We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
205 Horseshoe Dam Rd Banning Mills, Whitesburg, GA 30185-2560
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (256)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (15)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.6
Value
4.4
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Set in the middle of 1200 wooded, preserved acres in the beautiful Snake Creek Gorge, this Country Inn, Retreat and Conservation Center is known for the world's largest, longest continuous zip line canopy tours, adventure and team building treks, Day Spa, history museum and on site chef. Experiential Adventures at its best!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family

Location

Full view
344Reviews8Q+A73Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 267
  • 42
  • 14
  • 7
  • 14
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
ek4763t wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
From the moment I called, the staff that answered the phone was rude and they were once again rude at the desk. If you want people to show up maybe have some decency and not be rude and unwelcoming. They all need an attitude check. I don’t care how nice the facility is, if you hire a bunch of c u n t s then the whole place is trash. If i could’ve given them a 0 i would. Don’t even get me started on the first bridge that you go on for the canopy tours.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Donna Holder, Owner at Historic Banning Mills
Responded Jul 1, 2022
Well, you were not very specific. Our staff are not rude. Were you late for your tour? What questions were not answered? How were the staff rude? And maybe, you should comment on the first bridge so that we can know what you are complaining about? It is difficult at best when someone is so vague. We are not perfect and we do try to take all comments seriously so that we can improve but generalities do not help to achieve that goal. If you could email us or give a little more information, we can try to see what really went down. If we need to correct, we will counsel with staff. Just need the information from you.
Read more
Sarah L wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
I can’t believe this place acts the way it does. Requiring and asking for information that is not allowed. They ruined my trip. I called Tuesday to *respectfully* inform them I would be traveling with my service dog. On Friday at 4 pm they created such a fuss I had to request someone stay with my service animal so I could continue with my Father’s Day plans. The horseback riding by Laura was wonderful, although someone else was supposed to ride than myself. I am disappointed and have reported them to the DOJ. Absolutely despicable. Caitlin (sp?) was a total disappointment to deal with and completely uniformed. She asked for vet records (not allowed), for a certificate (not viable in the US or state), and tried to tell me my rights as a service dog handler. Would not recommend their poorly marked trails and mold infested showers.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Donna Holder, Owner at Historic Banning Mills
Responded Jun 28, 2022
Actually, we did Not break any ADA rules. We did Not argue with you on bringing your service dog to stay with you in your room. The problem was with the activity you reserved. Catilin was doing everything she could to make this clear to you on the phone call. And yes, I was working right beside her when you called. We work with Wounded Warrior groups and Project Sanctuary groups, of whom, many have service animals. We have done this for over 12 years now. You made the horseback reservations for you and your father. You made a one hour reservation for 2 people not 2 hours.You stated that you were going to leave the service dog in the room while you rode for an hour on horseback. Service animals are to be with their owner 24/7 because of their owner's disability. A Disability does not go away for an hour or two. By law, a service animal and owner can be denied access to activities that their participation in could endanger other guests or staff. Our trail horses do not like strange dogs near them. If your dog went with you, it would have caused a huge safety issue. There are plenty of other things to do here: mini golf, hiking our beautiful nature trails, horseshoes, relaxing at the lodge, the pool and our history center among other things. As for our trails: we have an extensive trail map as well as trail signs for over 15 miles of trails here at Banning Mills. Our trails are fantastic and worth doing. No one has trails like us which include breathtaking suspension bridges over the gorge, strolls by the river and chances to enjoy nature at its best. In saying this, we are still sad that anyone that comes to Banning does not have a great time. Our goal is to try and give guests a fantastic stay. We will continue to strive towards that.
Read more
Kelley wrote a review Jun 2022
LaGrange, Georgia1 contribution
We ziplined through level 4 and had a blast. Ethan and Sean are the best guides/instructors around. Ethan provided extra help when needed and both are friendly, outgoing and very knowledgeable of the lines and make you feel extremely comfortable. Will return and request them as repeat guides! Thanks for a great time Sean and Ethan
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Donna Holder, Owner at Historic Banning Mills
Responded Jun 6, 2022
Thanks for taking time to let us know about your experience at Historic Banning Mills. Will let Ethan and Sean know. Hope to see you guys soon!
Read more
Kimberly M wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a SUPER FANTASTIC time at Historic Banning Mills. Our tour instructors Ethan and Shaun were very experienced, friendly and knowledgeable. They shared in helping my 82 year old mother-in-law scratch zip lining from her bucket list. It was awesome!!!! We are so thankful to both of them. We couldn't have asked for a better team. Ethan and Shaun worked perfectly together and made our experience very memorable. We appreciate the extra time they spent with my mother-in-law helping her through the zip line course. We enjoyed every moment that we spent at Historic Banning Mills and definitely recommend that everyone visit. The property is exceptional!! The food at the restaurant was great. Kudos to the chef. Overall one of the best experiences we shared as a family. Thank you!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Donna Holder, Owner at Historic Banning Mills
Responded May 23, 2022
Way to go grandmother! So proud of her! Thank you for the kind comments and will pas on to Ethan and Shaun
Read more
Peter Graysinp wrote a review May 2022
Cos Cob, Connecticut171 contributions264 helpful votes
Not sure how long these guys practiced their routine but they had the jokes down. They also had knowledge in their safety protocol but that came secondary to the entertainment value. While this spot is known for zip lines, you will also find other activities, food, and lodging. It's a bona fide resort. My favorite part was seeing the drunk guys trying to drive the go karts. Overall I have nothing to complain about here other than the fact that I have nothing to complain about.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Donna Holder, Owner at Historic Banning Mills
Responded May 23, 2022
Yep, the guides go thru extensive training! The jokes? well they can be hit or miss. Thanks for letting us know about your experience. Much appreciated!
Read more
Georgie D wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
We had a great time. Jack and Ethan were very knowledgeable about the lines and made sure I felt safe! We did the level 4 course and it was beautiful. I don’t like heights but they made me feel very comfortable. I would do it again and maybe even rent one of the cool cabins we saw.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Donna Holder, Owner at Historic Banning Mills
Responded May 23, 2022
Yeah, and come back soon. We have a new Tree house village going to open soon!
Read more
Kerry B wrote a review Mar 2022
New Orleans, Louisiana11 contributions1 helpful vote
I decided that for my 50th birthday this year that I would finally do something I've always wanted to do: zipline. My cousin who lives in Atlanta recommended this place and I cannot say enough good things about it. My friend and I decided on a mid-week "weekend" from Tuesday to Thursday. We stayed in one of their Inn Side Lodge rooms which had a stunning view of the gorge through a sliding glass door. The breakfast is very filling and we didn't feel the need to have lunch, which turned out to be a good thing as our ziplining adventure was right after lunch and I might've been sick ziplining on a full stomach. Sean, Ethan, Liam, and Ryan were ALL terrific guides making newbies like my friend and I feel totally at ease without taking anything away from the more experienced in our group. I felt completely safe after donning all of the appropriate gear provided to us and following their thorough instruction. I don't recall which of the guys had to rescue me after not making it completely to the end of one run and starting to go backward, but he didn't make me feel bad for having to come a few feet out onto the line to grab me and pull me back to the end. I was also especially grateful to the guy who works at night and did his best to reassure me that the bad weather I'd left behind in New Orleans wasn't forecast to be as bad as in the immediate area we were in. There's loads of hiking trails that give stunning views of not only the Snake Creek but the ruins of the industry that made Banning Mills what it once was, a paper mill. They have a lot of other things to do if you're not as adventurous as wanting to zipline and they have a few things if mere ziplining isn't the only thing you want to do. I couldn't have asked for a better first experience with the zipline.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Donna Holder, Owner at Historic Banning Mills
Responded May 23, 2022
Kerry, we are sooooooooooooo glad you had an awesome time at Banning Mills. That is our goal: for all that come out to have a wonderful memory. Banning is unusual at best and the history and beauty of this conservation center add the cherry on top of the adventures. Come back soon and thank you for taking time to write about your experience with us.
Read more
Tammy C wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
Incredible!! I was very pleased with the customer service, when I called to try to visit on the very same day, and was offered the opportunity to have a guide arranged just for my small group (family). It worked out well to have the guide “on call.” Bryce made our aerial adventure just perfect, with his combination of kindness, humor, and patience, especially with a 12 year old and 15 year old. ! I don’t know how he managed to be everywhere at once, plus take pictures! The office staff are all wonderful. I’ve already sent the convenient, shareable photo link to several neighbors and friends. I told them it is a “must do!! We plan to return for the zip lines and more!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Must call to reserve. Go online to prepare. It’s worth the time!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Donna Holder, Owner at Historic Banning Mills
Responded May 23, 2022
Thank you Tammy! Would love to see you guys back with friends. Come soon. It is beautiful all seasons at Banning Mills
Read more
Claire O wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
Banning Mills is absolutely gorgeous. We came for the super fun “Crazy Squirrel” high ropes challenge course and stayed to explore the hiking trails, mill ruins, and beautiful lodge. We will definitely be coming back for an overnight stay and ziplining!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Donna Holder, Owner at Historic Banning Mills
Responded May 23, 2022
The Crazy Squirrel is Crazy fun! Thanks for coming out to Banning and checking it out. We hope you may come back in the future for more and different adventures on site. Thank you for your kind comments.
Read more
Beau D wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
We went with another family for some fun time after Christmas. One of our kids (9 y/o) is blind and another (11 y/o) has several other disabilities. At first when we called it was unclear what they would be able to do, but the staff were willing to try basically anything. Liam and Ethan were awesome with them and got us through the level 1 zip lines. They were supportive of us trying the higher levels with some extra training in the future. They were incredible and funny and didn’t miss a beat. Totally natural. Same goes for Ben and Sean with the climbing tower. Got my kids up the 25 ft tower and almost got both up the 50 ft tower. Again, creative and supportive and didn’t miss a beat. Couldn’t have asked for better guys to lead them and help them experience everything!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Donna Holder, Owner at Historic Banning Mills
Responded May 23, 2022
Beau, we appreciate your kind comments and will let the staff know as well. Very glad we were able to add some adventure into your children's life. Come back soon and blessings on your family
Read more
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
historic banning mills hotel whitesburg
LOCATION
United StatesGeorgiaWhitesburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Historic Banning Mills
What are some of the property amenities at Historic Banning Mills?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Historic Banning Mills?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Historic Banning Mills?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Historic Banning Mills?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dining at Historic Banning Mills Lodge, Twisted Steel Barbeque, and RuChDa's Wings.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Historic Banning Mills?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Historic Banning Mills offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Is Historic Banning Mills accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.