We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
201 Arnold Rd, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-4258
E-mail hotel
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (835)
360
Panoramas (31)
Videos (3)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 02/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The King and Prince Beach & Golf Resort
Updated 02/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 12 in Saint Simons Island
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.4
Value
4.1
This historic ocean front resort on St Simons Island, Georgia features 192 guest rooms in a variety of buildings, room decor and views, including two and three bedroom villas and resort residences. Resort amenities include five oceanfront pools and three hot tubs, a scenic, challenging 18 hole golf course, complimentary fitness center, oceanfront dining, two clay tennis courts, Wi-Fi (wireless) technology and the beautiful beachfront of the Golden Isles.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children's television networks
Electric vehicle charging station
Secured parking
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Golf course
Tennis court
Aerobics offsite
Patio
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Fireplace
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English
1665Reviews40Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 993
  • 345
  • 159
  • 103
  • 65
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Leigh T wrote a review Jun 23
1 contribution
Very outdated hotel and extremely disappointing given the average $500/night. It was relatively clean (although there was mold in the shower) however outdated and just overall sub-par. If we had paid $300 a night we would have been happy with it. The customer service is less than what you get at a Hampton Inn. The food in Echo was not good (I would not say terrible). The beach is beautiful, however the resort does not provide beach chairs and umbrellas. You can rent them for $40/day (2 chairs and umbrella). That would be fine if we had walked off the street to the beach, but as a hotel guest this should be included. No valet no bellman (again at $500 a night I would expect this). The pool areas are small, furniture old/run down. There is a nice outdoor seating area outside the bar, but the cushions were worn, had bird droppings on them (again, I’d expect more at $500/night). The gym is very small and smelled like mold/wet and old carpet. Did not use it because of that reason. No daily cleaning, give me a break……..
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
bob3868 wrote a review Oct 2020
Saint Charles, Missouri396 contributions41 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
The king and prince resort is excellent! We’ve been here before, and it’s just as incredible as it has been the first time we came here to stay. Everyone here is top-notch and dealing with their customers. The view is outstanding the food is excellent also. We will be back again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rhonda Garner, Other at The King and Prince Beach & Golf Resort
Responded Nov 1, 2020
Thank you for such an amazing review of your time at The King and Prince Resort. We truly appreciate your kind words, especially regarding our team members. We hope this means you will be back soon for another visit.
Read more
FLGIRL wrote a review Jun 15
The Villages, Florida441 contributions175 helpful votes
For the price expected a lot more than what we could have received from an average hotel for almost 1/2 the price. Received an email stating that check-in is between 4 and 6 pm due to the thorough cleaning they provide. Checked in at 4:20 pm and our room was ready. There was NOT a bellman to take our luggage to our room, no valet parking, just a gentleman to open the door. The elevator is soooo slow we took the stairs for the remainder of our items since once again no bell service. The room we selected was ocean front for an average of $550 a night. Each night of our stay was a different price but all in the $500 range. The room was clean but the ceiling fan had at least a 1/4 of an inch of dirt on the blades, you could see where the individual who cleaned our room could not reach when cleaning the sliding glass windows, light bulb burnt out in the bathroom, and the toilet drew water every once in a while, also the doormat had a sizable hole in it, I expect perfection paying that amount. Sorry. The stairwell looked as though it gets lightly swept daily but surely not thoroughly bc the same spider webs were there each day in the same place. Maid service is NOT daily except they do come in and empty trash cans and take soiled towels and replace with new. Grateful for at least that. So sandy floors, no beds made, etc. remains for your stay. 3 pools, one 3 ft - 5 ft, one only 3 ft with benches inside the pool to sit one, and a baby pool 18 inches. There is a hot tub that sits perhaps 8 adults (no certain on exact amount). Pools open at 9 AM and close at 10PM. The signs reads hours 9 AM to dusk. Towels are provided by the towel hut that faces the beach. You receive towel cards at checkin, 2 per person. There are chairs that face the beach and surround the perimeter of the pools. There are a few tables and outdoors sofas and cushioned chairs under like a cabana (these are limited). There is a bar outside that also serves lite bites. This menu is different than the restaurant, Echo. Echo serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I have a separate review of this restaurant. The access to the beach is on either side of the hotel property. Be careful using the south side one bc the tide often buries the last 3 steps. BEWARE the tile surrounding the pool area is VERY slippery. Towels were larger, more like a real beach towel not a bath towel which was nice. You do have to wear a wrist band to indicate you are a guest. Not everyone was wearing theirs plus I never saw/heard anyone check on them. There are outside walkways to each room which I feel keeps the slamming of the door noise down. You have to slam the door bc with the salty humid air, the doors no longer shut on their own. You will have to slam them shut. There are several swinging benches where two may gently swing overlooking the ocean. This is a dog friendly hotel. We had another party with us that had a dog. Their room was located a bit away from the ocean. Their floor was laminate and filthy. It was vacuumed but when cleaning up a little birthday cupcake crumbs off the floor with a wet tissue, the tissue came up BLACK. Again this is not expected. Perhaps a light brown but not BLACK. Their room had a leak from the upstairs bathroom. When the upstairs individual was showering, there would drip into the downstairs tub (theirs) until all was drained. Called and they ‘fixed’ the problem. Not sure their fix really fixed much but it stopped dripping. Their room had a microwave, ours did not but my guess is we could have asked for one if needed. There is a refrigerator in all rooms. The dog friendly room did not have much of a patio, a chair with a bit of concrete before entering the room. Guess you could have placed wet suits on that to dry. Want a quick bite for breakfast or just a coffee, go to the Cottage. It provides lite bites for breakfast as well as soft serve ice cream (custard). It is opened until 10 PM. It has a small gift store inside as well. Tables outside as well as a small kiddy playground area. Obviously the food is not cheap. Danish and coffee was around $10. Resort prices. I am hoping to set up a TripAdvisor for the Cottage since one currently does not exist. We enjoyed our stay but thought for the price we did not receive all the perks that go with the price. We were not the only ones that thought this. At the pool overheard others complaining or similar concerns. Every employee we saw always greeted us and were friendly. If you have a dog, it must be leashed. The sign reads for the beach Memorial Day to Labor Day hours before 9 am and after 6 pm no dogs allowed on beach. There were dogs on the beach all the time but all were well behaved. No issues or concerns. There are no lifeguards on the beach (at least none while we were there in June.) Chairs and umbrellas maybe rented daily $40 by a private company, not through the hotel. 9-5 are their hours. There are a few restaurants in walking distance if you prefer not to go to the hotel restaurant or drive anywhere. Some take reservations and in the summer months, you may want to call and see or otherwise you might not eat until much later in the evening.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Laura Thompson wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We have been going to the King and Prince for 16 years. We went Mother'sDay weekend, we paid over $800 for two nights. We had an unexpected death in our family Saturday evening I went to let the front desk know we had to leave due to an emergency death in the family he said he would have his supervisor call me to see if there was anything they could do about a refund for one night only. I never received a call. I called a few days later and left a message on the supervisors voicemail, never received a return call. Just very disappointed our kids have grown up at this resort, just wish we would have at least received a call even if nothing could be done.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rhonda Garner, Other at The King and Prince Beach & Golf Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your honest feedback regarding your recent visit. Our management team has reviewed your concerns and will work to improve in these areas as we move forward. We hope you will consider giving us another opportunity in the future.
Read more
cjemeryjr wrote a review May 2022
Columbia, South Carolina138 contributions18 helpful votes
An excellent spot to relax, enjoy the pool, beach and St Simons Island. Had dinner outside one evening and thoroughly enjoyed our waterfront room. Dinner was delicious. Service was responsive and the ambiance was perfect. An excellent stay that was convenient to everything.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Rhonda Garner, Other at The King and Prince Beach & Golf Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Your kind words are appreciated, and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at The King and Prince Resort. We hope this means you are already planning your next visit.
Read more
allisonwaldrip wrote a review May 2022
Atlanta, Georgia4 contributions
+1
We decided to spend our anniversary weekend at The King & Prince and had such a great time! We were able to bring our dog who loved playing at the beach and we loved walking to nearby restaurants (Barrier Island Brewing and Crabdaddy’s) and loved all of amenities at the resort as well. I was worried our room wouldn’t be good since it was pet friendly but there was no odor or trace of dogs at all. They even left a pet bed, dog bowl, and treats for him. It’s a little pricey for the quality of the rooms but we have no complaints. Amazing location right on the beach and very nice pool! Was a little weary before visiting due to other reviews but fortunately we had a great time! ☺️
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: The top floor of the Oleander was great for us. We even had an ocean view which was a nice surprise.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Rhonda Garner, Other at The King and Prince Beach & Golf Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Your choice in us is appreciated, and we are so thankful for you taking the time to share your experience at The King and Prince Resort. Please consider us again when visiting beautiful St. Simons Island.
Read more
RealisticRomantic wrote a review May 2022
Knoxville, Tennessee15 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Superior resort. Beautiful facility. Many choices of accommodations from historic, villa, and oceanfront. Serene setting. Quality everything. Quiet and breathtaking ocean views, Delicious food. Excellent staff. Just heaven to visit.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Lots of accommodation choices in huge complex like historic main hotel, villas, and oceanfront...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Rhonda Garner, Other at The King and Prince Beach & Golf Resort
Responded May 13, 2022
Your kind words are appreciated, and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at The King and Prince Resort. We hope this means you are already planning your next visit.
Read more
Derese S wrote a review Apr 2022
Orlando, Florida9 contributions3 helpful votes
The only reason I gave it a 3.5 is the walkability to some really great restaurants. I really think that there wasn’t any thought into where we were placed because not only was a wedding going on, but we were next to the housekeeping area. It was busy all night! If I were to stay again I would definitely ask for a better room.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rhonda Garner, Other at The King and Prince Beach & Golf Resort
Responded May 13, 2022
Thank you for making us aware that your stay did not exceed your expectations. We hope you will consider giving us another opportunity in the future.
Read more
thatgirlpreethi wrote a review Apr 2022
11 contributions
+1
There were roaches in our room on the second night we stayed there. The next afternoon we spotted one in broad day light! Not to forget the weathered closet frame which makes for a great hiding place for bugs. No action was taken even after talking to folks at the front desk. We are utterly disappointed with the lack of action from the staff & this isn’t expected from a place that’s considered 4 star. I spoke to the staff at the front desk. The gentleman said he’d do 2 things. 1) speak to his manager & get back to me about a possible discount on the stay ( we didn’t want to move rooms as we were checking out early the next day) 2) send staff to fix the issue In 5mins there was a person with a spray who appeared at the room. We asked him if the spray had a strong odor & if it was pet friendly. He said he’ll check & return. He never came back. None of the hotel staff called to even check on us. Today we received a big fat bill for a 3 night stay. Not fair!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Rhonda Garner, Other at The King and Prince Beach & Golf Resort
Responded Apr 25, 2022
Thank you for sharing your recent experience. We strive to provide excellent service and a welcoming environment for every guest. Clearly, we fell short of that goal during your time with us. Please accept our apologies that your stay did not exceed your expectations and for the lack of communiation when you made us aware. We have a comprehensive pest control program and regret that you encountered this situation. We hope you will consider giving us another opportunity in the future.
Read more
Christine C wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
My husband and I stayed here for the first time and we usually stay in Hilton head. Upon arrival the service seemed good the first few days however as the week went on they explained we would receive light housekeeping which it was very light. You pay a resort fee and are supposed to get water and coffee etc refilled everyday as well as new towels. One day they forgot to refresh our towels and after the third day we didn’t get any additional coffee and cups or water that is supposed to be included with the resort fee you pay. For as much as you pay to stay here the plumbing needs upgraded as our commode didn’t always fill up with water and we had to put water in the toilet tank to get it to flush. We should’ve gotten a break on the price since light housekeeping basically means if you’re lucky they will stop by your room and refresh towels only nothing else. Since we stayed over Easter so many people not guests staying at the hotel were eating at the echo restaurant and there was not enough guest parking for the hotel paying patrons. We drove around a bit and finally were lucky enough to get a spot. Texting the front desk only works so far as they aren’t as attentive as they should be. You obviously pay for location and I think that is about it as the service leaves a lot to be desired. I hope this management takes a serious look at the complaints listed on this website and improves its service.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Rhonda Garner, Other at The King and Prince Beach & Golf Resort
Responded Apr 25, 2022
We apologize that your recent visit did not exceed your expectations and appreciate you taking the time to provide such valuable feedback. We will use these comments to improve as we move forward and hope this will not deter you from considering us in the future.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$263 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the king and prince beach and golf hotel saint simons island, king and prince beach hotel, king prince st simons, king and prince resort, king and prince beach resort
LOCATION
United StatesGeorgiaGeorgia CoastGolden Isles of GeorgiaSaint Simons Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
192
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The King and Prince Beach & Golf Resort
Which popular attractions are close to The King and Prince Beach & Golf Resort?
Nearby attractions include Driftwood Beach (4.8 miles), St. Simons Island (1.0 miles), and Fort Frederica National Monument (3.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The King and Prince Beach & Golf Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The King and Prince Beach & Golf Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The King and Prince Beach & Golf Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The King and Prince Beach & Golf Resort?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The King and Prince Beach & Golf Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Georgia Sea Grill, Halyards Restaurant, and Palmer's Village Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The King and Prince Beach & Golf Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is The King and Prince Beach & Golf Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Saint Simons Island.
Are any cleaning services offered at The King and Prince Beach & Golf Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The King and Prince Beach & Golf Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The King and Prince Beach & Golf Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.