We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Vellir, Olfuss 810 Iceland
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$157
View deal
Travelocity$177
FindHotel$177
Agoda.com$157
Orbitz.com$177
Etrip$177
Hotels.com
View all 9 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (256)
Room & Suite (67)
Dining (22)

About

#1 of 6 in Olfuss
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.3
Value
4.2
GreenLeaders Gold level
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Bar / lounge
Horseback riding
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Icelandic
270Reviews1Q+A14Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 139
  • 88
  • 27
  • 8
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Team Lykke wrote a review May 2022
Esbjerg, Denmark259 contributions55 helpful votes
+1
An overnight stay at Hótel Eldhestar in a room for 4 people. We stayed in the annex opposite the hotel. The annex is right next to the horse stable, so it was super cozy. We have booked with own shower and toilet, but in the annex there are only rooms with shared shower and toilet and kitchen facilities. However, we were the only guests, so that was fine. The room was simple with 4 beds and a sink and good with closet space. Neat and clean both in the room and in common areas. Coffee and tea available. Hótel Eldhestar is close to the Golden Circle and is a good starting point if you want to go on a trip. Parking both at the hotel and the annex. Nice breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
GeorgiaGail wrote a review May 2022
Nashville47 contributions20 helpful votes
We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at the hotel. Our room was clean, spacious and pleasant. The hotel is larger than we expected. Nice breakfast too. Very conveniently located just outside Hveragerdi. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Elena7484 wrote a review Feb 2022
London, United Kingdom82 contributions48 helpful votes
Absolutely lovely place! Rooms are huge and place is well cleaned and maintained! We had a great time as it is well positioned for the gold circle! Too notch in terms of value in comparison to other hotels in the area, I would definitely recommend it
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
ArniBjorn83 wrote a review Nov 2021
Reykjavik, Iceland16 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Me and my wife went for the 1 hour horseback ride and spent one night at the hotel. It was a wonderful 1 day stay, the hotel is nice and the staff is very helpful and nice. We are beginners when it comes to riding but this was well suited for us. Not too much action but lot of fun. Horses were very calm. The horse houses are just few steps away from the hotel so you get that farm side feeling. The hotel also has a hot tub which is nice to visit after the riding. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and the food was good, specially the breakfast. Overall, I will recommend. thanks.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Brian D wrote a review Jun 2021
Denver, Colorado2029 contributions257 helpful votes
+1
A unique hotel decorated with horse motif throughout the hotel and rooms. Each room is named after a different horse and outside the room it tells the story of the horse for which your room was named. There are horseshoes to hold the curtains open, horsehead decals on the windows, horse artwork, horse photos and more. The location couldn't be better with major tourist sites located just a short drive away and KEF airport just an hour away. The hotel is actually quite large, even though it doesn't appear that way from outside. Lots and lots of rooms inside. Parking was free right outside the room. The check-in process was okay, just don't arrive early. Check-out process was a breeze. The breakfast was really good and had a lot of options (waffles!). The room was clean and comfortable with lots of storage and room to relax. The bathroom was nice with a fair shower. Would stay here again on next visit to Iceland.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
dawn h wrote a review Jun 2021
Manhattan Beach, California2 contributions
It was an extraordinary horse riding experience. My guide was fantastic in all aspects! The driving staff was also friendly and informative making great conversation on the rides. Thanks and hope to ride with you all on my next visit to Iceland :)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Carola Bark wrote a review Sep 2020
Finspang, Sweden6 contributions
+1
We had an amazing trip in the beautiful valley of Thorsmörk. The trip was very good organised. Professional leaders, a fantastic chef who made excellent food and happy horses with a lot of tolt. I will give Eldhestar my best recommendation.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Paola C wrote a review May 2020
Reykjavik, Iceland102 contributions27 helpful votes
We really enjoyed the experience. Horseback riding was fun and the guides were very well prepared and friendly. We enjoyed the food as well and the staff was very friendly. The bed was also very comfy.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
adolfo o wrote a review Mar 2020
Santa Maria, California67 contributions47 helpful votes
+1
My daughter chose this place as the first overnight stop in Iceland. It’s situated close to a highway and located near a gas station. The place is so clean and nice. We were given a room in their Guest House with a shared living room, refrigerator and with some kitchen utensils to share. There’s a selection of teas that was also there for the guests use. There are 2 shared toilet and shower and one toilet for the guest house. Towels are provided and shampoo/conditioner and liquid body wash. There’s a restaurant on site that served dinner but the breakfast is free. The selection is excellent, from waffles to cereal, drinkable yogurt, toast, a variety of bread spreads , jams, cold cuts to make your sandwich, eggs, bacon and sausage, fresh fruit and orange and apple juice. Too bad it’s winter otherwise they also have a horse farm to see. Highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
chanshuikay wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom1207 contributions110 helpful votes
+1
Stayed here in Jan 2020. The hotel is conveniently located for visiting the golden circle and is great value for money. The staff were marvellous, all smiles and polite. Room and bathroom were spotless and comfortable. In the bedroom there was a hairdryer, soap and shower gel/shampoo, TV but nothing more. The room had heated floor and a glass back door with great view, which were nice touches, unfortunately we didn't see the northern lights when we stayed. The hotel offers horse riding tours, hence the hotel premises and rooms are decorated with a horse theme which was neat. Tea and coffee and cookies were available and self service in the lobby. There was a hot tub but we didn't try it. Breakfast was adequate. Compared to other places we stayed at in Iceland I thought Hotel Eldhestar was awesome value for money and can wholeheartedly recommend it!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tammy J, Front Office Manager at Hotel Eldhestar
Responded Feb 7, 2020
Dear guest, Thank you for staying at Hotel Eldhestar and thank you very much for the very nice, informative review. Your comments will really help other guests with questions they might have. We are happy to hear that you found the hotel to be a great value for the money :) I might say, one reason we don´t offer any appliances in the hotel rooms is because we are eco-labeled by the Nordic SWAN and have to be quite strict with our water and electricity usage among other things. We hope you come back sometime and will hopefully get to see the Northern Lights while sitting in the hot tub! Best regards, Tammy
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$94 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IcelandSouth RegionOlfuss
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Eldhestar
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Eldhestar?
Nearby attractions include Reykjadalur Hot Springs (3.5 miles), Hveragerdi - Stone and Mineral Museum (1.1 miles), and The exhibition Quake 2008 (1.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Eldhestar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Eldhestar?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Eldhestar?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Eldhestar?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ingolfsskali Viking Restaurant, Ölverk Pizza & Brewery, and Skyrgerdin.
Does Hotel Eldhestar have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel Eldhestar offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Hotel Eldhestar offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Eldhestar?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Icelandic.
Is Hotel Eldhestar accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.