We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
21 Officers Row P O Box 2917, Tybee Island, GA 31328
Hotels.com
Traveluro
Priceline
FindHotel
Expedia.com
Booking.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (196)
Dining (15)
Room & Suite (8)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Tybee Island
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.9
Value
4.7
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Surf Song offers a unique opportunity to enjoy the character and beauty of a historic home with updated beach fun furnishing. Circa 1898, the home is one block to beach, has private pool, remodeled in 2013 from top to bottom, gorgeous wrap-a-round porch, Suite was designed by well known designer Jane Coslic.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Free breakfast
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Private check-in / check-out
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Seating area
Bottled water
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Romantic
449Reviews12Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 420
  • 19
  • 4
  • 4
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
TAMMYfromKY wrote a review Jun 7
Middlesboro, Kentucky36 contributions15 helpful votes
+1
Absolutely amazing! Beautiful home, clean great breakfast and Megan was the best! She treated everyone like they were friends and family. Highly recommend! Beach just a few steps away. Loved the private pool and the front porch was so relaxing. Will definitely stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Bill P wrote a review May 2022
Fort Mill, South Carolina59 contributions18 helpful votes
We saw this B&B as a prize on The Price is Right last year and my wife started to investigate the B&B and she was very impressed with what she found so we made a reservation for May this year. We reserved the Tropical Garden room. It is on the ground floor with a private entrance. It is a very cozy room with a queen bed. The bed was very comfortable. There is a large wrap around porch with extremely comfortable cushions on the outdoor furniture. The breakfasts were delicious! Megan is a fantastic chef. She is very outgoing and happy. She asks if there are any special dietary restrictions and if you have any preferences for fruits or other things for breakfast. Jeremy is also very friendly and can tell you about the history of the home. They are a terrific family. If you are planning to go to the south end of the island for food or entertainment be aware that you have to pay to park anywhere down there. Do not despair. You don't have to carry a large bag of quarters with you. Download the Park TYB app on your phone and put in your tag number and state of registration along with your phone number. After you submit that, they will send you a confirmation number that you type in and you will have an account. When we get ready to park just pull up the app and put in how long you will be there and your credit card number and viola you are good to go. If you need to add time you can do that as well. The home is located on Officers Row on Tybee Island. We enjoyed a nice evening walk on the beach. We love it here and plan to return.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet as this is on the north end of the island just a short walk from the beach.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Megan Gonyou, Owner at Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
Responded May 20, 2022
Hi Bill, thank you for the kind words and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We'll be sure to remind guests of the parking app :)
Read more
mark146 wrote a review Mar 2022
Las Cruces, New Mexico4 contributions3 helpful votes
We found the Surf Song very accommodating, very clean and well-maintained. Stayed in the Starfish room out the front. Great location as we were within a couple minutes to ocean and we walked to restaurants. Sundae Cafe was the best as we went back several times. Walked to the Lighthouse and North Beach. Even went for a cold plunge in their pool. Megan and Jeremy were very attentive to our needs. Will recommend even more New Mexicans to visit this peaceful home!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Megan Gonyou, Owner at Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
Responded Mar 31, 2022
Thank you for visiting, we're glad you enjoyed your stay :)
Read more
Tina K wrote a review Mar 2022
4 contributions
This bed and breakfast is located in an awesome area. We were able to see the sunrise from our window. The property is beautiful and very well taken care of. The breakfast was more than we thought. The Innkeeper makes a point of getting to know her guests and goes above and beyond to make every one comfortable. The facility is very clean. You can sit on the front porch and enjoy the day. We were able to walk to the beach and down to a restaurant - very safe area. We will definitely be going back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
razayes wrote a review Nov 2021
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania319 contributions54 helpful votes
Definitely going downhill. Very disappointed. Unorganized, overpriced and overcrowded. Has gone downhill since our last visit. In need of some straightening up. Not what it used to be. Parking can be a bit of a challenge on the weekends as well.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Megan Gonyou, Owner at Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
Responded Nov 29, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback, we are always trying to improve! We regret that we did not meet your expectations. Things are quieter (and prices lower) between November and March. Please consider as again then.
Read more
Angela B wrote a review Nov 2021
7 contributions
+1
I visited Surf Song Bed and Breakfast in Tybee Island this past weekend. The owner, Megan, was delightful and welcoming and gave great suggestions for things to do on the island. I was greeted by her upon arrival and given homemade gluten-free brownies with walnuts (absolutely delicious) and coconut macaroons (my favorite)! My room was very clean with the softest sheets and robes I’ve felt in a long time. I was provided with a key to my room and the front door so that I could come as GI as I pleased. I loved the honey-fragranced hand soap and even ordered one of those spa robes! Breakfast, which consisted of three courses, was served every morning at 8:30am. Everything I ate was delicious and filling to fuel me for my day. I didn’t take photos of the outside because it poured rain the entire weekend but I still enjoyed my restful stay here. I recommend it if you should visit the island.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Megan Gonyou, Owner at Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
Responded Nov 10, 2021
Thank you for your review, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay :)
Read more
NancyLouise wrote a review Oct 2021
Orchards, Washington64 contributions12 helpful votes
We stayed two nights at the tail end of our vacation to Savannah and I'm so glad we did! The historic home is full of period details and beautifully decorated in a light and airy coastal style. It's meticulously clean and well maintained. We stayed in the sand dollar room, which bay be the smallest room, but it was absolutely charming, and for just a couple night stay, we didn't mind the small size. The room was light and bright with many windows, a four-poster bed and a large soaking tub in the bathroom. Megan, our host, was friendly and helpful, but not intrusive. We felt welcomed and well cared for. We only got to experience on breakfast due to an early departure, but it was amazing! Plenty of fresh food, delicious and beautifully presented. We live on the west coast, but I'd make another long trip here just to stay at this lovely inn.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Megan Gonyou, Owner at Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
Responded Oct 22, 2021
We're glad you enjoyed our stay. Thanks for giving us a try :)
Read more
joelunchbox wrote a review Oct 2021
10 contributions
It was so good to wake up early, go watch the sun rise over the beach and then eat a wonderful breakfast. Someone really likes to cook! My wife was ecstatic with being so close to the beach. Room was very nice-Starfish room. Towels were super thick!! We even took a dip in the pool which was super clean. It was relaxing to swing on the porch and drink a cup of coffee before bed. We are looking forward to staying again!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: We couldn't hear anyone walking around and we were on the second floor. No said they heard...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Megan Gonyou, Owner at Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
Responded Oct 22, 2021
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay! Don't forget to call us and claim your return guest discount when you come back.
Read more
Jack wrote a review Aug 2021
63 contributions22 helpful votes
The place was nice with a superb location. The grounds and landscape need attention for a more welcoming environment. The Sand Dollar room was very small, but the real problem is the lack of efficient use of the small space. It would be worthwhile to invest in smart space furniture that would help the room feel less cramped and provide places for luggage and belongings. Otherwise we had a positive experience. We did enjoy the homemade treats and hearty breakfasts. The location is awesome because the lighthouse, the museum and beach are all within walking distance. Can't forget to mention the soft and comfortable linens and towels - super nice. Definitely a very enjoyable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Megan Gonyou, Owner at Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
Responded Sep 23, 2021
Hi Jacque, thanks for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay!
Read more
Brenda B wrote a review Aug 2021
Pearl, Mississippi2 contributions
We spent 3 nights in the Starfish room this week. The room was large, clean & very comfortable. Megan, Jeremy & Jasmine did a great job of making us feel at home. Breakfast was always delicious. Close to the beach and lighthouse and several really good restaurants. Megan recommended Sunday Cafe for our Anniversary and it did not disappoint. In all our visit to Surf Song was great.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: This is an older home on a hillside so there are a lot of stairs to negotiate both outside and...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Megan Gonyou, Owner at Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
Responded Aug 16, 2021
We're so glad you enjoyed it, Brenda. Happy Anniversary!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$342 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesGeorgiaGeorgia CoastTybee Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to Surf Song Bed & Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Tybee Island Light Station And Museum (0.3 miles), North Beach (0.7 miles), and Tybee Island Marine Science Center (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Surf Song Bed & Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Surf Song Bed & Breakfast?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Surf Song Bed & Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Surf Song Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Surf Song Bed & Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sundae Cafe, Gerald's Pig & Shrimp, and Salt Island Fish & Beer.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Surf Song Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Surf Song Bed & Breakfast located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Tybee Island.
Are there any historical sites close to Surf Song Bed & Breakfast?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Tybee Island Museum - Battery Garland (0.3 miles).