We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
401 4th Street Elkwater Lake Lodge & Resort, Elkwater, Alberta T0J 1C0 Canada
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
Agoda.com
StayForLong
Hurb
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (51)
Room & Suite (28)
Pool & Beach (8)

About

Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
3.7
Value
3.5

See why so many travelers make Elkwater Lake Lodge their hotel of choice when visiting Elkwater. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers an array of amenities designed for travelers like you.

Rooms at Elkwater Lake Hotel offer a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a kitchenette providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi.

Room service and a sun terrace are some of the conveniences offered at this hotel. A pool and an on-site restaurant will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to Elkwater Lake Hotel, free parking is available.

While in Elkwater be sure to experience local ribs favorites at Camp Cookhouse and General Store.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Elkwater Lake Lodge as you experience all of the things Elkwater has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Skiing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
ATM on site
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Hindi, Korean
240Reviews0Q+A60Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 92
  • 68
  • 30
  • 32
  • 18
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
CESAR AYLLON wrote a review Jan 2023
Swift Current, Canada200 contributions4 helpful votes
This is an excellent choice to stay at any time in the year. The main building is surrounded by beautiful cabins and other rooms buildings, among the trees and close to the lake and to the main attractions in townsite. The staff are all polite, friendly, informative, smiling and helpful to the customers, special thanks to Johnny at front desk and the man attending the restaurant for breakfast time. Nice views of the surroundings from all of the rooms at this property. The Ski Centre is located at 5 min. drive south from the resort, so we went and try ski and snowboarding all day long. We're very glad to have enjoyed a 2 days package for reasonable price, call hotel for that or show onsite. We had lots of fun (myself, wife, daughter and dog) by snow-shoeing in the forest and on frozen lake, visiting the Information Centre *(small museum inside, gifts store, snow-shoes rental, nice young staff at front desk), by skating on the local Hockey rink, by tobboganing down hill, lunch at the cafe, and swimming at hotel pool. Our hotel room very confortable, clean, not too big, with gas fire pit, good tv choices, kitchenette, 2 queen beds, bathroom. For sure that we'll be back in summer time as there are many other activities different to do than in winter.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Great choice for families with kids, teenagers, pet friendly hotel, couples, seniors to visit and...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kerry T wrote a review Oct 2022
We booked a cabin at the beginning of October for Oct 28 and 29, 2022. We asked if there was a restaurant on site and was told there was and it was open until 9 pm each evening. We arrived on the 28th to have a relaxing weekend and catch up as we haven’t seen each other in 20+ years. Cabin had no heat, bathroom was falling apart to put it bluntly, and kitchen sink dripped constantly. We went for dinner at 7 only to be advised that the restaurant was closed until Sunday due to a wine festival being held! We were never advised of this even at check in! Even though we had a kitchen in our cabin we did not take food as we wanted a weekend away. Manager was not helpful. He did not care one bit. Said people didn’t care about their room, only came because of location. But at least he refunded our money and we left a day early! Very disappointed to say the least - and all for $260 per night
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Don’t go unless you want to be disappointed.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elkwater Lake Lodge, Other at Elkwater Lake Lodge
Responded Nov 5, 2022
We are very sorry to hear about your bad experience and the lack of communication about the restaurant being closed.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Barrie-The-Fiddler wrote a review Jun 2022
Calgary, Canada63 contributions18 helpful votes
We enjoyed our stay at this lovely lodge at Elkwater Lake on the Alberta side of the Cypress Hills Interprovincial Park. Our room was comfortable with a unique loft bedroom. The room also had a full kitchen.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elkwater Lake Lodge, Other at Elkwater Lake Lodge
Responded Jun 25, 2022
Thank you so much for the great review!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Timmy is big brain wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
‘‘Twas a romantic night at the Elkwater diner after a long hour of standing in freezing cold temperatures doing absolutely nothing. We all ordered our exquisitely divine garlic bread and EXTREME GRILLED CHEESE, and just then... our boy Timmy found his love. The waitress called him her honey, which was a first for big brain Timmy. The waitress didn’t speak fluent English... but I think Timmy liked it. We all piled out the back door to escape, as Timmy and the waitress stared each other down in love... before never seeing each other again. 10/10 experience for sure, a must stay and garlic bread.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Elkwater Lake Lodge, Other at Elkwater Lake Lodge
Responded Mar 12, 2022
This is awesome! Thank you for the review and a good laugh! Have a great day!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Levi D wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Twas a gloomy Saturday in March and we entered the elk water lake lodge. I knew it would be a most joyful experience. The garlic toast was much exquisite and divine. It made my heart very happy inside. ‘Twas the best experience of my life. Very exquisite
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Divine boy wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
‘Twas divine at the restaurant we had garlic bread and it was divine and everything else was divine especially the garlic toast cuz it was insanely divine to my tongue and my mouth you should go there cuz it was divine.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Bev wrote a review Sep 2021
2 contributions
We had a beautiful night at the lodge with a king size bed that was so incredibly comfy. Very clean and quiet. We had a corner bottom unit with a perfect little patio. Very enjoyable and did not hear chambermaids knocking and vacuuming early in the morning like some places.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort, General Manager at Elkwater Lake Lodge
Responded Sep 14, 2021
Glad you enjoyed your stay at the lodge! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ruth D wrote a review Aug 2021
Saskatoon, Canada52 contributions16 helpful votes
We took a mini vacation to Cypress Hills , Alberta. The room was a generous size.It was clean and well appointed. If you want your own balcony ask when you book as not all rooms have one. This hotel is within walking distance of everything in the town Elkwater. We enjoyed our meals at Buglers resturant which is attached.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elkwater Lake Lodge, Marketing at Elkwater Lake Lodge
Responded Aug 17, 2021
Thanks so much for the kind review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MUZIKM wrote a review Aug 2021
Saskatoon, Canada61 contributions49 helpful votes
Enjoyed three days here and loved the area. The Hotel was very clean and modern. Stayed one night in the condos next door which were very new. It's a typical resort area where the prices cost more. Food and lodging are more expensive here but well worth the stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort, General Manager at Elkwater Lake Lodge
Responded Aug 10, 2021
Thanks so much for the review. Glad you enjoyed the area, we sure love it here to.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kk S wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
Over priced for what you receive and fairly disorganized to check in and check out...Hotel California where you can never leave....haha....they always take the ringing phone over the customer at the counter...super frustrating as it makes you stand there and wait with a line up growing behind you. They also bumped us from our booked king room to a double bed and didn't tell us....and they had us booked for 2 nights when we only asked for one. Rooms are decent but not worth the price (ive paid less and stayed in downtown banff). Check in is not until 4pm...seems rather late???...I would not recommend this place to others looking to stay at elkwater...there is better options here for less.....rather disappointing to say the least.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nee Raj, General Manager at Elkwater Lake Lodge
Responded Aug 4, 2021
We are so sorry to hear the frustration with your stay. It is not our policy to stay on the phone when a guest is waiting however sometimes this is unavoidable. We are so sorry to hear this was your experience at check-in and check-out we will definitely strive to do better. We are also very sorry to hear that there was a mix up with your room and the amount of nights you were to stay, we will be looking into this as well. Our check in time is 4pm and it is a standard among several other hotels. Behind the scenes with check out being at 11am we have a short span if we have a full turn around of rooms. I'm very sorry you felt this was an inconvenience to you. We feel strongly that our price point is fair for the location in the beautiful Cypress Hills. Nonetheless we are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We take our reviews very seriously and we will strive to do better in all areas that we can.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$145 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
elkwater lake hotel alberta
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaElkwater
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ELKWATER LAKE LODGE $131 ($̶1̶4̶0̶) - Updated 2023 Prices & Hotel Reviews - Alberta

Frequently Asked Questions about Elkwater Lake Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Elkwater Lake Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Hidden Valley Ski Resort (0.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Elkwater Lake Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Elkwater Lake Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Elkwater Lake Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Elkwater Lake Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Elkwater Lake Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Camp Cookhouse and General Store, 12-34 Cafe and Pub, and Buglers Dining Room and Lounge.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Elkwater Lake Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Is Elkwater Lake Lodge located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Elkwater.
Are pets allowed at Elkwater Lake Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Elkwater Lake Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Hindi, and Korean.
Is Elkwater Lake Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.