We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Boise University Area

#18 of 55 Hotels in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Boise University Area
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 137: English reviews
Springhill, Louisiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Staff all seem to have excellent knowledge of local eateries and attractions. They most helpful. The rooms (2 different stays on our recent trip) were also excellent. Good access to airport. The complimentary breakfast (an HIE standard) was above standard. Great place to stay if you are in Boise for business, pleasure, or combination.

Helpful?
Thank Charlie P
Pocatello, Idaho
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The most positive thing I have to say about this hotel is about the breakfast staff who was very welcoming and friendly. Our hot water did not work for 2 days. (which the staff knew about the day we checked in and gave NO warning) The air conditioner in the gym was broken. One of my coworkers air conditioner in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Football_Mom422
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
125 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel itself was fine. Rooms nice, new and clean and quiet. Only issue was how slow and incompetent staff seemed to be. It took me over an hour to check in. How is that even possible? Staff also some how lost my platinum number and were just bumbling.

Helpful?
Thank RichardCLT
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boise University Area, responded to this review

Dear RichardCLT, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are glad that you found our hotel to be nice and our rooms to be clean and quiet. On the other hand, we would like to apologize for the less than satisfactory level of service you received from our staff. Reviews like... More 

Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

People were friendly and the breakfast was good and location was great. The Hotel has been remodeled but it's not the greatest. The beds are not the best but aren't the worst either. It was a great place for us to stay while we attended a soccer Tourney.

Helpful?
Thank Vanetten5
kory s, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boise University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your time writing this review. We hope you had fun in Boise an will remember us when you return for your next soccer tournament. More 

Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
805 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 771 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

The University area Holiday Inn Express was convenient for our stay in Boise. The building is older yet solidly-built; it makes me think of a Holiday Inn. The building could use some update of carpets, paint, furniture, and business computers, and the hallways are dark – some lighter paint might help. While not the best in town, the hotel overall... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredTravelerTN
kory s, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boise University Area, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind words. We really appreciate you taking your time to write us such a nice review. I hope the next time you come to town you'll think about us. Clean is what we live by here at the Holiday Inn Express University Area. More 

Yoakum
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here one night during road trip 2016. Unfortunately the young lady at the front desk was brand new and working without supervision. Check in didn't meet the IHG standard. Keys were not ready but she said they don't do that at this property. Gave here the opportunity to recover by asking here to complete the transaction, paperwork and keys,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth H
kory s, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boise University Area, responded to this review

I'm VERY sorry you felt that way about our Guest Guest Agent. The Desk can we very daunting at times for new employees an scary at others. I know this no excuse but please forgive us. We are glad that the rest of stay was wonderful! More 

Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

I booked my room and then called the hotel to make sure I could get a room with two queen size beds and was assured I would. when I got there they gave me a room with a king size bed and wouldn't change it cause they were booked .then told me it wasn't there problem

Helpful?
Thank brad s
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boise University Area, responded to this review

Dear brad s, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable rooms and excellent customer service. I am sorry that you did not receive the room type of your preference and the dismissive attitude... More 

Portland, OR
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

I enjoyed my two night stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Boise. Quiet, comfortable, friendly staff. My only negative feedback is their use of styrofoam. Please, stop! It's so harmful to the environment. Styrofoam cups, plates, bowls . . . And, breakfast was your typical white flour and sugar fare. Not much to choose from if you're conscious about... More 

Helpful?
Thank DinerPortland
kory s, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boise University Area, responded to this review

We know Styrofoam is bad for the environment an we try to use recycling to counter act that problem. We also try to stay to american traditional Breakfast to give you that feeling of a home cooked meal. We also provide many healthier options such as yogurts,oatmeal an fruits. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. More 

San Diego
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2016

We stayed on the second story overlooking a garden. Beautiful tree outside our window made me feel like I was in a tree house. Our room was large and comfortable. I am a light sleeper and it was quiet enough for me to sleep. The bed was comfortable. Within walking distance of grocery stores and the University. They have bikes... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DynamicDeebytheSea
kory s, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boise University Area, responded to this review

We love the fact you thought you were in a tree house. The staff loves it when the guest have fun at our property! More 

Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile

I try to stay here every time I visit Boise. This hotel has a great staff, is clean, has a large dining area, provides a nice breakfast, and is conveniently located for BSU events. My only negative comment is that the last couple times I stayed here, the sheets were not very comfy. They seemed scratchy. All considered, fairly minor.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Priscilla F
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

134 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (118)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (86)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boise hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
4.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Boise
1.9 mi away
Modern Hotel and Bar
Modern Hotel and Bar
#7 of 55 in Boise
4.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Spectrum
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boise ParkCenter
2.9 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#6 of 55 in Boise
4.5 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Boise University Area

Address: 475 W. Parkcenter Boulevard, Boise, ID 83706-6501 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Boise Downtown)
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Price Range: $122 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Boise University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Boise University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Club Boise Hotel Boise
Doubletree Hotel Boise
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Boise
#7 Family Hotel in Boise
#14 Romantic Hotel in Boise
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay