We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Traveler (128)
Dining (15)
Pool & Beach (7)
Overview
Hotel website
E-mail hotel
Puerto de San Jose Guatemala See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
Room Service
Additional information
Visit Hotel Website
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveler rating
129
9
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
129
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat fishingfishing triptop notchfirst classthree daystunablue marlinrecommend casatop of the linebucket listfly rodworld classevery aspectevery morningcaptain chrisminute ridecenter console
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 138 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2018

We had an amazing time fishing with Capt. Chico and mates Alex and Arturo aboard the beautiful 37' Merritt "Release"!! In three days, we raised 58 sailfish and released 34! Also caught and released a 200lb blue marlin. Then there were the dorado and yellowfin...More

1  Thank captdon0459
Property's Favorite Review
Reviewed February 6, 2018

I have had the great fortune of fishing the Casa Vieja Lodge the past seven (7) years. Captain David Salazar has been able to create the most exceptional fishing experience possible. The captains and mates are experienced and will not disappoint. Aside from great fishing,...More

Thank NLMIII
Response from KristenCVL, Public Relations Manager at Casa Vieja LodgeResponded February 24, 2018

One way to put it...You have been spoiled the past 7 years!! With that many fish we are happy you didn't go pro and decide to leave us! We are beyond happy that annually you continually to choose Casa Vieja Lodge with so many other...More

Reviewed May 23, 2018

Went to Casa Vieja Lodge for a 3 day fishing trip. They picked me up at the airport, took me in a nice clean van to the lodge. Then we had great food, drinks, and exceptional rooms. When we fished for the three days, the...More

Thank fmysteelman
Reviewed May 3, 2018

And the fishing was excellent too. Have to say traveling to Guatemala to sailfish is a must do for anyone who ever has cast a line. Boats are in excellent condition, top of the line gear and crews who know what they are doing. Myself...More

2  Thank marksE8456UM
Reviewed April 8, 2018

Just returned from Casa Vieja.....7 of us traveled there 3 of us return visitors and 4 first timers......Entire experience from very first moment van pick up to final drop off at airport was outstanding. Service, food & drink, rooms, amenities were all excellent. Most important...More

Thank pflcjl
View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Shuttle Bus Service
Airport Transportation
Laundry Service
Room Service
Free Parking
Wheelchair access
Business Center with Internet Access
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Details
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (128)
Dining (15)
Pool & Beach (7)
Room & Suite (6)
Family and Play Areas (16)
Business Center & Event Rooms (4)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
lisfoote33
March 7, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from KristenCVL | Property representative |
About. 3 min drive from the Marina. You can see it on google maps too
0
Votes
Jim R
May 15, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from KristenCVL | Property representative |
Hi Jim, you can take home the pelagic fish like the mahi mahi and tuna, but the billfish are all strictly catch and release. We will clean and vacuum pack your fish for you. If you have a bag to use to transport back home... More
0
Votes
hvyjetpilot
September 28, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from KristenCVL | Property representative |
Yes, the packages include round-trip chauffeured ground transfers to and from GUA Airport. We can also arrange any trips to Antigua as well.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"All rooms are excellent and similar in amenities"
Read review
"Rooms 23 and 24 were awesome!"
Read review
"Rooms are either ground floor or up one flight of stairs."
Read review
"I would stay on the 2nd floor so as not to hear the people above you, although it's not too noisy."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing