minute!
although its a big place, most of the amnesties are in a straight line from the reception to the beach.....bars, restaurants,shops, pools ect.
the food was varied and tasty with the option of booking into one of the other specialty restaurants.
the room served its purpose well, air con works well never had issues with hot water and towels replaced daily.
staff are all friendly and work hard to keep the place going, we tipped our cleaners because of how much they work to keep on top off things.
evening entertainment was a bit ropey a few nights but generally....entertaining.
here's a couple of tips if your thinking of going
1. take a private taxi instead of the coach transfer from the airport. its 30 euros and great fun bouncing about in the back of a pick up truck for 25 mins. plus you get to the hotel quicker.
2. take your own plastic cups/thermos mugs with you for the pool bars, there beakers are pretty small.
3. even though there is no shortage of sunbeds around the pools and beach you might wanna get your towels out before breakfast to secure a good location. but use your own towels. if you use the pool towels the attendants may remove them.
in all our first trip to Cabo Verdi was a memorable one made even better by staying at this hotel .
thank you Riu Touareg we will return !
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: this hotel has a adult only area,
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Touareg
Responded Jan 27, 2020
Dear clunk_71, Thank you so much for your nice words and for your five-star rating! We are glad to hear that you had such a lovely stay with us! It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future! With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Touareg Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jonofromcas wrote a review Feb 2020
Castleford, United Kingdom2,450 contributions260 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our third Riu in Cape Verde. One in Sal and the other in Boa Vista. We've also stopped in Riu's in Jamaica and Mexico. Despite negative comments, we thought the food in Touareg was the best we've had in five Riu's now.

Recent reviews indicate that the tarmac road has now been completed. When we went it was certainly a slow off road experience in parts.

Check in was easy and relatively quick with c5 queues and we followed our luggage being pulled by a bellboy to the room in block 6. The hotel is massive and all blocks look the same so you need the map to find your way around at first.

We were upgraded to a family room. This was not really an upgrade as it just gives you a put up bed/settee in a sitting room, but it did mean all our clothes could be hung up as we had two wardrobes full of hangers.

Bottled water was supposed to replenished as you drank it, but we did have to request via reception that it was replaced as the cleaners didn't do so.

There are a number of comments about the smell of the toilets in the rooms and we suffered the same. If you flushed it when you came into your room and kept the door shut, it wasn't that bad.

Sun beds are a contentious issue and if you did venture out after about 9am, most front line beach facing beds were taken. We never didn't get a decent place to put our towels though. Common to all Riu's, beach towels are provided and we found it better to change the towels at the end of a day rather than the next day as the hut opened at 9am.

The food is a bit the same every day, but there's more than enough choice. They even provided Gluten free baguettes for me which although were a bit like children's play food, gave me a further choice at breakfast.

Spirit drinks are not 'brands' but for the price, I didn't expect top quality (and didn't get them), but they were drinkable and we tried enough of them.

As the hotel is by itself, miles from anything, if you want to be busy outside the hotel, it's not the hotel for you. If you want to relax, have time to just do nothing except sit around and recharge, it's perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Touareg
Responded Feb 28, 2020
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you personally for your loyalty and for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Hotel Riu Touareg. Our mission is to ensure you had a memorable stay at our property, and it is wonderful to know that we were able to achieve just that. At the same time, we welcome the feedback from our valued guests, like you, which helps us to target areas of improvement . We look forward to welcoming you back to in the near future! With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Touareg Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jojoba wrote a review Jan 2020
11 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Just back from what was a holiday to remember! Flew out on Boxing Day with a friend and didn’t really know what to expect. The airport is like a sandcastle and has no roof then we had a very bumpy coach ride through what looked like Mars or Tattooine to the hotel but this makes you appreciate how poor this country is. The hotel complex is VAST and whilst on the complex you could be anywhere so ensure you go on some excursions! There is plenty of room to eat with a central plaza and a few bars, karaoke bar and a small very cheesy nightclub. So much food to choose from I don’t know what other people are complaining about! Lots of meat, fish, salads, starters, desserts etc. Drinks a plenty but you have to ask for alcohol in the cocktails otherwise they are served without it and they are served in thick plastic reusable cups which is great. The water in the rooms is in large plastic bottles; we got through three large bottles a day; times that by the 1000 rooms and that’s a lot of plastic waste which unfortunately seems to litter the island. Did the postcards tour and our driver Bernardo made it amazingly fun with creole music blaring and a trip past his parents house to shout hello. Beach was stunning and a lot quieter than the pool which was besieged by families and pretty noisy. You can’t swim in the sea. It’s so strong and dangerous but if you go to Cape Verde for swimming then you are stupid!
The hotel is kept SPOTLESS and the team there work so hard and the entertainment staff are amazing. I have two main issues;
1) the island is very poor and the level of excess in this hotel is almost obscene to the point of embarrassing. The staff go home to homes with no running water yet the wastage at the hotel must have been huge.
2) the beaches are stunning. But out of the 18km Santa Monica beach, 15km has been sold to developers. It won’t be long before this beautiful island is ruined and changed beyond recognition so make sure you visit now! A hotel with 5000 rooms is already planned :-(
All in all an amazing holiday; much hotter than the weather forecasts. Had a 24 hour delay coming home due to sandstorms which are common in Jan and Dec. Not ideal but not a bad place to be stranded in! Will def be back but maybe to a smaller hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Touareg
Responded Jan 17, 2020
Dear Josephine K, Thank you for taking some time to share your comments about your stay. It is great to hear that overall you had an amazing holiday with us and that you liked the service provided by our staff. However, we regret to learn about your concerns and would like to assure you that we work on a daily basis to be more responsible towards the environment and the community through a number of initiatives, such as reducing the amount of waste created by our activity to a minimum and contributing to the improvement and wellbeing of the local community through social projects. Please be assured that we will share your comments with the appropriate department for further consideration. We hope to welcome you back soon at RIU Hotels & Resorts. With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Touareg Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MarkandMargaret1 wrote a review Jan 2020
Newbiggin-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom3 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We came here for 1 week on Boxing Day 2019 for 7 nights. I was a little apprehensive before coming having read a number of reviews which had negative comments. I have no idea where those who gave a negative review stayed but it couldn’t be here. It’s the largest resort We have ever stayed and it was absolutely spotless. The effort all the staff put in to maintaining this resort is immense. Checking in was a breeze despite 2 coach loads arriving at the same time. Reception was well staffed and organised. The whole complex was well laid out and despite being fully booked never seemed crowded. Quality and choice of food was excellent and all staff seemed happy to serve and were not expecting tips. The a la carte restaurants were excellent. Our room was spacious and cleaned each day and the shower was always hot and powerful. New years eve was absolutely fabulous and the organization that must have gone into it was phenomenal. We stayed with friends and also experienced a few trips via our tour operator. It’s a bit out of the way but if you want to relax there’s plenty of room to do it peacefully. Entertainment was good, these guys put in some hours. My only observations were that the main square (which is like a town square) would benefit from a couple more washrooms on the opposite side to reception and the ones that are there could do with additional hand dryers also with reach of smaller guests. On reading this you may think this to be a fake review but I assure you it’s genuine. I also noted that on many all inclusive trips I have been on I have nearly always had a stomach upset. On this occasion I did not and I ate just about everything going plus tried many of the alcoholic beverages on offer. We had a fabulous New Year here.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Touareg
Responded Jan 15, 2020
Dear MarkandMargaret1, We very much appreciate your kind words and your trust! We are glad to learn that you had a wonderful experience with us from beginning to end. It was our pleasure to take care of you and we would like to welcome you again in the near future! With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Touareg Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
emz0801 wrote a review Feb 2020
emz080124 contributions28 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited here as a family of 5 ( 16, 11 & 9 yrs) 5-12 February. Flight over there easy, heads up, no tv entertainment, download Netflix for kids.
Arrival at Boa Vista slow, but the airport is literally 1/10th size of Gatwick!
25 minute bus journey, friendly TUI rep onboard.
Arrival at hotel we were greeted with a cocktail while waiting to check in. WiFi, you get one device code per person. WiFi was a good signal all over the resort.
We stayed in Block 8, which had a lovely view overlooking the infinity pool and beach. As a family of 5, we had rooms next door to each other. Rooms were spacious, comfortable beds, double sinks, balcony and shower. Heads up, yes the toilet smells on flushing, you are in Africa! Shut toilet door, it’s not a problem! Bottles of water replaced daily.
The pools are clean and well maintained. The beach is one of the most beautiful I have ever seen. The sea is not safe to swim in. Red flag is up constantly, the waves are powerful and there are several rip tides going along the shore. Unfortunately there are idiots that choose to ignore this. If you want to swim in the sea take a trip to the other side of the island?
The food is great for all inclusive, hygiene standards are maintained, any cross contamination comes from the tourists, not the staff. All staff wear gloves when handling food, surfaces wiped regularly. With 3 fussy kids, they never went hungry. There is always something you would like.
We enjoyed the entertainment, it’s clear the staff work incredibly hard and it’s 100% better than other inclusive we have been to.
Tips: do take an extension lead, there’s only one socket in the room. Don’t underestimate how much suncream you need, it costs 28 euros for a factor 15 onsite. Do take pringles/sweets for kids, they are about 6 euros in the shop. Do tip the people you wouldn't think of, such as toilet attendants. No one ever asks or expects tips, but they live on very little.
Would we return? We like to travel to different places In The world, but this place is an exception. We loved every minute and can not wait to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Block 8, good views and away from the noise
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Touareg
Responded Feb 21, 2020
Dear emz0801, Thank you for sharing your experience and for your five-star rating! We are thrilled to hear that you had such a nice time with us! It was our pleasure to take care of you and we do hope to have the opportunity to host you again someday soon! Best regards, Hotel Riu Touareg Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Caron R wrote a review Feb 2020
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom118 contributions68 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
visited February 2020 no welcome drink; bar drinks are poor quality and no choice, one brand of everything and nothing we recognised. Wine is awful and the choice is red, white or rose on tap - yuk! The entertainment is the worst I have ever seen/heard in the world, in fact people were moving into bar areas and playing cards etc., to get away from it - at best mediocre amature standard.
If you are lucky enough to get into one of the 'specialist' restaurants you may be offered something sparkling out of a bottle, we couldn't get in even on first day.
Whilst the beach is incredible, the taps, soap dispensers and hand dryers don't work so be prepared to dry your hands on your clothing.
This holiday costs as much as a cruise and disappoints more than a wet weekend in Blackpool. Do yourselves a favour and go somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Touareg
Responded Feb 28, 2020
Dear Caron, Thank you for your time, We are sorry to learn that you did not fully enjoy your holiday during your stay at our Hotel Riu Touareg! It is a pity to understand that, despite pointing out some positives about our products and services, the negatives out waged the positives and that you left our resort disappointed with your overall stay. We apologize for not providing the holiday you were looking for! We assure you that we have taken notes about your concerns and will share them all with our Management team so that they can take actions accordingly! We hope to host you again in one of our worldwide hotels in the future! Greetings, Hotel Riu Touareg Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bobble84 wrote a review Jan 2020
6 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From start to finish the whole experience was top notch. I honestly couldn’t fault this hotel one bit.
From the minute we arrived to check in we were handed welcome drinks while our luggage was taken up to our rooms.
Every single member of staff had a smile on their face and are so unbelievably friendly.
The rooms were clean and nicely decorated and had amazing views of the beach.
The pool was huge and had plenty of sunbeds and was surprisingly busy for January, but it was a good atmosphere.
The all inclusive buffets were outstanding, every day for each meal there was never a shortage of choice and the food was amazing.
The entertainment staff were brilliant, by the pool in the day time they kept it over to one side, so if you didn’t particularly want to listen or take part it was quieter over the other side. But they are all such great fun and have different activities planned each afternoon, including water aerobics and work out sessions. (I was too busy working on my tan)
The main pool is great, it was insanely cold though but the swim up bar was a great was to entice us in lol there is an adults only area but you have to pay extra for that. There is also a heated infinity pool overlooking the beach which we only found a day before we were leaving so can’t comment if it was warm or not lol
The island itself is incredibly windy but we couldn’t complain with temperatures hitting as high as 27 degrees in January.
The hotel is very secluded and has nothing around it. There are excursions if you are the type to get bored easily but from other people at the resort they didn’t seem worth the money and were left a little disappointed.
The beach is beautiful to walk along and you could walk for miles if you wanted. Unfortunately the sea is too rough and swimming is not allowed but fun to dip your feet in.
The evening entertainment was brilliant, each night something new. Always interacting with the audience and making everyone laugh and join in. Just a happy fun atmosphere.
Once the entertainment is over the karaoke bar opens, you have to get in quick to get a seat or you’ll be standing around the edge of the room. Again great atmosphere, everyone cheering the person singing for encouragement.
From there there is a ‘club’ pacha, but we weren’t looking for a clubby vibe to our holiday. We were more interested in getting to bed and getting up early to head down to the pool.
I can’t fault the hotel one bit, the staff are always busy doing something, whether it be the maids cleaning rooms, washing the floors, gardeners clearing up leaves or doing maintenance, the staff in the restaurants constantly clearing plates and setting up tables, the bar staff remembering your drinks and prepping fresh ones before you’ve even asked for them. It’s just amazing and makes you feel like royalty.
I’ve never been all inclusive before but would definitely do it again going forward and the tui Touareg is one I’d highly recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing chilled out holiday with great weather.
Boa Vista = No Stress
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Touareg
Responded Jan 24, 2020
Dear Bobble84, Thank you very much for your flattering words. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us from beginning to end. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future! With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Touareg Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David M wrote a review Feb 2020
20 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Have just come back after 2 weeks at the Touareg. We have enjoyed every minute of our holiday.
Flight was on time and airport was ok. The transfer was a bit bumpy but enjoyable.
Yes, this is a massive hotel and 2 full coach loads did result in queuing to check in, however reception was mob handed with plenty of staff and was well organised.
We stayed in the adult only area and would recommend it. Our room was, 4236, was perfect..fantastic view from our balcony especially the sunsets. Comfy bed, good air con, tea and coffee, large shower, minibar restocked every 2 days and optics of Rum, Whisky,Vodka and Brandy!
The adults pool was perfect for us with it's own jacuzzi and plenty of sun beds and nearby bar.The main pool we didn't use but looked good and there was an infinity pool at the other end of this massive hotel which was by the beach.
Food in all the restaurants was varied, clearly labelled and tasty.The main buffet was big with plenty of outdoor seating,despite a lot of people staying nowhere was there much of a queue to eat or drink. There was plenty of very friendly staff around. The grill restaurant was also open all day and we did tend to use it more.The other restaurants you had to book at reception they had 2 sittings normally 19.00 and 21.00. We tried them all, Asian, Italian, Boavistian and our favourite, the gourmet which was only for people staying in the adults area and the only true a la carte service including wine from a bottle.
The beer and wine were on tap and usual all inclusive fare, beer was easy drinking and I thought the red wine was best although my wife liked the rose.The only thing missing in these restaurants was the lack of music. The beach was amazing, you can walk for miles, however there are no bars or toilets. The sea was red flagged all the time we were there but it was fun going in and getting bounced around with the waves!
The weather was fab around 27/28° most days with a nice breeze, going down to 18/19° in the evenings.
We went on a african sunset dinner excursion with Tui. 30/40 minute drive to a lively, atmospheric beach restaurant. Sunset, fire eater, a choice of main...we really enjoyed the lobster and a live band, we loved it.
All in all a wonderful holiday, huge hotel but staffed with the friendliest people and well organised, we recommend it and will return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Touareg
Responded Feb 14, 2020
Dear David, Thank you so much for taking your time to share with us your experience and for trusting in Riu Hotels & Resorts! We're thrilled to hear that you had such a great stay with us! We hope that you will come and visit us again for another positive experience! Wish you all the best in meanwhile! With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Touareg Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Brian H
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom157 contributions104 helpful votes
Email hotel. Did see people with young babies there.
britishpike asked a question May 11
Birkenhead, United Kingdom28 contributions36 helpful votes
Can anyone recommend a room/block that has been refurbished and close to the pool? Thanks
Answer from SteveChapman
Wirral, United Kingdom197 contributions164 helpful votes
Sorry but we were there in 2018 and we went block 9 near the infinity pool was the refurbished block. I don’t know if any more blocks were upgraded since then.
Answer from Isaacbikes
Birmingham, United Kingdom2 contributions
You can go in the sea and the hotel have beds on the beach and use flags so you know when it is not safe to swim. Follow the flag system and you should be ok, many only paddle or go waist deep - they also have life guards as the sea can be rough. Some people did experience issues booking the restaurants - we booked without issue on the RIU app for the Italian, be warned they book up fast so consider booking asap. The Kulinarium (adults only) can only be booked at the desk & gents MUST wear long trousers and shirts… you can get away with smart clothing at the Italian (linen shorts and short sleeved shirt). Hope that gives you peace of mind :) enjoy your holiday.
Answer from David F
Worfield, United Kingdom37 contributions57 helpful votes
If you face the sea in the morning the sun rises from your left and follows the shoreline to set on your right. Still East to West.
Sandie M wrote a tip Today
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom24 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The infinity pool gets very busy very quick so get your towel out early. Recommend the upgrade to the refurbished rooms (9000's) "
Read full review
emmylooweez wrote a tip Today
Chesterfield, United Kingdom62 contributions27 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take your own insulated cups, these were a godsend! The huts on the beach sell great souvenirs at lower prices."
Read full review
FIREMANSAM_10 wrote a tip Yesterday
Ryde, United Kingdom85 contributions50 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book restaurants early Adult only area a must "
Read full review
caroline s wrote a tip May 18
Dumfries, United Kingdom24 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Airport takes a bit of time , nothing like Manchester or any uk airport"
Read full review
Big G wrote a tip May 18
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"take a good quality sun block "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Santa Monica area.
PRICE RANGE
$187 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
riu touareg hotel boa vista
LOCATION
Cape VerdeBoa VistaSanta Monica
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1,151
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL RIU TOUAREG $184 ($̶2̶1̶5̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Riu Touareg
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Riu Touareg?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Riu Touareg?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a pool view, and a sofa.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Riu Touareg?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Riu Touareg?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Riu Touareg?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Hotel Riu Touareg have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Riu Touareg offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Riu Touareg?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Riu Touareg?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Riu Touareg?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Pavoacao Velha. (7.7 miles).
Does Hotel Riu Touareg have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Hotel Riu Touareg accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Santa Monica HotelsSanta Monica Hotel DealsHotels near Hotel Riu Touareg
Things to DoFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars