We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
212 Butler Ave., Tybee Island, GA 31328-9794
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!20% off room rate
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
Snaptravel
$262
$179
View Deal
SAVE $83
FindHotel$181
Trip.com$262
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (376)
Room & Suite (81)
Videos (1)

About

#2 of 8 hotels in Tybee Island
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Only oceanfront hotel on Tybee Island. Direct beach access with oceanfront pool sundeck and game room. Free continental breakfast and WIFI. Voted best place to stay 7 years in a row. Beautifully re-modeled rooms and a heated and cooled pool depending on the weather.
Read more
Room & Suite (81)81
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children's television networks
BBQ facilities
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Game room
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Price:20% off room rate
1,582Reviews25Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 664
  • 447
  • 242
  • 123
  • 106
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
tempusfugit3 wrote a review Aug 2020
Atlanta, Georgia2 contributions6 helpful votes
My friend and I came for a quick girls getaway and enjoyed the hotel and location. The beach was less crowded than the south end of the island but everything was accessible. The staff were friendly and everything was very clean.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Heckathorn, General Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the review!
Read more
Scftrf wrote a review Aug 2020
Richlands, North Carolina33 contributions13 helpful votes
Nice hotel. Clean and the staff is friendly. The rooms are good size and the access to the beach is very nice. There are plenty of restaurants in walking distance or simple parking all around the island. The pool is somewhat small but who needs it when the ocean is within 150yds.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Heckathorn, General Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the review!
Read more
skydog77 wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We are buying a house on 2nd Ave, and we stayed a couple of nights just for fun before our inspection, and we loved it there, we were facing the beach 3 floors up, it was so nice! Friendly staff as always, we normally rented a condo duplex on 2nd ave, so you knew us! Got great service from the maid staff too!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Heckathorn, General Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for the review!
Read more
Jessica Tony wrote a review Aug 2020
9 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
This is the dirtiest stay I have ever encountered. The rooms were gross (we paid for the most expensive), the staff is rude and anything BUT accommodating. Our rooms were not cleaned daily. Attached are the images. FALSE ADVERTISEMENT ONLINE!!!!!!! All images are upon our arrival. We went with 2 other couples, each getting their own rooms, and their rooms were just as bad, if not worse.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Heckathorn, General Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel
Responded Aug 13, 2020
We are sorry to hear that you didn't have a fantastic experience during your stay. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.
Read more
KevinLovell65 wrote a review Aug 2020
Sycamore, Illinois1 contribution1 helpful vote
This hotel gets premium price for less than average amenities. Rooms are not clean. Don't look in the corners!! Haven't been cleaned for some time. If you have been closed because of CoVid and want to get costumers back, take the time to clean your rooms!!! I had to sit on the steps outside my room for 30 minutes while my husband went to get our key to work because the key pad battery didn't work. Not very safe at 11:00pm. We had a balcony that overlooked the ocean. We expected to pay more for the view, however when you have cigarette butts and toe nail clippings on your patio one is extremely disgusted!! I would not recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking to spend a little more and get your moneys worth!! SUB STANDARD AT BEST!!!!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Heckathorn, General Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel
Responded Aug 13, 2020
We are sorry to hear that you didn't have a fantastic experience during your stay. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$151 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
desoto beach tybee island, desoto beach hotel, hotel desoto beach
LOCATION
United StatesGeorgiaGeorgia CoastTybee Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
37
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Desoto Beach Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Desoto Beach Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Tybee Island Lighthouse Museum (0.9 miles), North Beach (0.5 miles), and Cockspur lighthouse (2.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Desoto Beach Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Desoto Beach Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Desoto Beach Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Desoto Beach Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Desoto Beach Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tybean Coffee & Art Bar, Gerald's Pig & Shrimp, and Sundae Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Desoto Beach Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Desoto Beach Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Tybee Island.
Are there any historical sites close to Desoto Beach Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Tybee Island Museum - Battery Garland (0.6 miles).
Does Desoto Beach Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Desoto Beach Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.