Tamarack Lodge

Tamarack Lodge

COVID precautions
Traveler (68)
Tiny but pleasant deck with view of nearby mountains
Room & Suite (91)
Business Center & Event Rooms (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#5 of 8 hotels in Ketchum
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.2
Value
4.1
The Tamarack Lodge offers unmatched hospitality, combined with an unparalleled location in the heart of downtown Ketchum, ID. Offering all the comforts of home, our superior location in downtown places you steps away from fine dining, shopping and outdoor activities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bicycles available
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Skiing
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
24-hour check-in
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English

Location

291 Walnut Ave, Ketchum, ID 83340
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 89 out of 100
89
Sun Valley Airport
12.6 mi
See all flights
Boise Air Terminal (Gowen Field)
93.7 mi
See all flights
278Reviews3Q+A64Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 134
  • 75
  • 35
  • 19
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
JLEagle1983 wrote a review Mar 2020
Boston, Massachusetts5 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Conveniently located in the heart of Ketchum off Main Street, the Tamarack Lodge is a short walking distance ((5 to 10 minutes) from excellent fine dining or rustic, local eateries, wine and brew pubs, as well as bars offering live music and entertainment. Free bus system gets you to the both Dollar Mt. and Bald Mt. or basically anywhere you want to go in town. My king bed (really comfortable) room was spacious, complete with couch/sitting area, large screen TV, microwave and mini refrigerator. Modern, yet homey feeling of the space complimented by soft lighting (some industrial chic) and framed artwork/ interesting wall painting related to skiing at Sun Valley. Usually bring my own toiletries, but was pleasantly surprised with the size, quality and array of products (shampoo, conditioner, bath gel, hand soap and lotion) in a subtle lavender/citrus scent. Totally enjoyed a soak in the jacuzzi i (very clean and chlorinated properly) after a day of skiing at Bald Mt. As a first time visitor to the area, found the staff to be extremely knowledgeable, friendly and available to help with any questions (and we had a few!) Would definitely stay again if returning to the area for more winter or summer fun.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LynnStewart11, General Manager at Tamarack Lodge
Responded Mar 13, 2020
Thank you so much for that glowing review. It means a lot to the staff! So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Can't wait to see you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shers2017 wrote a review Jan 2020
Los Angeles, California3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family of 3 was hesitant to stay at a 2 1/2 star lodge, but we are glad we did! Our 1 BR suite was spacious and bright and renovated. The shower was great with endless hot water and good pressure. Todd at the front desk provided exceptional service from beginning to end. He help carry our luggage up 3 flights of steps, provided extra bedding for the sofa bed for my daughter and gave great local recommendations. He was never more than a phone call away even when we wanted to go to the hot tub. It is an older property so be sure to choose your room wisely as the floors and walls are thin and noice travels easily. Location is fantastic! Looking forward to hopefully returning again soon!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LynnStewart11, General Manager at Tamarack Lodge
Responded Jan 6, 2020
I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that Todd was so accommodating. He loves to make people happy and we are so fortunate to have him on our team! Hope to see you soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Skuabird wrote a review Jan 2021
Boise, Idaho27 contributions53 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
2nd visit to this lodge and as always, a great experience. The location can't be beat, the rooms are large, come with fridges, balconies and are very comfortable. Contact less registration and departure was easy. The staff was readily available via text for any questions or needs. Plus, the locals discount was sweet as was the upgrade to a room with a fireplace! My only suggestion is to please add a floor lamp or 2 so we don't need overhead lights at night.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for the top floor for noise reduction
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lynn Stewart, General Manager at Tamarack Lodge
Responded Jan 12, 2021
Thank you for your review and feedback. The next thing on our list during this remodel is light fixtures. We will definitely being looking at many floor lamp options as we understand this issue is in a few of our rooms. Please, come back in a few months and hopefully we will have this resolved. So happy you enjoy staying with us and we can't wait to see you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lightning21 wrote a review Aug 2021
Walnut Creek, CA115 contributions37 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This has a great location with walking distance to restaurants and shopping. The spacious room had a modern decor and was comfortable. An extra sink and counter (in addition to the one in the bathroom) was a nice touch. Free bike rentals were available. The staff was very accommodating.

On the downside bringing luggage to the room was not too fun due to the stairs and distance from the parking. No elevator was available. The washing machine in the hotel was broken and it appeared that it would be a long time before it was repaired.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lynn Stewart, General Manager at Tamarack Lodge
Responded Aug 27, 2021
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in our spacious and updated rooms! I know for some not having an elevator can be difficult. You would be welcome to request a first floor room next time you come to visit. Our first floor rooms open up to the beautiful back courtyard area. So sorry to hear you had a hard time with our guest laundry washing machine. However, we have inspected the machine and it is working great. During your next stay we can assist you in operating it if you need. Hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martha B. wrote a review Jul 2020
9 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a great stay at Tamarack Lodge! They have carefully and responsibly figured out how to navigate these strange COVID times. Extra items were in plastic bags in the room, check-in and check-out was easy, the room and bathroom were clean, and the beds were very comfortable. It was extra nice to have our own balcony with two chairs and small table overlooking the courtyard. Location is also great! It was easy to walk to restaurants, bars, stores, coffee shops, etc. Archie, our dog, enjoyed his stay as well.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Our neighbors overhead were a little noisy when walking around because we had a third floor above...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lynn Stewart, General Manager at Tamarack Lodge
Responded Aug 3, 2020
Thank you for this glowing review! We are so pleased you felt comfortable and enjoyed our new Covid cleaning processes. We take our guests safety very seriously. Plus, praise from your fur baby! We are feeling the love. Please, come and see us again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
003micky4 wrote a review Feb 2021
mt2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I made this trip because I had to have a specialist treat my dog and was really nervous. I called during my drive there with question about my room and immediately felt more relaxed because of how nice and helpful they were. Todd checked me in and was professional, helpful and was very quick to get me coffee or whatever else I needed. The room was perfect and I liked the little balcony and so did Moby, my dog. I would not hesitate to stay again, the room was great but the people are even better.
Thank you,
Kay and Moby
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lynn Stewart, General Manager at Tamarack Lodge
Responded Feb 11, 2021
Thank you for that glowing review. We are so glad you and your furry friend enjoyed your stay and we hope everything went well with Dr. Acker! Please, come visit again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travelin Glen wrote a review Mar 2020
Castro Valley41 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Truth I. Advertising!!!!
The tamarack kept every promise made when making the reservation. The location is smack dab in the middle of town and easy access by foot and bus (free local buses). Rooms comfortable jacuzzi perfect and Paul at the desk made sure we had all that we needed. He was great and is a host on the slopes.... Definatly will stay again without hesitation.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LynnStewart11, General Manager at Tamarack Lodge
Responded Mar 10, 2020
Thank you for your glowing review. We take pride in our straight forward service and are so happy you enjoyed our location and amenities! Hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CallieMarie117 wrote a review Feb 2021
Charlotte, North Carolina42 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve stayed here two times now, and I’m officially hooked. We live in Boise and love to get away for the weekends with our dog in Ketchum. Tamarack Lodge is very clean, location is literally the best, and they allow pets for a very minimal fee. No issues or questions. I definitely recommend this hotel if you’re looking for quality and location in town.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lynn Stewart, General Manager at Tamarack Lodge
Responded Mar 1, 2021
Thank you for your review! We are so happy you and your furry friend love it here. Can't wait to see you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Flora N wrote a review Mar 2021
2 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a great stay. The family suite was perfect for a family of four and allowing us to have our own space. Todd was very helpful when I called to ask several questions and make our reservation. We did have one minor issue with the heater not working properly in one of the rooms but maintenance fixed it the next day. In the interim, they offered us another room, but when we declined, they brought us a space heater and extra blankets which sufficed. The hot tub was great after a day of skiing - just that we had to walk to the back in the cooler weather. Local bus is easy to use; restaurants are within walking distance.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Family suite was a great value, especially with young adults who like to stay up later.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lynn Stewart, General Manager at Tamarack Lodge
Responded Mar 4, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! Sorry about the pesky heater. Glad we could get it fixed right away and supply you with enough to get you by until then. Our hot tub is a great way to end the day with the beautiful views of Baldy. Come back and see us again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amy S wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Exceeded Expectations is truly an understatement. We received a text prior to our arrival, confirming our check in time so they could have our room ready and our pillows were fluffed. I loved this customer service detail. The customer service blew us away from beginning to end. Bobbie was so warm and welcoming. She answered all our touristy questions and gave us great recommendations on dinner and breakfast. Both were amazing.

We hit the jackpot this trip... Tamarack lodge is not only affordable... it's location is perfectly placed in the center of everything, the rooms, the swimming pool, the cleanliness, the staff and all of it exceeded expectations.

We will never stay anywhere else in the area again.

Happy New Years and Best wishes always,

The Saylors Family
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LynnStewart11, General Manager at Tamarack Lodge
Responded Jan 6, 2020
Thank you for your review! We are so fortunate to have Robbie representing our beautiful property. I know she will really appreciate this review! Can't wait for you to come back and see us again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
halftrakfarm asked a question Jan 2017
wa1 contribution1 helpful vote
Shuttle to ski lifts?
Answer from iheartco25
Carbondale, Colorado172 contributions63 helpful votes
No shuttle, however, the free local bus picks up directly in front of the hotel regularly throughout the day and transports to both ski areas.
Answer from Emily Colson Hill
Idaho49 contributions14 helpful votes
Hi! Google says it's about 1.5 miles away. I'm not sure if they have a ski shuttle or not.
ladyerica wrote a tip Jan 2022
Ketchum, Idaho195 contributions105 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you must stay here, stay in the top floor!"
Read full review
Flora N wrote a tip Mar 2021
2 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Family suite was a great value, especially with young adults who like to stay up later."
Read full review
Skuabird wrote a tip Jan 2021
Boise, Idaho27 contributions53 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for the top floor for noise reduction"
Read full review
Martha B. wrote a tip Jul 2020
9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Our neighbors overhead were a little noisy when walking around because we had a third floor above us."
Read full review
SeaStraw2 wrote a tip Dec 2019
2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Guests are accommodated nicely by suggestions by the front desk."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ketchum area.
PRICE RANGE
$136 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tamarack lodge ketchum, tamarack hotel ketchum
LOCATION
United StatesIdahoKetchum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TAMARACK LODGE

Frequently Asked Questions about Tamarack Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Tamarack Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Silver Creek Outfitters (0.2 miles), Wood River Museum of History and Culture (0.06 miles), and PK's Ski and Sports (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Tamarack Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Tamarack Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Tamarack Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tamarack Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sawtooth Club, Kneadery, and Enoteca.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tamarack Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Is Tamarack Lodge located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Ketchum.
Are pets allowed at Tamarack Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Tamarack Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Ketchum HotelsKetchum Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in KetchumHotels near Tamarack Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars