We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Excelsior Venice Lido Resort

Save
Share
Lungomare Guglielmo Marconi 41, 30126 Lido di Venezia Italy
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$492
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/05/22
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Only 5 left at
$424
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/06/22
Hotel Website
Priceline
travelup.com$526
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (931)
Room & Suite (494)
Pool & Beach (152)

About

#11 of 35 hotels in Lido di Venezia
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
3.9
Value
3.5
With its unique beachfront location overlooking the sparkling Adriatic Sea, the five-star Hotel Excelsior Venice is uniquely positioned to offer guests a tranquil haven just 15-minutes from Venice on one of our courtesy boats. Located on the fashionable Venice Lido beach, Excelsior was built in 1908 and quickly became the ultimate destination for the world’s rich and famous. Today, Hotel Excelsior, with its unique Moorish architecture and enviable beach location, continues to offer guests the same five-star elegance and splendour that has been enjoyed for more than 100 years.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Kids club
Airport transportation
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Personal trainer
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
VIP room facilities
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Italian
1257Reviews50Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 548
  • 341
  • 171
  • 113
  • 84
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Steve B wrote a review Aug 2022
Telford, United Kingdom102 contributions77 helpful votes
We arrived here 4 days ago and I'm surprised at how quiet the hotel is, the beach is also very quiet, too quiet for us. The only area that seemed busy was the swimming pool, but that was just judged by the number of sun beds reserved with towels, much of which stayed unused during the days we sat out there. The pool service was a bit hit and miss, the staff were very friendly, but you had to go find them if you wanted to place an order. No food allowed by the pool was also a bit of a shock, only drinks were allowed. For 5 star prices, we expect 5 star service. The free shuttle boat to the main island is a big plus, mainly because there is very little to do at this hotel. It runs pretty much every 30 mins and we used it lots. Personally for us, this hotel is too remote, and too quiet. We should have stayed on the main Venice island. Our bedroom was very nice, good air con, clean, nice balcony, good mini bar. We walked to Granviale Santa Maria Elisabetta a few nights, this is a busy street for shopping and restaurants on the Lido, definitely worth checking it out.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Deluxe sea view rooms are nice, come with a balcony too
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alessio Lazazzera, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Venice Lido Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear SteveUK999, Thank you for dedicating your time to share your experience at our Hotel. We are glad to know that you appreciated the shuttle boat to St. Mark Square; at the same time, we regret to learn that your stay with us did not completely meet your expectations and we took good note of your comments, crucial in supporting our improvement efforts. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future. Sincerely, Alessio Lazazzera - General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Magdalena K wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
The hotel is not dog friendly. They ask to pay 50 euros per night for a dog, but the dog is not allowed to do anything. He's supposed to sit in the room and that's it. The service does not say good morning to the guest. Breakfasts are not good, boring. You wait 20 minutes for coffee and tea and you have to catch the waiters because they don't come by themselves. Tents on the beach terribly expensive: 100 to 430 Euro per day. Nice pool, but service unpleasant. You have to ask for everything. Very expensive hotel for the quality of service. Nice beach, wide, very warm water. The location of the hotel is very good - right on the beach. There are free boats to Venice that run every half hour.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alessio Lazazzera, Direttore generale at Hotel Excelsior Venice Lido Resort
Responded Aug 8, 2022
Dear Kostkalola, Thank you to take the time to share your opinion of your experience. The comments of our guests are of great importance to us as they allow us to indicate the services to be improved. Thank you for choosing the Hotel Excelsior and we hope to have the opportunity to have you again as our guest. Best Regards, Alessio Lazazzera, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert I wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
We came over from the Gritti Palace, which puts this hotel to shame. The beach is nice and the water was warm and wonderful. The staff seemed very put off, from asking for drinks or a water taxi to the Gritti, be ready for an attitude. I thought it had some nice aspects, but the staff was very disappointing. Paid $115 Euro for a half day cabana, and they put us down on another property with no service.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alessio Lazazzera, Direttore generale at Hotel Excelsior Venice Lido Resort
Responded Aug 8, 2022
Dear robertiG6515JK, Thank you for dedicating your time to share your experience at our hotel. We regret to learn that your stay with us did not completely meet your expectations and we took good note of your comments, crucial in supporting our improvement efforts. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future. Alessio Lazazzera - General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Natalie wrote a review Jul 2022
Copenhagen, Denmark6 contributions
We went to this hotel as a family for 3 nights and was expecting a 5 star hotel. The location and hotel is nice in itself. Of course the beach and the shuttle to venice is magnificient. The disappointment comes with the terrible and slow service and the overprice everything. We have stayed in many fine 5 star hotels and this is the first time, I experience such lousy service. For the price they charge and surplus for the beach cabanas, this hotel is not worth the money.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alessio Lazazzera, Direttore generale at Hotel Excelsior Venice Lido Resort
Responded Aug 4, 2022
Dear ghazales2016, Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at our property. We are glad to know that you have appreciated our hotel with its unique location, in front of the sea, and shuttle boat service to St. Mark Square, exclusive for our guests. At the same time we regret to know that your experience did not fully meet your expectations and we wish to thank you for your comments and suggestions, as they are indeed crucial in supporting our improvement efforts to offer to our guests the attentive service they deserve. We hope to welcome you back again soon. All the best, Alessio Lazazzera, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chrismranger wrote a review Jul 2022
Portsmouth, United Kingdom743 contributions400 helpful votes
A fantastic location and very impressive building with great staff Although we did not stay in the hotel we actually visited their cabanas for a day on the beach. Great service , although a little expensive, and surprisingly quiet, with a only a few guests.. Each was good, clean, except for the odd jellyfish, but unfortunately even though we did experience an issue with our wallet being stolen on the beach, the staff could not have done anything more to help us, including free transport, writing off the day.’s bill, as we had no means to pay and instructed the local police who visited the scene as well. So even though we were seriously fed up with the theft, the hotel and their staff did all they could to t4y and make a bad situation better, so a big Thankyou to them all.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alessio Lazazzera, Direttore generale at Hotel Excelsior Venice Lido Resort
Responded Jul 19, 2022
Dear Chrismranger, We would like to thank you for the feedback on your recent stay at our property. We are glad to know that you liked our iconic building overlooking the azure sea of Venice Lido and we are pleased that you appreciated our efforts commitment to make your experience more enjoyable. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Alessio Lazazzera - General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RosemaryKellyKane wrote a review Jun 2022
Belfast, United Kingdom57 contributions47 helpful votes
This is a glorious heritage building in a fabulous setting with a long sandy beach set on the Adriatic Sea. The hotel provides an excellent reliable Shuttle Boat service to San Marco about every half hour up until late in the evening. The food and service in the Adriatico Restaurant is of the highest quality. The staff are completely professional at all times although at busy times they are clearly understaffed. However, the food and service in the Blue Bar was a disaster without even the ability to cook a pizza properly. On a number of occasions two half masked Managers in business suits stood chatting throughout the evening while an excellent senior waiter with one very new apprentice tried and failed to keep up with food and wine demands. Breakfast ran like clockwork in terms of both waiting staff and kitchen. The background musical entertainment was of the highest quality.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alessio Lazazzera, Direttore generale at Hotel Excelsior Venice Lido Resort
Responded Jun 27, 2022
Dear RosemaryKellyKane, Thank you for sharing with us your experience at the Hotel Excelsior. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the location on the sunny golden beach and the exclusive shuttle boat, that in a short ride takes our guests to the magnificent St. Mark Square. Our main goal is to deliver extraordinary experiences and truly memorable stays in a glamorous location and we wish to thank you for your suggestions, it is essential for us to receive guest’s feedback in order to continue improving our services. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the next future. Sincerely, Alessio Lazazzera, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jaime wrote a review Jun 2022
Lido di Venezia, Italy1 contribution
This was my first trip to Italy, and the staff of the Blue Bar were more than welcoming and made me feel very at home. The cocktails were incredible done by Lino, Giacomo, and Simone, they were very attentive and made sure everything was perfec
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alessio Lazazzera, Direttore generale at Hotel Excelsior Venice Lido Resort
Responded Jun 24, 2022
Dear Escape13702770148, We would like to thank you very much for choosing Hotel Excelsior, we are really proud you took away such positive impressions of your experience with us. It is a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your time at Blue Bar were our team tried to offer you the attentive service our guests deserve. Our main goal is to deliver extraordinary experiences and truly memorable stays in a glamorous location and we look forward to welcome you back soon for new unforgettable memories. Sincerely, Alessio Lazazzera - General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JK wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Many thanks to Lino and his team in the blue bar for making our stay so very special - food was delicious, the staff was friendly, courteous and even knew some German! We have shared a lot of brilliant memories here in the past with my grandparents, and the blue bar team did not disappoint in creating new fantastic ones. We are very much looking forward to our next stay!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alessio Lazazzera, Direttore generale at Hotel Excelsior Venice Lido Resort
Responded Jun 24, 2022
Dear jennak940, We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you have appreciated our Hotel with its magic atmosphere. Our greatest satisfaction is being able to offer our guests memorable experiences and memories and we are proud to know that you have spent unforgettable moments with us. Thank you for choosing our Hotel Excelsior Venice Lido Resort and we hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Alessio Lazazzera - General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard R wrote a review May 2022
Vienna, Austria2315 contributions201 helpful votes
Returned to the Excelsior for a long weekend in late May, 12 years after we spent our honeymoon here. Glad to report that it's as good as it used to be. The hotel is a bit like a luxurious ocean-liner of a bygone era, well maintained to preserve the charme, yet updated to meet the expectations of todays travellers. For us, the main advantage is staying on the beach in a seaside-resort (still quiet in May) and being in the (crowded) center of Venice within 15 minutes on the hotel's private courtesy boats (arriving right next to St. Mark's). Fantastic, especially when travelling with a child. After some tiring sightseeing in the morning and lunch in Venice, afternoon was spent relaxing at the large, heated outdoor pool, where kids make new friends and even parents get some rest. Breakfast was served in their beach-level bistro and it was excellent (selection and quality). Our room (241) was quiet, facing the Moorish courtyard, but smaller than other grand deluxe rooms we have stayed in previously. Also, the bathroom was rather small. On the other hand, the space for the extra-bed for our son was a bit separated, which was great. The room was perfectly clean and made-up twice daily. The concierges are taking perfect care of all your needs (from rental bicycles to difficult restaurant reservations). Note that it is a good idea to contact them already before arrival, especially for dinner reservations on Fri/Sat. Thanks Alessandro for still finding us a table! Alltogether highly recommended and we hope to return soon! One point of critique/suggestion: For some (legal?) reason, the courtesy boats are currently only allowed to take 12 passengers (which is about half the capacity). This means that at some times, you have to either be at the mooring 20 minutes before departure or you will have to wait 30 minutes for the next boat. Understandably, a lot of other quests were disappointed about that and I suppose this problem needs very urgent attention. After all, the boat to St. Mark's is one of the main advantages of the Excelsior and probably the only reason why guests mainly coming to Venice for sightseeing are staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alessio Lazazzera, Direttore generale at Hotel Excelsior Venice Lido Resort
Responded Jun 13, 2022
Dear nemorino79, First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write the attentive and very welcome feedback on your recent experience at our hotel. We are immensely pleased that you mentioned your stay at the Excelsior during the special occasion of your honeymoon and even now you have had a great time with us. We are happy to know that your stay has met your expectations in all aspects, from the location of the hotel, a few minutes by boat from St. Mark Square but at the same time away from the crowds, to the Moorish Courtyard, to the Elimar restaurant, and to the room; and also that you have found satisfying the services offered to our guests. With regards to the boat service, the legislation limits the number of passengers and we are sorry if this may have caused inconvenience. Our main goal is to deliver extraordinary experiences and truly memorable stays in a glamorous location and we look forward to welcome you back soon for new unforgettable memories. Sincerely, Alessio Lazazzera - General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roberts wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We loved our stay here in Venice. Great location with wonderful rooms. The bar offers wide selection of choices. Even the food was delicious and menù at restaurants very complete. The hotel is well situated and very close to the main places in town. We will be back
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alessio Lazazzera, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Venice Lido Resort
Responded Mar 11, 2022
Dear Robertshaw124, We would like to thank you very much for choosing Hotel Excelsior, we are really proud you took away such positive impressions of your stay with us. It is a great pleasure to know that you have appreciated our Hotel with its unique location and the spacious rooms, at only a short boat ride from the heart of Venice and we are happy that you have enjoyed the menu offer at our restaurants and bars. Our main goal is to deliver extraordinary experiences and truly memorable stays in a glamorous location and we look forward to welcome you back soon for new unforgettable memories. Sincerely, Alessio Lazazzera - General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$352 - $584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
westin excelsior venice lido hotel, westin venice, venice westin
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Excelsior Venice
LOCATION
ItalyVenetoProvince of VeniceCity of VeniceLido di Venezia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
196
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Excelsior Venice Lido Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Excelsior Venice Lido Resort?
Nearby attractions include Sala Volpi - Palazzo del Cinema (0.1 miles), Chiesa Parrocchiale di S.Antonio di Padova (0.3 miles), and Ex Casino Municipale (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Excelsior Venice Lido Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Excelsior Venice Lido Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Excelsior Venice Lido Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Excelsior Venice Lido Resort?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Excelsior Venice Lido Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Glamy Bistrot, La Tavernetta, and La Cantinita.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Excelsior Venice Lido Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Hotel Excelsior Venice Lido Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel Excelsior Venice Lido Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Hotel Excelsior Venice Lido Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Excelsior Venice Lido Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Excelsior Venice Lido Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 1.0 miles away from the center of Lido di Venezia.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Excelsior Venice Lido Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.