We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Magnuson Hotel Benton

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Magnuson Hotel Benton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 26: English reviews
Montesano, Washington, Usa
Reviewed August 31, 2016 via mobile

Wish I would I have read the reviews on trip advisor first ! There was a sign in the lobby that stated there are no refunds after 15 minutes. That alone should have deterred us. But it was late ..we were tired and one of us were not feeling well. How bad could it be ? Room was dirty..smelled terrible..very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Reviewed July 25, 2016

Had driven for 7 hours, wanted a clean, convenient place to stay. I knew as soon as I walked into the lobby that this was a mistake, but was so tired. They allow pets & smoking here!!!! We asked for a pet-free, smoke-free room. The kid told us we could have a room that already had the air going for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank djmelmom
Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here because we have a 2 year old daughter(she's not ready for tent sleeping.), in-laws were camping at Rend Lake. Omg... I should have declined when I saw the lobby. Hallways are not air conditioned. Room was bad but when we went to shower the tub had BLACK MOLD!!! I'm an army girl so I've seen bad showers but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Latasha P
Rockwall, Texas
Reviewed October 31, 2015

First, this SHOULD NOT be listed as a "B&B"... it is hotel, and a shabby one at best. The room we got first had a headboard falling off the wall. Second one OK, but really showing signs of age everywhere. Tub was dirty, and there was something slimy on the floor that "ate" my boot soles, leaving sticky traces of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BobW75087
Reviewed June 4, 2015 via mobile

The hotel was nice. The rate was 59.99. I recommend asking for a deluxe room as the bed is very comfortable. Everything was clean. You can eat breakfast at the hotel next door, cereal toast and fruit. The hotel itself is a little outdated, but it's a good deal for the price. I would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emmarah20
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed May 17, 2015 via mobile

Very convenient location - close to highway, restaurants and walmart. Excellent value for the price, economically affordable. Rooms were clean and well maintained. Fresh towels and got more on request. Close to rend lake Bars, Gaming, gym available on site Staff was helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaMa G
Franklin, Kentucky
Reviewed May 15, 2015

I only stayed there because I was too tired to drive any further. There were 3 motels at this exit and all looked terrible.We picked this one. $70 a night is about three times what a place like this should rent for. All walls were painted bright yellow with red doors. Beds were worn out with 2 inch thick foam...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcc0471
Marysville, Ohio
Reviewed March 12, 2015

I stayed here for several months due to work. I had no choice as it's where company booked me.There are so many things wrong with this place it's hard to know where to start. Here we go: Exterior doors broken. The front desk is rarely staffed, instead someone may or may not come over from hotel next door..you have to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank bomar76
sunny k, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Benton, responded to this review

I would first like to say that I am sorry you feel like our hotel was not a good experience for you. I am responding to your review because I feel that you have provided our guest with a lot of false information. I would like to inform you sir, that we DO have a liquor license to run our...

Oak Forest, Illinois
Reviewed February 19, 2015

I stayed around for 20 minutes and no one came to the desk to check me out . The lobby was cold so I asked if the room was warm I was told it was WRONG it was ice cold. The shower had brown water coming out I left it run for 20 minutes and it became clear I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ed W
Illinois
Reviewed January 4, 2015

nice place.....loved d food in the restaurant...... d employess are very polite n helpful...even the owners are so kind n helpful.. i must say these indians rock... well done n keep goin...miss my stay..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank msssj
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

3 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benton
5.7 mi away
Lake Cove Hotel
Lake Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whittington
41 reviews
6.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#1 of 2 in West Frankfort
48 reviews
21.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Carbondale
Hampton Inn Carbondale
#2 of 9 in Carbondale
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center
21.8 mi away
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
#5 of 14 in Mount Vernon
491 reviews
21.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
#1 of 14 in Mount Vernon
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This Magnuson Hotels affiliate offers free wireless internet, a fitness room, a business center, local cuisine in the Nicks Okla-Tex restaurant, room service during limited hours, refreshments in the Sports Page Bar and pets are welcome with additional charges. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Benton

Address: 711 W Main St, Benton, IL 62812-1329
Location: United States > Illinois > Benton
Price Range: $57 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Benton 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Benton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Magnuson Hotel Benton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“There would be NO good rooms here. Would not recommend this place to my worst enemy.”
 of 5 bubbles djmelmom, Jul 25, 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles BobW75087, Oct 31, 2015 | Read review
“Best bet? Stay elsewhere.”
 of 5 bubbles bomar76, Mar 12, 2015 | Read review
“do visit the restaurant...”
 of 5 bubbles msssj, Jan 4, 2015 | Read review
“Wish I could say but I think all have roaches.”
 of 5 bubbles N5832TUjr, Dec 6, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay