We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tamarack Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tamarack Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 161: English reviews
Portland Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights during our motorcycle trip. Although our room 210 had a deck facing Bald Mountain with great views, the facility needs lots of work. The stairway to the room is old, mildew all over shower tile, constantly dripping bar sink, glass door sliders that didn't open easily, ripped screen and their lodge sign lit up the... More 

Helpful?
Thank OregonFamof6
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location, comfortable beds (if you like softer mattresses). Front desk staff was friendly, fast and helpful! Place was older, but not too bad. Large room with sofa and coffee table. Sink space was smaller and a challenge for my wife when she was getting ready. We stayed on a Monday night (Labor Day) and the next morning the alley... More 

Helpful?
Thank David L
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

At $230/night, I expected at least a decent room. Not so. Was very dark and dingy and felt not clean. The area for the ice machine smelled bad, the bed was not comfortable (too soft for me). It is very conveniently located in downtown Ketchum but we will not be back. I was surprised that it got 4stars on TA... More 

Helpful?
Thank J W
HayMaxHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review

From all of us at the Tamarack Lodge we want to thank you for your support of our hotel and for taking the time to post a review. We pride ourselves on providing clean and comfortable accommodations in an excellent location in Sun Valley and Ketchum. We have some exciting improvements planned for the future and we hope you will... More 

Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
205 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The lodge is conveniently located in the middle of town within walking distance of restaurants and shops. Our room was much larger than the typical hotel room and was very comfortable. Laundry facilities were on site. The lodge is showing its age although efforts to keep it in good condition were obvious. There is no included breakfast and no restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank twballard
Delaware, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This facility has a 14 day cancellation policy. But aside from that I cannot fault the place except for the lumpy pillows. I would expect better for the price of the room. We had a late check in and were accommodated nicely by the front desk clerk who came out of his room to see that we got our key.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pamela S
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A full week before our one-night reservation, we had a tragic death in the family. Despite my call to the property to explain the situation, they refused to refund any portion of our $140 reservation. I was shocked and disgusted. We will certainly never give them our business again. Heartless.

Helpful?
Thank Emily F
HayMaxHotels, General Manager at Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Emly F, We are so very sorry about your loss and we hope your family is doing ok at this time. We always feel very badly when these situations occur however our cancellation policy is based on guests making plans for resort locations well in advance and our need to reserve those rooms and turn other guests away... More 

Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2016

Clean and comfortable motel. A bit dated, but the room was large and the bed very comfy. The motel staff were friendly and helpful. The location was within walking distance for dinner and breakfast. Small balcony, large TV and sitting area.

Helpful?
Thank OregonJoe
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2016 via mobile

A great little place - in the heart of downtown Ketchum! Seriously, walking distance to everything. Everything. It was quaint, clean and very comfortable. We loved our adjoining rooms that exited to the cute little courtyard. And some nice attention was recently paid to the landscaping. Overall, very pleased with this little hotel.

Helpful?
Thank iheartco25
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2016

The property can't be beat for location and easy access to town. But, it comes with a price. Noise! Part comes from within the hotel walls, which are very thin, and a lot comes from the location. It is an old tired property, shower drain didn't work, chips in the paint, it felt like a throwback to the 70's! Pretty... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gwen D
Jerome, Idaho
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016

We stayed in one of the fireplace (pet friendly) rooms. We were only there one night, but enjoyed our stay. Although it is older, there have been some updates and the room and property was very clean. Everything worked well and the room was spacious. It was nice being able to exit the room from the slider and go through... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sheryl B
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ketchum
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tyrolean Lodge
0.4 mi away
Knob Hill Inn
Knob Hill Inn
#1 of 10 in Ketchum
5.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sun Valley Lodge
Sun Valley Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sun Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
11.1 mi away
Wood River Inn
Wood River Inn
#1 of 4 in Hailey
4.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
10.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Hailey - Sun Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Tamarack Lodge looks forward to your visit to the Sun Valley area welcoming you with beautiful spacious rooms, comfort, unmatched hospitality, combined with unparalleled location all yours in the heart of downtown Ketchum, with all the comforts of home. The property also has a beautifully landscaped courtyard, a wonderfully relaxing outdoor hot tub with a great mountain view and a year-round indoor heated pool. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tamarack Lodge

Address: 291 N. Walnut Ave., Ketchum, ID 83340
Location: United States > Idaho > Sun Valley-Ketchum > Ketchum
Price Range: $117 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tamarack Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Tamarack Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Lodge Ketchum, Idaho
Tamarack Hotel Ketchum
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay