We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
251 Avalon Ct, McDonough, GA 30253-7317
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (104)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (18)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/27/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Tru by Hilton McDonough
Updated 07/27/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#3 of 28 hotels in McDonough
Travelers' Choice
Tru by Hilton McDonough is a stylish and affordable hotel, located off I-75, just minutes from the historic McDonough city center, shopping, and dining. Travel never felt so good thanks to our recreational lobby hangout with games and a pool table, fitness center, and free breakfast buffet and WiFi.
Read more
Room & Suite (26)26
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Center with Internet Access
Baggage storage
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Highchairs available
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Clothes rack
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
366Reviews3Q+A17Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 236
  • 62
  • 37
  • 17
  • 14
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
ATLBoss wrote a review Nov 8
2 contributions
Very clean with Covid safety precautions. Comfortable King size bed. The soaps and lotions in the bathrooms were lovely. Very thin construction (walls)... I could hear the sounds of the expressway (near) from the 4th floor, I could hear the television in the ***adjoining room next door (door seperating two rooms), Every time someone closed a door it sounded as if doors were being slammed purposefully, I woke up each time - that was nearly every 30 min or less, I could hear it below me and on my floor...weew!. That was way too much! These doors should be replaced very soon.....
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Response from Dimple Thakorbhai, General Manager at Tru by Hilton McDonough
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time in providing us your feedback. I want to personally apologize for the noise disturbance. I understand how this can be frustrating when you aren't able to sleep. We appreciate you traveling and I am happy that you felt safe from C-19. We take pride in providing our guests with every safety precaution necessary to fight this pandemic. We look forward to having you back when in the McDonough, GA area.
Read more
cocoasunbunny09 wrote a review Jul 2020
Sterling Heights, Michigan39 contributions13 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We were on our way to Port Orange Fl -- to my new home. First booked a room at a place where it said " no refund after 10 minutes" --- do you have to ask why??? Got out of that parking lot as fast as the wheels would go!! Called to find another place & happened to hear Tru by Hilton. What luck, we got a room. Paid $160. for a room because it was done 3rd party-- usually $92. It was worth it at that time. Clean, fresh & big shower!! I have alot to say about the staff & how very nice they were, but it would take another page. Thank you to Dimple Thakorbhai at the McDonough Ga Tru by Hilton. We said if we had to stay overnight at a hotel, Tru Hilton would be it. Just don't go to the Cracker Barrel down the road--- food was horrible & asked them to make sure there was silverware--- "yes definately"------ NOT!!! Just really a bunch of not so smart people with attitude!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
craigfand wrote a review Oct 2020
St. Petersburg, Florida80 contributions23 helpful votes
Our room was quite small, but I appreciated the cleanliness, minimal modern design, comfortable bed and large shower. As with other HIlton brands, I was able to use my phone as a key and skip the front desk altogether. I did wish there was a coffee maker in the room, but that was not a big deal since there was coffee available in the lobby. I was disappointed with the noise level though. We could hear the television late into the night from a neighboring room, and what sounded like stomping from the room above us.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Sleep Quality
Response from Dimple Thakorbhai, General Manager at Tru by Hilton McDonough
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello and thank you for providing your review of the Tru by Hilton McDonough. Pleased to see that you were able to use the digital check in process and that you were met with a clean and comfortable room. My apologies for the noise disturbance. We hope we are able to see you again soon when you are in the McDonough, GA area.
Read more
Scott P wrote a review Sep 2020
3 contributions
My wife and I gave Tru a try. We won't be staying again. Though we had a king-size bed, everything else was small and geared for one person, not two. There was only one nice sitting chair, the other, a bench with a seat pad which is primarily intended for luggage. The AC unit was loud and didn't keep the room temp even enough - my wife woke up several times because she was too warm but it also got cool in the room while the unit ran. This last comment may be on the person who made up on bed - instead of a blanket on the sheet, there was a mattress pad with a bed skirt. It worked OK but definitely odd.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Sleep Quality
Response from Dimple Thakorbhai, General Manager at Tru by Hilton McDonough
Responded Sep 4, 2020
Thank you for the time in providing us your feedback. I truly apologize for the experience you encountered. We understand that the brand may not be a fit for everyone. We appreciate you giving us the opportunity. In regards to the AC unit and the housekeeping; please know that this will be addressed with our team. Thank you again for trying out the hotel and we do hope you continue use the Hilton hotels as your choice in hotel accommodations.
Read more
Joseph R wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
The little girl at the front desk was very sweet and let us check on early. Room is very nice and very clean. Great shower pressure and products as well. I will not stay anywhere else when we’re in the Atlanta area!! I am in Atlanta at least twice a month and have stayed in almost every hotel chain you can think of and this is by far the best for this price range. Very good prices!!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Response from dimplet2017, General Manager at Tru by Hilton McDonough
Responded Mar 13, 2020
Thank you for your review of the Tru by Hilton McDonough. Pleased to see that our service level and cleanliness of the room was to your satisfaction. Nice to see that you are now a TRU fan. We appreciate you and your return when in the Atlanta/McDonough area.
Read more
$97 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
United StatesGeorgiaMcDonough
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tru by Hilton McDonough
Which popular attractions are close to Tru by Hilton McDonough?
Nearby attractions include Three Dollar Cafe, McDonough (0.6 miles), Dave & Buster's (0.6 miles), and LilyBelle and Grace (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Tru by Hilton McDonough?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at Tru by Hilton McDonough?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Tru by Hilton McDonough?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Tru by Hilton McDonough?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tru by Hilton McDonough?
Conveniently located restaurants include Culver's, Cracker Barrel, and Sakura Hibachi Sushi Buffet.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tru by Hilton McDonough?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Tru by Hilton McDonough?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Tru by Hilton McDonough?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Double Cabins (9.0 miles).
Is Tru by Hilton McDonough accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.