We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ocean Lodge Resort

935 Beachview Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (320)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (128)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#5 of 12 hotels in Saint Simons Island
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.8
Value
4.4
GreenLeaders Silver level
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Beach
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Parking garage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Rooftop bar
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Residential Neighborhood
Languages Spoken
English
671Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 531
  • 66
  • 29
  • 20
  • 25
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
2kMOM wrote a review Jan 2024
Nashville, Tennessee17 contributions9 helpful votes
The hotel is beautiful, but definitely needs some attention. The room is spacious and has everything you need, but mine was a little "dusty." I'm not sure if it was mainly due to inattention or the renovations that are under way, or some combination of both. Beautiful views from the bar, rooftop, and lower patio, I just wish the restaurant had been open. The bar was open for limited hours, but not very busy, however the bar staff was amazing. Everyone on staff at the hotel was friendly and helpful and it was a good experience overall. I'd love to go back when the work is done because the potential is there to get an Excellent rating.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Relax562755 wrote a review Nov 2023
15 contributions10 helpful votes
The people that run this hotel are SHADY! They accuse people of sneaking dogs into the room and then charge you a fee for it! We DID NOT have a dog with us, and they knew it! I got the run around for MONTHS about getting the charge dropped. They kept lying and lying to me, saying they have a new system and that they couldn't provide a refund but call back. I had a crawling baby with me, needless to say we had to wipe down his knees every time we left the hotel because they were covered in filth. It is such a shame because the location and the rooms are so perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
hibz31519 wrote a review Sep 2023
Tarpon Springs, Florida67 contributions7 helpful votes
We chose this place based on price and location...but it was so much more! Elegant "old world" decor, huge rooms, 5th story restaurant and balcony where we hung out at night and on a rainy afternoon...covered garage and the beach was very close...only 1 condo between the hotel and the beach..and the beach is stunning! Clean and not crowded. Highly recommend Ocean Lodge - oh, and the staff was amazing, kind and helpful!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: 2nd floor is for guests with pets...let them know if you need a pet friendly room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Ocean Lodge Resort
Responded Oct 3, 2023
Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate the time you took out of your busy day to leave a review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tanner M wrote a review Sep 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Hotel is disgusting and smells terrible. Jamie (the manager) charged extra fees on our bill after check out- really disappointing. The cost is 100% not worth it. I would have stayed at an Air BNB if I knew there was extra fees. Worst hotel on the island. Never coming back again
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Ocean Lodge Resort
Responded Oct 3, 2023
Hi Tanner, You were charged a pet fee of $150.00, after sneaking in a dog. This is our normal fee, and is posted on every website.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michael H wrote a review Aug 2023
Foley, Alabama38 contributions35 helpful votes
Good rate! Smooth check in…..room nice! Had great furniture and looked truly like a Med resort….but, it’s tired…needs some TLC… Service Terrible!!!! A lot of clutter in hallways, went to the rooftop bar/restaurant and ordered a drink, took awhile…bar did not have all the supplies. Told them we would be back shortly to have dinner. Came back after we got organized in our room and sat down for dinner and waited and waited..Finally I got up and went to the bar and bartender was on her phone….ordered the drinks finally brought them out and then told us the manager closed the kitchen early!!! We left and never asked for service again! Great views!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Ocean Lodge Resort
Responded Oct 3, 2023
Thank you for your feedback gulfcoastfoodmaster. We appreciate your feedback so that we can approve our services. We are currently renovating the entire property. Renovation of the restaurant/bar has begun, as well as painting hotel rooms, and updating furnishings. I do apologize for the team not being prepared when you arrived at the restaurant, and then later on the phone. This has been addressed. The restaurant being closed early has also been addressed. We hope you will give us a try again in the future to experience the improvements yourself.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Martin and Pam M wrote a review Jun 2023
Charlotte, North Carolina19 contributions4 helpful votes
It's important to note that there aren't many on-site amenities. There's a restaurant and rooftop bar, but they are closed on certain days. Be sure to check before you book or make other plans. The room was beautiful but could use a refresh. The towels had holes (see pic for example). The front desk staff was unfriendly and unprofessional; I later learned this was due to being unhappy with the owners & a new computer system. As a hotel guest, there's a certain energy when staying in a hotel filled with content staff vs. disgruntled, where the latter can make for an unpleasant overall experience (which I had). The worst part was that I prepaid for the room, but was also charged for it upon check-out. Attempting to get a refund has been a challenge and I'm still out $220.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Check the restaurant/bar hours or make reservations off-site.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Cruiser781226 wrote a review Apr 2023
Lynchburg, Virginia2 contributions6 helpful votes
This hotel was decrepit. It is NOT on the beach! Huge houses blocked view of the ocean. Trash remained in the. breezeway outside our room for 2 days. TV in bedroom did not work. Bathroom floor and tub were dangerously slippery. Stale biscotti and one coffee pod were provided for breakfast..
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Regional Operations Manager, Sales at Ocean Lodge Resort
Responded May 22, 2023
Hi Cruiser781226, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we do appreciate your response. You are correct, we are not on the beach. We are but steps away from the shoreline and we have views that overlook the beach. I'm sorry that you did not like the in room added amenity of biscotti that is offered, I will speak with the team about different items. While we don't currently offer breakfast we are working on implementing this on property very soon. I will get someone to check the televisions and speak with the staff about attending to the breezeways in a more timely manner. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Globalguy wrote a review Apr 2023
Chelsea, Canada461 contributions229 helpful votes
Our stay at the lodge was ok. We arrived early and were told our room was ready, but because we were two hours early, 100$ would be added. This is an expensive hotel with views of the ocean. Who does that? We declined and came back one hour later, hoping to stay in the foyer waiting for 4 pm. The poor girl up front took pity on us and checked us in. The room is huge. It is a suite. Full kitchen, living area, two full baths. Quiet stay. Parking underneath.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kathy C wrote a review Mar 2023
Madison, Wisconsin135 contributions65 helpful votes
+1
This is by far on my top ten list of places to stay. The decor is beautifully done, the room was large and clean, bed very comfortable, the upstairs deck has a wonderful view, two bathrooms is always a plus, and our deck was so relaxing. My only regret is I had two days here, I wanted more. The area is very nice with a lot to do. We will be back but next time stay longer than two days.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Regional Operations Manager, Sales at Ocean Lodge Resort
Responded Mar 22, 2023
Hi Kathy, Thank you for that wonderful review! We will be sure to share your kind words with our team. Its an honor to be in your top 10 and we do hope to see you again real soon. Safe travels.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Islandergirl23 wrote a review Feb 2023
4 contributions
Absolutely loved our suite and the terrace! Staff are friendly and helpful, from housekeeping to front desk to the stunning Rooftop bar. Special shout out to Josiah and Joy at the Rooftop, they are 24 karat gold. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Regional Operations Manager, Sales at Ocean Lodge Resort
Responded Mar 22, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we appreciate the wonderful review. We will be sure to share your kind words with our staff. Travel safe and we hope to see you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Saint Simons Island area.
PRICE RANGE
$205 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ocean hotel saint simons island
LOCATION
United StatesGeorgiaGeorgia CoastGolden Isles of GeorgiaSaint Simons Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OCEAN LODGE RESORT $188 ($̶2̶2̶3̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews - Saint Simons Island, GA

Frequently Asked Questions about Ocean Lodge Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Ocean Lodge Resort?
Nearby attractions include St. Simons Island (0.6 miles), St. Simons Lighthouse Museum (0.6 miles), and Tree Spirits of St. Simons Island (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ocean Lodge Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Ocean Lodge Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Ocean Lodge Resort?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Ocean Lodge Resort?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ocean Lodge Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Georgia Sea Grill, Palmer's Village Cafe, and The Half Shell.
Is Ocean Lodge Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Saint Simons Island.
Does Ocean Lodge Resort offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Ocean Lodge Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fort Frederica National Monument (3.5 miles), Horton House (3.0 miles), and Cassina Garden Club tabby cabins (2.6 miles).
Does Ocean Lodge Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Ocean Lodge Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.