We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island

Save
Share
1000 Hampton River Club Marina Dr Post Office Box 21078, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (321)
Room & Suite (24)
Dining (16)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 12/29/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island
Updated 12/29/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 3 in Saint Simons Island
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.9
Value
4.5
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
One of the crown jewels of Georgia's famed Golden Isles, Little St. Simons Island offers 7 miles of pristine beaches and 11,000 acres of undeveloped wilderness for exploration and relaxation. Privately owned and accessible only by boat, The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island has retained the charm and unhurried pace of coastal living. Moss draped live oaks and golden marshes surround comfortable accommodations for no more than 32 overnight guests.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Gift shop
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Fishing
Patio
Table tennis
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
Contact
1000 Hampton River Club Marina Dr Post Office Box 21078, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
Getting there
Brunswick Golden Isles Airport8 miSee all flights
Jacksonville Intl Airport59 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
381Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 334
  • 30
  • 4
  • 7
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Taka wrote a review Jun 5
12 contributions8 helpful votes
For an island whose main purpose is conservation and preservation their food waste is reprehensible. During my 4 day stay I watched 6 to 8 five-gallon buckets full of food waste being loaded into trucks from the kitchen area, and more than once per day, everyday. The weight on those probably averages 40 to 50 lbs, you do the math. Vultures hover over the bed of the pickup truck while those hard working groundsmen load the buckets, which leads me to think that most of the wildlife on the island is partaking in the kitchen food waste also which, as you might gather on your own, is NOT part of their natural diet. Seems counter-intuitive and contradictory to the movement and purpose of this island. Whomever is running the kitchen could stand a little schooling on management, I'd say!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Rooms furthest from central lodge area will be quietest, of course!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
etmiddle2n wrote a review May 2022
Longview, Texas14 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a fantastic day trip to The Lodge. Left from the Hampton River Marina and it is just a 10 minute to the island. There our naturalist, Stacia, was waiting for us. She was phenomenal! Super friendly, made sure we had water and sodas available. You can tell conservation is her passion. She shared much history of the island and info about the couple who own it. Their mission is to maintain the pristine ecosystem there. We rode around the island on benches in the back of the truck, great visibility. The Lodge had packed picnic lunches for us that were very good. We saw many species of birds, several alligators, and even a large rattle snake. Read the email before you go-long sleeves and pants and closed toes shoes a must. They provide bug spray and sunscreen. A great adventure
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Long sleeves and pants, hat, closed toes shoes
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Pazur, General Manager at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island
Responded May 17, 2022
Thank you so much for this wonderful review, and I am so glad you had an enjoyable experience with us. This is such a special and beautiful place, and every member of our team loves to share it with our guests. We'd love to have you back from an overnight stay!
Read more
Ana07030 wrote a review Apr 2022
Hoboken, New Jersey9 contributions8 helpful votes
My wife and I are very active nature lovers in our early 60s, and knew very little about birding, when we stayed 4 nights at the LSSI during the 2022 spring birding week. We loved every minute! The renowned ornithologist Mr. Weidensaul, the staff, and the other guests, most of them seasoned birders, made us fell at home. We saw tons of amazing birds, sunrises and sunsets and learned a lot on a friendly and non pretentious atmosphere. Objectively:0) We flew into JAX and got a 90 minute car service ride (cheaper than Uber/Lyft) , spend the night in St. Simons another ˜30 minute car service ride to the marina to get the boat. On the way back, we went directly from the marina to JAX. We used Seaside Transport and were very pleased; 1) 4 nights was perfect we did a LOT and are already thinking about coming back. 2) To maximise the stay, get the morning boat as on the last day you will leave at 10AM. 3) Accommodations are excellent, but not luxurious and the food is very good but not gourmet. Also if you want high-end alcoholic beverages, you can BYO; 4) The organized activities are excellent, but you can also add side excursions on your own or just relax by the varanda or pool. We biked every morning to the beach to see the sunrise. It was wonderful. 5) It is OK if you are not a birder. We did hiking and biking by ourselves and had a blast. 6) There were TONS of mosquitos. Despite my wife being allergic to them the net vests and different repellents available everywhere, allowed her to enjoy the experience easily. 7) COVID-19: Guests were required booster proof or provide a negative test prior to taking the boat.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Best houses are Cedar & River House. Sunset views from the rooms closer to the river.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Pazur, General Manager at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island
Responded May 17, 2022
Thank you so much for this wonderful review, and I am so glad you had an enjoyable experience staying with us. This is such a special and beautiful place, and every member of our team loves to share it with our guests. We look forward to having you back again next year!
Read more
Mary F wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Little St. Simons Island is a treasure and a rare glimpse of the southern coast that I thought had disappeared. My husband and I spent a week on the island in March after I had read about the lodge in a birding magazine. It was a great time to visit although the birding may have been better a few weeks later during spring migration. Every day we were presented with naturalist-led excursions for both the morning and afternoon. The naturalists were terrific! Not only were they knowledgeable, they were incredibly enthusiastic. We also had the option to hiking or bike to the beach on our own. The beach was incredible! Hundreds of shore birds and a dozen people at any one time. Because it was early spring, we weren't bothered by mosquitoes and the gnats could be controlled with repellent. Every hike and bike ride was a mini wildlife expedition. In addition to the birds, there were numerous alligators, snakes, armadillos and small reptiles of all sorts. We stayed in the Lodge, which only has two guest rooms. Our room was quiet and comfortable. Although there was a living room area for all guests, it was not used much after 9 pm so we felt like we had the lodge to ourselves in the late evening. The meals were varied and tasty. The kitchen staff worked hard to accommodate dietary preferences. Most of meals were served in the lodge, but lunch, weather permitting was served on picnic table outside, which was delightful. You do have to be aware you are at an eco-resort. We encountered some spiders and palmetto bugs in the bathroom, but having grown up in North Florida in the 1950s, it was what we expected as we were staying in an historic lodge in the woods. We will be going back next year although we have decided that 5 days is probably adequate for us. A major factor in our decision to stay at the Lodge was its requirement that guests be vaccinated for Covid. It was our first time to spend a week unmasked since the start of the pandemic. We were so grateful for the staff's diligence in working to keep us all healthy.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Of the two rooms in the Lodge, the one on the back is probably quieter as it is further away from...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Pazur, General Manager at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island
Responded Apr 19, 2022
Thank you so much for this wonderful review, and I am so glad you had an enjoyable experience staying with us. This is such a special and beautiful place, and every member of our team loves to share it with our guests. We look forward to having you back again next year! Thanks again, Jamie Pazur General Manager
Read more
Sheri wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
There is no doubt that the island is amazing. I can't say anything negative about that - it was fantastic in EVERY way. The naturalists truly care about the the island - you can feel their passion. The food is not gourmet - but it is nicely done and you won't go hungry. However - there were two HUGE issues that we experienced during our visit. First: The bed needs to be replaced in our room. The springs are totally shot. the depression on each side is so deep that you cannot roll from one side of the king bed to the other. Second issue: If you are going to charge for a night stay it needs to be a 24 hour stay not a half day - especially at $825.00 a night. We arrived on the 4pm boat for 2 nights and had to leave on the 10am boat the following day. So basically we had only ONE day at the resort even though we paid for two days. Everyone else who arrived came in on the 10am boat and had a whole day to enjoy the place. What was really annoying was the fact that when I booked the reservation I asked if we could come earlier and was told there was no early boat when in fact there was - so I was lied to. And THAT was not appropriate. I will not come back to visit until this policy is reversed. And to tell us that staying through lunch would be a strain on the staff when everyone else was there for two days was absolutely TERRIBLE. As a travel agency owner, I will NOT be recommending that clients visit until they are able to stay for a total day. I came for a very special occasion and the fact that we could not stay more than one day when I paid for two days was really sad.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Make sure the bed is new
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Pazur, General Manager at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island
Responded Apr 19, 2022
Thank you for your review and for sharing your concerns, both here and in the survey you filled out. I will certainly have the bed of the room you stayed in looked at, I am very sorry you were uncomfortable. I am glad you loved the island and our naturalists, and I agree - it is a beautiful place and we do have a wonderful team of naturalists. As far as the new policy goes, I am afraid you were misinformed about coming on the early boat, as the policy has not quite gone into effect yet. That is entirely our fault and I am sorry. That policy does, however, go into effect June 1, and all guests will arrive on the 4pm and depart on the 10 am going forward, which is in line with industry standards for check in and check out times. The pandemic and our unique position within the hospitality industry, as a vacation that people feel is “safe” in a way many vacations are considered not right now, has brought a lot of new guests to our doors over the last year or two, and frankly, we have been overwhelmed. This special place can only handle so many people and so many staff, and we’ve been bursting at the seams. Without expanding – which we do not want to do – to manage how busy we’ve been we’ve moved to a more traditional check in and check out time to ensure all of our guests have a wonderful experience while still allowing us to effectively function as we always have. This has been a challenging year for many reasons, and there have been a lot of changes, and I know change is always hard. I am sorry a member of our staff misinformed you about being able to take the early arrival boat for this visit. I'm also sorry to hear that you won’t be joining us again due to the new policy, but if you change your mind, we would love to have you all back out. Thank you, Jamie Pazur General Manager
Read more
VAParkhiker wrote a review Feb 2022
Virginia Beach, Virginia94 contributions1 helpful vote
My wife and I wanted a last-minute excursion for her birthday. The Lodge had a group cancellation for 3 nights Feb 1-4, and we asked for the River Lodge. It is rustic, yet upscale with a lovely deck looking through live oaks to lovely sunsets over marsh and water. The main lodge provided us with 3 satisfying meals each day, a pleasant happy hour with the other interesting guests, snacks and beverages, all included. It's not gourmet dining, but its tasty, creative, and fresh ingredients from their garden. As described on their website, "the island is 11000 acres of untamed wilderness," The naturalists are passionate, intelligent, and patient. Birding, plant life, animals, beachcombing, history, and conservation all led and presented by truck, bicycle, kayak, and on foot. With a maximum of 32 guests, it's a near perfect combination of upscale remoteness, natural beauty with quiet privacy. Management and the employees are friendly, and service focused. This is not for those who want glitter or man-made entertainment. If you love nature, you will love the Lodge on LSSI.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Hoover, General Manager at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island
Responded Feb 26, 2022
Thak you for such a great review! We don't look at ourselves as a typical resort but rather an Ecolodge where guests come to immerse themselves in nature and enjoy all that the Island has to offer. We look forward to your return to the Island!
Read more
vwcertain wrote a review Feb 2022
Saint Simons Island, Georgia43 contributions7 helpful votes
The total experience in nature and southern hospitality is wonderful. Seeing southeast coastal nature that remains pristine and protected is a joy. The staff is there to guide and assure you have a pleasant comfortable foray into this islands gifts. They are well educated and seek to answer questions and give the best experience possible. They all really care about what they do. It’s refreshing and compels others to take interest in nature.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Hoover, General Manager at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island
Responded Feb 26, 2022
Thank you for your kind words! Everyone on staff is passionate about the Island and all the critters and habitat within it! It is such a joy to hear our guests talk about what they have seen at the end of each day; everything from alligators to incredible birds! We look forward to your return to the Island!
Read more
Wilma Harrington wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
This place has it all. Great venue with 5-star rooms and food. The experienced staff of naturalists provide informative and far-reaching opportunities in a casual atmosphere. I have attended Spring and Fall Birding Events, A special Seminar on The Salt Marsh as well as Winter Marine Debris Clean-up. Each time the food and accommodations have been great. Whether attending a specific program or just visiting each experience has ensured I want to return again and again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms are on ground floor in a lodge, cabin or small house. Hence all are good.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Hoover, General Manager at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island
Responded Feb 26, 2022
Thank you so much for your wonderful review as well as helping in the Marine debris Clean-up! It's amazing how much you all gather from the beach! We look forward to you returning agaiin and again!
Read more
ml5024 wrote a review Jan 2022
Indianapolis, Indiana57 contributions9 helpful votes
A full day trip of the natural beauty of Little St. Simons Island with guide Stacia. Stacia was knowledgeable, friendly and enthusiastic about the various aspects of natural beauty and wildlife on Little St. Simons Island. We toured the island in a open air truck and walked to the beach. Saw many species of birds, armadillos, alligators, bald eagles and dolphins. Everyone was friendly and the entire day went fast. Lunch included and well worth the price. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Hoover, General Manager at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island
Responded Feb 26, 2022
Stacia is one of the legends of the Golden Isles when it comes to Naturalists and their knowledge of the area. You can't find anyone anywhere on the Georgia coast who is going to give you such a full featured adventure as Stacia does. We are so pleased you enjoyed it and urge you to come stay on the Island sometime!
Read more
Charlotte L wrote a review Jan 2022
Georgia54 contributions65 helpful votes
The boat ride from the marina to the island allows you to exit one world and prepare to enter another. From the moment you leave Saint Simons to the moment you are returned to the reality of the mainland after your visit, you are cared for and encouraged to expand your knowledge of an environment we desperately need to preserve. The staff is warm, welcoming, accommodating, knowledgeable, enthusiastic and passionate. The food is excellent, and conversations and interactions with other guests and the staff during outings, at cocktail hour, over dinner, or around a warm lodge fireplace delightful. You may head out to make discoveries on your own or seek the guidance of experienced naturalists for an endless variety of activities. Anything you could possibly need to find solace in a wilderness atmosphere or understand the world on a barrier island is here. Be aware that this is not the place for those who want the pampering of a spa or the thrill of an amusement park. It is not a place for those annoyed by wildlife or reluctant to traverse rugged terrain. But if you seek a unique and peaceful place nurtured by those who believe its value and importance is worth protecting, then put a stay here on your “must do” list.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Cedar House and River Lodge are newer buildings and have wonderful marsh and water views.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Hoover, General Manager at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island
Responded Feb 26, 2022
What a great description of what have to offer at LSSI! Thank you for your wonderful review and we look forward to your return!
Read more
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
the lodge on little st. simons island hotel saint simons island
LOCATION
United StatesGeorgiaGeorgia CoastGolden Isles of GeorgiaSaint Simons Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island
Which popular attractions are close to The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island?
Nearby attractions include Cannon's Point Preserve (2.8 miles) and Frederica Park (3.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a mosquito net, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fort Frederica National Monument (7.7 miles), Hofwyl-Broadfield Plantation (6.7 miles), and Fort King George State Historic Site (6.5 miles).