We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
212 Butler Avenue, Tybee Island, GA 31328-9794
E-mail hotel
6 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$345
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/07/22
Expedia.com
$310
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/07/22
Agoda.com
$241
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/06/22
Hotels.com$310
Travelocity$310
FindHotel$255
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (416)
Room & Suite (80)
Videos (1)

About

#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
3.9
Service
3.9
Value
3.6
Only oceanfront hotel on Tybee Island. Direct beach access with oceanfront pool sundeck and game room. Free continental breakfast and WIFI. Voted best place to stay 7 years in a row. Beautifully re-modeled rooms and a heated and cooled pool depending on the weather.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Game room
Children's television networks
Taxi service
Paid public parking nearby
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Vending machine
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
1701Reviews26Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 713
  • 463
  • 268
  • 130
  • 127
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
cochranandrew432 wrote a review Jun 15
Cedartown, Georgia
Beside the bed and night stand was so nasty and filthy looked like nobody ever cleaned the room want ever go back.you couldn’t pay me to go back 🤮 wouldn’t tell my worst enemy to stay there it’s so nasty
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Micheal Heckathorn, General Manager at DeSoto Beach Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
We were not informed of an issue with this room. Your feedback is very descriptive.
Read more
Steve33418 wrote a review Sep 2021
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida87 contributions85 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Perfect location on a beautiful beach. Rooms are very large with refrigerator, microwave, large screen TV, good internet, a large desk, plenty of drawer storage, and free, convenient parking. Continental breakfast included. Four story building with elevator.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Heckathorn, General Manager at DeSoto Beach Hotel
Responded Sep 14, 2021
Thank you for the review!
Read more
Amanda B wrote a review Jun 9
2 contributions2 helpful votes
The hotel and room was basic and nice. The breakfast was perfect for my husband and me. My only complaint is my husband had his cellphone stolen out of the room when we went to dinner with friends. We traced his cellphone at an employees house. We put a note on the door of their house to return the phone or call the police. The cellphone returned to the hotel 2 days later.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Stoeffler, General Manager at DeSoto Beach Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
We are sorry for you inconvenience, we wish you would have let us know of such things, we feel a little side swiped because we are finding out about it though your review! We would have terminated said employee immediately even though all of our employees are back ground checked things change but we do not tolerate such behavior at all! Thank You, we are happy you did enjoy your stay and vacation.
Read more
Lynn wrote a review Jun 8
2 contributions
Great location. Loved the view of ocean from balcony. Would have loved more healthy selections for breakfast. The mattress was a bit worn but it was king size. The shower was huge. Nice stay over all.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Stoeffler, General Manager at DeSoto Beach Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the review!
Read more
russellkitty wrote a review Jun 8
Leesville, South Carolina
The room had a funny musty smell and it needs to be upgraded some. The shower and toilet is separated from the sink and makes it difficult to wash hands. I am not sure if all the rooms are set up that way but it was a little odd and inconvenient. Other than that the location and the beach was good.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Stoeffler, General Manager at DeSoto Beach Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the review
Read more
Beachlover11111 wrote a review Jun 8
Twinsburg, Ohio9 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed in room 105 right off the reception/breakfast area. It was described as ocean view. You could get a peek of the ocean if you looked around the other buildings. A garbage truck awoke us at 6:18am to empty the dumpster outside our room. The breakfast was an unappetizing assortment of bagels, muffins and danish, sausage and egg biscuits (prepackaged) coffee and a juice machine. The beach and outdoor game room were nice. Sorry to say we will not return.Hilton Head and Savannah are so much better.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Avoid the DeSoto Beach Hotel.Bubba Gumbos and Salt Island Fish and Beer are fabulous.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Stoeffler, General Manager at DeSoto Beach Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Room 105 is not described as an ocean view room. The listing specifically says "private balcony (no view)".
Read more
206eve wrote a review Jun 7
Wheeling, Illinois
The hotel was fine but there was no service. We stayed for 3 nights and not once was our room cleaned even though we were told they usually do that and that they would make sure it does but to no avail. The 2nd night we had to wait for clean towels for over an hour. It's a shame because otherwise it would have been a much better experience.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Stoeffler, General Manager at DeSoto Beach Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
We are so sorry to hear that you were provided with poor stayover service. We will address this with our staff immediately.
Read more
Tanya wrote a review May 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Great location to the beach, clean place to stay! Friendly staff. Quite place to stay with family. Only did not like the room service a lot- wasn’t pick up garbage and give clean towel every day as it should. I did not know they suppose to do this everyday until I asked service desk about. Breakfast was good. Overall, it’s a great place to stay with family for reasonable price!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Parking is limited and have to pay everywhere
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Stoeffler, General Manager at DeSoto Beach Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for the great review, despite housekeeping issue you experienced!
Read more
Chris R wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Right on the beach this B&B was excellent. Our hostess, Lynn, was very friendly, cooked excellent breakfasts and helped us with local things to do and places to eat. Ask her where to get the best cheeseburgers!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Stoeffler, General Manager at DeSoto Beach Hotel
Responded 5 weeks ago
Thank you for the review! Lynne will appreciate this!
Read more
MIchele W wrote a review May 2022
Hamburg, New York1 contribution1 helpful vote
The hotel staff were all very friendly. The price was high for what it was. Of the four days we were there housekeeping came only two days. Our view of the ocean was very nice although we had to overlook the parking lot to see it. Probably would not stay there again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Stoeffler, General Manager at DeSoto Beach Hotel
Responded May 18, 2022
Thank you for the feedback
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$225 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
desoto beach tybee island, desoto beach hotel, hotel desoto beach
LOCATION
United StatesGeorgiaGeorgia CoastTybee Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
37
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about DeSoto Beach Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to DeSoto Beach Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Tybee Island Beach (0.7 miles), Tybee Island Museum - Battery Garland (0.6 miles), and Escape Tybee (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at DeSoto Beach Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at DeSoto Beach Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at DeSoto Beach Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at DeSoto Beach Hotel?
Yes, free parking and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to DeSoto Beach Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sundae Cafe, Salt Island Fish & Beer, and Pizza On Wheels.
Are there opportunities to exercise at DeSoto Beach Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is DeSoto Beach Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Tybee Island.
Are there any historical sites close to DeSoto Beach Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Tybee Island Museum - Battery Garland (0.6 miles).
Does DeSoto Beach Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is DeSoto Beach Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.