We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The York House Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The York House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 97: English reviews
Moultrie, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

It was hot...no fan, TV, fridge or iron in rooms. Wife and I went and purchased a fan, cooler and iron as did our neighbors. Owners were not warm and friendly...seemed unapproachable. Fire escape was 2 chain ladders in a pile at each end of the porch on upper level. Grass was knee high upon arrival. Now....the good part. Food... More 

Helpful?
Thank snipesroy
crazyhorsellc, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this review

Wow, thanks for the much delayed critic. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations, which mostly do not sinc with our Inn or room descriptions. Unapproachable, I am sorry to say is not part of our DNA, and if approached we would always bend over backwards to make it right. Perhaps we were just not a good fit...... More 

Buford, Ga
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The place was fantastic. We were greeted by Dixie and Puppy upon arrival who "escorted" us to the guest lobby Where the inn keepers greeted us and took us to our beautiful room. Room was spacious, well appointed, and very clean and fresh smelling. Wife was pleased and that made me happy! Breakfast was fantastic, the molasses oatmeal cookies in... More 

Helpful?
Thank mike815
crazyhorsellc, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this review

Well Well Well That's more like it! You can't believe how such a wonderful review brightens our day after getting a lick'in from "Get a way" snipes. Just goes to show you that the formula is right. "Define the destination for 120 years ...and repeat for the next 120 years" Thank you More 

Buford, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I recently spent Labor Day weekend here and we were so very happy with our stay. We loved every bit of it. It reminded me of the old charm of the home I grew up in and Stan and the staff were awesome! We will be back for sure! Be sure to enjoy breakfast on the front... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heather L
crazyhorsellc, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! Busy Busy Weekend, but we were glad you had a wonderful time. See you again soon stan More 

Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2016

We enjoyed our stay at The York House Inn. The Inn has a lot of history and a feel like going back in time. We stayed in the largest suite which had 2 tv's, It was a beautiful room and very comfortable. We went during the week so there was only one other room booked so it was quiet and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeanne Peirolo P
crazyhorsellc, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! We are pleased you found the Inn relaxing...that's what it is all about. Isn't visiting us on week days is just the best. Plenty of quiet time and personal attention. We look forward to perhaps seeing you in the fall, book early as it is out busiest time of year. Regards Stan More 

Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2016

I stayed here with my mom and sister for 3 nights. First I'll tell about what we enjoyed. The house was very well kept and had nice furnishings. It wasn't like out of a magazine, but it was nice. The breakfast every morning was very good. There is a basement that has a TV and an honor bar and that... More 

Helpful?
Thank hlaSLP
crazyhorsellc, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you ladies for your review. We seemed to have tried very hard to provide you with comfortable stay, however, we seemed to have fallen short. From late night check in, to servicing your room in complete disarray. Perhaps some of the issue can be attributed to putting three in a room suggested for two. We do offer a full... More 

Cleveland, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016

We only got to stay one night but it was perfect. The area is beautiful and The York House Inn was exactly as I hoped. I had come across it several years ago and marked it as somewhere I would like to go. So we ended up with a free weekend and just took off. As soon as we arrived... More 

Helpful?
Thank 863dbrown
crazyhorsellc, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the suite. We were sorry you missed out on breakfast, but sleeping is is great. While our building might have a few creaks and pops, it appears that the spirits didn't disturb your stay. We look forward to having you stay again, perhaps to enjoy... More 

Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016

Very serene, peaceful, relaxing atmosphere. If you're looking for peace and quiet, this is the place to go. There are no t.v.s in the rooms, and I admit that I was a little disappointed about that. There is a t.v. in the parlor and another one in the basement. Breakfast was nice, but we had eggs both days we were... More 

Helpful?
Thank rwpotts57
crazyhorsellc, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! We do have a rotating main course for breakfast each morning, but I am sorry that you were involved with eggs each day. I hope there was plenty of everything else for your selection as we usually have fruits, breads and yogurt as well. Maybe French Toast next visit! Regards Stan More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016

For an anniversary weekend getaway with the wife, looking for someplace an easy drive from Atlanta, not in the middle of things but convenient to lots of options for just deciding on the fly where to go and what to do. Have driven by the sign on 441 for twenty years but never checked it out before. The price, location,... More 

Helpful?
Thank rackensack
crazyhorsellc, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your very complete review! We are glad that you selected the York House Inn for your anniversary. As the oldest Inn in Georgia we are proud of the experience you had, creaks and all. The closest thing to tomb like silence is our Roc Room which you failed to mention! We are glad you had the opportunity... More 

Augusta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016

I was in Franklin for business and decided to spend Friday night after the meetings. I was hoping for something other than the generic hotel and was so pleased to find an opening at The York House Inn nearby. I actually just saw the sign on the main road and took a chance. The room was comfortable, the gathering space... More 

Helpful?
Thank bju850
crazyhorsellc, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! We are pleased you had a comfortable stay and felt at home. It is always a pleasure to welcome the business traveler at the end of a hard day. Stan More 

Sudbury, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2016

I wouldn't stay anywhere else in the Appalachians. Save yourself time and simply book in at the York House Inn. I've returned here four years in a row and it's beautifully tucked off the busy Hwy 441 with spectacular views of the mountains and trees. The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed, clean bathrooms and lovely thick towels. It's just... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jan B
YorkHouseInn, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. It is so rewarding to hear from our repeat guests. We are so glad that you have felt so welcomed and comfortable at the York House Inn. Thank you for taking note of our continued "green" initiatives. We are working diligently to maintain York House Inn to serve future generations of travellers. We look... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rabun Gap
11.9 mi away
Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant
3.3 mi away
Gateway Inn & Suites
Gateway Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Dillard
3.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Rabun Manor
Rabun Manor
#1 of 2 in Dillard
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
2.2 mi away
Historic Sylvan Falls Mill Bed and Breakfast
12.9 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Georgia's oldest Bed and Breakfast Inn since 1896 is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Located in the North East Georgia Mountains we have a long history as a large ideal country home. The Inn has long been known for mountain spring water, and large verandas with views of the Little Tennessee River Valley. Beautifully decorated and romantic rooms and one suite offer a variety of plush bedding arrangements, all have private baths and luxury amenities and some have fireplaces and private porches. You will find that we have all the amenities that you would expect, including EV charging stations and an honor bar. Weddings, Anniversaries, Birthdays, Meetings or any special occasion are welcome. Special Packages are available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The York House Inn

Address: 416 Yorkhouse Rd, Rabun Gap, GA 30568-2418
Location: United States > Georgia > Rabun Gap
Price Range: $140 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The York House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The York House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay